Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 015458

THE HEALTH CENTER AT RESEARCH PARK

HUNTSVILLE, Alabama · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 91

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 2 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $69,011.00 · Payment denials: 1. The most recent penalty on file: June 18, 2024, Fine, $69,011. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 6, 2026.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$11,925,194CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,916,609CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$9,008,585CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$11,839,492CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$2,830,907CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$12,265,725CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$9,434,818CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $9,434,818 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components33,306CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days3,098CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days17,252CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days8,778CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components29,128CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges62CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges9CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges93CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components164CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days49.97CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,916.89CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days177.61CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1449115, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 16, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$11,882,717CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,547,505CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$9,335,212CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$9,427,324CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$92,112CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,038,496CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$946,384CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $946,384 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components28,618CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components191CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days39.35CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,194CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days149.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1392346, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 28, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$11,868,254CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,200,206CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$8,668,048CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$10,000,944CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$1,332,896CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,040,968CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$291,928CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$291,928 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components29,136CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components216CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days36.27CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,570.67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days134.89CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1363302, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021

Cost report for January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 27, 2022.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$10,311,301CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,551,934CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$7,759,367CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,484,976CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$725,609CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,220,638CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$495,029CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $495,029 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components27,113CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components164CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days34.73CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days165.32CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1328010, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended December 31, 2020

Cost report for January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 16, 2021.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$9,995,454CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$1,867,632CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$8,127,822CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,469,093CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$341,271CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$837,707CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$496,436CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $487,166 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components29,865CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components118CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days46.87CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days253.09CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1300160, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended December 31, 2019

Cost report for January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 9, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$10,429,503CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,308,296CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$8,121,207CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,154,635CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$33,428CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$481,358CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$447,930CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $441,897 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components29,952CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components152CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days41.98CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days197.05CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1265702, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended December 31, 2018

Cost report for January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 21, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$10,708,563CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,580,988CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$8,127,575CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,194,845CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$67,270CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$482,884CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$415,614CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $415,614 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components29,391CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components250CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days39.27CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days117.56CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1268758, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended December 31, 2017

Cost report for January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 15, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$9,524,496CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,519,593CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$7,004,903CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,830,897CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$825,994CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$480,422CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$345,572CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$345,572 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components25,475CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components329CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days27.58CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days77.43CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1253772, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended December 31, 2016

Cost report for January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 24, 2019.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$8,848,054CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,214,115CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$6,633,939CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,015,010CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$1,381,071CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$480,398CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$900,673CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$900,673 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components25,193CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components199CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days35.66CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days126.6CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1217248, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended December 31, 2015

Cost report for January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2015 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 19, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$11,021,324CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,237,085CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$7,784,239CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,513,192CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$728,953CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$504,465CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$224,488CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$224,488 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components27,811CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components403CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days22.48CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days69.01CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1141946, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Fiscal year 2014, ended December 31, 2014

Cost report for January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 27, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$10,495,837CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,220,598CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$7,275,239CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,422,622CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$1,147,383CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$558,677CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$588,706CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$597,094 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components26,527CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components439CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days25.66CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days60.43CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1150095, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Fiscal year 2013, ended December 31, 2013

Cost report for January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, reopened, processed by CMS on January 18, 2018.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2013
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$10,124,833CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,252,410CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$7,872,423CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,415,092CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$542,669CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$480,557CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$62,112CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$62,112 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2013
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components28,369CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components440CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days26.92CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days64.48CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1182081, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2013.zip.

Fiscal year 2012, ended December 31, 2012

Cost report for January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, as submitted, processed by CMS on June 28, 2013.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2012
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$7,950,402CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$219,912CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$8,170,314CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,168,335CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$1,979CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$458CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$2,437CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $2,437 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2012
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components29,564CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components418CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days27.1CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days70.73CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1040278, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2012.zip.

Fiscal year 2011, ended December 31, 2011

Cost report for January 1, 2011 to December 31, 2011 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 16, 2013.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2011
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$8,087,588CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$200,253CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$8,287,841CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,516,680CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$228,839CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,060CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$227,779CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$227,779 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2011
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components29,153CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components415CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days28.91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days70.25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1048153, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2011.zip.

Fiscal year 2010, ended December 31, 2010

Cost report for January 1, 2010 to December 31, 2010 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on June 12, 2012.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2010
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Net patient revenue$7,740,247CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,217,270CMS-2540-96 worksheet G200002 line 1500 column 200
Net income from service to patients−$477,023CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,319CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$475,704 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2010
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 100
Total patient days, all components28,655CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 700
Total discharges, all components456CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days23.4CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days62.84CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1600

CMS report record 430273, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2010.zip.

Fiscal year 2009, ended December 31, 2009

Cost report for January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2009 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on September 9, 2010.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2009
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Net patient revenue$7,719,909CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,707,123CMS-2540-96 worksheet G200002 line 1500 column 200
Net income from service to patients$12,786CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$181CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $12,967 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2009
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 100
Total patient days, all components28,925CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 700
Total discharges, all components538CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days21.72CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days53.76CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1600

CMS report record 387237, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2009.zip.

Fiscal year 2008, ended December 31, 2008

Cost report for January 1, 2008 to December 31, 2008 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on June 8, 2010.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2008
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Net patient revenue$7,070,884CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,778,655CMS-2540-96 worksheet G200002 line 1500 column 200
Net income from service to patients−$707,771CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,205CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$706,566 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2008
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 100
Total patient days, all components29,197CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 700
Total discharges, all components494CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days25.06CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days59.1CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1600

CMS report record 373012, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2008.zip.

Fiscal year 2007, ended December 31, 2007

Cost report for January 24, 2007 to December 31, 2007 — a reporting period of 341 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on August 5, 2008.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2007
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Net patient revenue$5,750,051CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$6,933,820CMS-2540-96 worksheet G200002 line 1500 column 200
Net income from service to patients−$1,183,769CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100

Net income: −$1,183,769 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2007
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components91CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 100
Total patient days, all components20,960CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 700
Total discharges, all components319CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days32.95CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days65.71CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1600

CMS report record 322902, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2007.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
SOUTHSTONE HEALTHCARE LLC5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 10/02/2024
VOLLMER, DONALDADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WILSON, HUNTERADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/21/2025
ALBRECHTSEN, TYLERCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/09/2024
ALBRECHTSEN, TYLERCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/02/2024
BURNAM, SOONCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/09/2024
SATO, AMICORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/09/2024
THATCHER, BRENTCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/09/2024
VOLLMER, DONALDMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WILSON, HUNTERMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WILSON, HUNTEROPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of SAND CREEK HEALTHCARE, INC. (enrollment ID O20250327002705).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
SOUTHSTONE HEALTHCARE LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST10010/2/2024
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
THE ENSIGN GROUP INCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1005/9/2024
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
DONALD VOLLMERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HUNTER WILSONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/21/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TYLER ALBRECHTSENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR05/9/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
AMI SATOIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER09/9/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRENT THATCHERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER05/9/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SOON BURNAMIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER05/9/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TYLER ALBRECHTSENIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER010/2/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DONALD VOLLMERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HUNTER WILSONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HUNTER WILSONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1June 18, 2024June 18, 2024111
2April 22, 2021April 22, 202160
3March 28, 2019March 28, 201932

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

20 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
June 18, 2024HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0600Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.JYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0602Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesProtect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0655Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admittedDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0740Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure each resident must receive and the facility must provide necessary behavioral health care and services.JYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0741Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that the facility has sufficient staff members who possess the competencies and skills to meet the behavioral health needs of residents.JYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0755Pharmacy Service DeficienciesProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0803Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
June 18, 2024HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 23, 2024
April 22, 2021HealthF 0604Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesEnsure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 27, 2021
April 22, 2021HealthF 0636Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 27, 2021
April 22, 2021HealthF 0800Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProvide each resident with a nourishing, palatable, well-balanced diet that meets his or her daily nutritional and special dietary needs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 27, 2021
April 22, 2021HealthF 0803Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 27, 2021
April 22, 2021HealthF 0805Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 27, 2021
April 22, 2021HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 27, 2021
March 28, 2019HealthF 0576Resident Rights DeficienciesEnsure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.CNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 16, 2019
March 28, 2019HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 16, 2019

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
June 18, 2024Fine$69,01138054
June 18, 2024Payment DenialJuly 19, 20244

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeFor profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameSAND CREEK HEALTHCARE, INC.
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2007-01-24
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishMadison
Telephone Number2564896800
Chain NameTHE ENSIGN GROUP
Chain ID507
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds91
Average Number of Residents per Day82.0
Overall Rating1
Health Inspection Rating1
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating4
Short-Stay QM Rating2
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on THE HEALTH CENTER AT RESEARCH PARK: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On May 6, 2026: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for THE HEALTH CENTER AT RESEARCH PARK

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Alabama at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Alabama

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 015458.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.