Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 025034

PROVIDENCE VALDEZ MEDICAL CENTER

VALDEZ, Alaska · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 10

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
CITY OF VALDEZ5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 01/01/2005
ANDERSON, DONALDADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017
CITY OF VALDEZADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2005
DOUCET, PAULINEADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/29/2025
DUVAL, NATHANADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/06/2025
HOFFMAN, GREGORYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2020
MARTIN, JAMESADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/13/2023
PROVIDENCE HEALTH & SERVICES - WASHINGTONADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2025
TODD, KATHLEENADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/05/2023
ANDERSON, DONALDCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017
MARTIN, JAMESCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/13/2023
ANDERSON, DONALDOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017
DOUCET, PAULINEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2005
DUVAL, NATHANOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/06/2025
FORMBY, MARY BETHOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/12/2025
HOFFMAN, GREGORYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2020
MARTIN, JAMESOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/13/2023
PROVIDENCE HEALTH & SERVICES - WASHINGTONOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
TODD, KATHLEENOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/05/2023

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of CITY OF VALDEZ (enrollment ID O20121108000601).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
CITY OF VALDEZOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1001/1/2005
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CITY OF VALDEZOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2005
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
DONALD WAYNE ANDERSONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREGORY DAVID HOFFMANIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing10/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES MARTINIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/13/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KATHLEEN G TODDIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/5/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NATHAN DUVALIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/6/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PAULINE DOUCETIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/29/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PROVIDENCE HEALTH & SERVICES - WASHINGTONOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/30/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
DONALD WAYNE ANDERSONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES MARTINIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/13/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DONALD WAYNE ANDERSONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREGORY DAVID HOFFMANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing10/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES MARTINIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/13/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KATHLEEN G TODDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing6/5/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARY BETH FORMBYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing11/12/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NATHAN DUVALIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/6/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PAULINE DOUCETIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2005
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PROVIDENCE HEALTH & SERVICES - WASHINGTONOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1May 15, 2026May 15, 2026511
2March 6, 2025March 6, 202583
3December 1, 2023December 1, 202362

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

19 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
May 15, 2026HealthF 0552Resident Rights DeficienciesEnsure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 29, 2026
May 15, 2026HealthF 0607Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 29, 2026
May 15, 2026HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 29, 2026
May 15, 2026HealthF 0638Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 29, 2026
May 15, 2026HealthF 0727Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesHave a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 29, 2026
March 6, 2025HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 31, 2025
March 6, 2025HealthF 0712Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure that the resident and his/her doctor meet face-to-face at all required visits.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 22, 2025
March 6, 2025HealthF 0732Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesPost nurse staffing information every day.CNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 31, 2025
March 6, 2025HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2025
March 6, 2025HealthF 0806Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 26, 2025
March 6, 2025HealthF 0841Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesDesignate a physician to serve as medical director responsible for implementation of resident care policies and coordination of medical care in the facility.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 31, 2025
March 6, 2025HealthF 0883Infection Control DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 27, 2025
March 6, 2025HealthF 0887Infection Control DeficienciesEducate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 27, 2025
December 1, 2023HealthF 0636Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 31, 2023
December 1, 2023HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 31, 2023
December 1, 2023HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 31, 2023
December 1, 2023HealthF 0732Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesPost nurse staffing information every day.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 31, 2023
December 1, 2023HealthF 0757Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 31, 2023
December 1, 2023HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 31, 2023

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeGovernment - City
Legal Business NameCITY OF VALDEZ
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2005-10-03
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishChugach
Telephone Number9078341825
Chain NamePROVIDENCE HEALTH & SERVICES
Chain ID430
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilBoth
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds10
Average Number of Residents per Day8.9
Overall Rating3
Health Inspection Rating3
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on PROVIDENCE VALDEZ MEDICAL CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On July 1, 2026: PROVIDENCE ST. JOSEPH HEALTH no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for PROVIDENCE VALDEZ MEDICAL CENTER

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Alaska at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Alaska

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 025034.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.