Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 065381

GRAND RIVER HEALTH CARE CENTER

RIFLE, Colorado · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 57

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $22,171.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: January 30, 2026, Fine, $22,171. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
GRAND RIVER HOSPITAL DISTRICT5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 01/01/1966
PAGET, CHAVIENADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/12/2024
COOMBS, JAMESCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/01/2006
ELLIS, TODDMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/27/2023
MENDIZABAL, RAQUELMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/01/2019
RICKSTREW, JAYMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/27/2023
WILL, PERRYMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/27/2023
ELLIS, TODDTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/27/2023
MENDIZABAL, RAQUELTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/01/2019
RICKSTREW, JAYTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/27/2023
WILL, PERRYTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/27/2023
PAGET, CHAVIENW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2024

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of GRAND RIVER HOSPITAL DISTRICT (enrollment ID O20031217001087).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
GRAND RIVER HOSPITAL DISTRICTOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1001/1/1966
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CHAVIEN PAGETIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/12/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES COOMBSIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER05/1/2006
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAY RICKSTREWIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing2/27/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PERRY WILLIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing2/27/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RAQUEL MENDIZABALIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing6/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TODD ELLISIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing2/27/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAY RICKSTREWIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/27/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PERRY WILLIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/27/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RAQUEL MENDIZABALIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TODD ELLISIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/27/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHAVIEN PAGETIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE011/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1January 30, 2026January 30, 202654
2February 8, 2024February 8, 202461
3October 13, 2022October 13, 202204

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

11 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
January 30, 2026HealthF 0572Resident Rights DeficienciesGive residents a notice of rights, rules, services and charges.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 24, 2026
January 30, 2026HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.JNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 30, 2026
January 30, 2026HealthF 0730Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesObserve each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 26, 2026
January 30, 2026HealthF 0760Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure that residents are free from significant medication errors.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 25, 2026
January 30, 2026HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 24, 2026
February 8, 2024HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 23, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 23, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0742Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty, or who has a history of trauma and/or post-traumatic stress disorder.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 23, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0759Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 23, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 23, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 23, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
January 30, 2026Fine$22,171136887

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameGRAND RIVER HOSPITAL DISTRICT
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2003-12-01
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishGarfield
Telephone Number9706251514
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds57
Average Number of Residents per Day52.8
Overall Rating3
Health Inspection Rating2
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating2
Short-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on GRAND RIVER HEALTH CARE CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On January 1, 2025: PERRY WILL no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for GRAND RIVER HEALTH CARE CENTER

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Colorado at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Colorado

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 065381.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.