Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 075275
GRIMES CENTER
NEW HAVEN, Connecticut · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 114
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| YALE NEW HAVEN HOSPITAL | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 07/29/2012 |
| YALE-NEW HAVEN HEALTH SERVICES CORPORATION | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | NO PERCENTAGE PROVIDED | since 09/12/2012 |
| PAYNE, DOUGLAS | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/01/2019 |
| BALCEZAK, THOMAS | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/29/2012 |
| TAMMARO, VINCENT | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/04/2016 |
| TAMMARO, VINCENT | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/04/2016 |
| WORK, CAROL | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/29/2012 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of YALE NEW HAVEN CARE CONTINUUM CORPORATION (enrollment ID O20120802000394).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| YALE NEW HAVEN HOSPITAL | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 7/29/2012 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| YALE-NEW HAVEN HEALTH SERVICES CORPORATION | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 9/12/2012 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| DOUGLAS PAYNE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 4/1/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| THOMAS J BALCEZAK | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | 100 | 7/29/2012 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| VINCENT TAMMARO | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | 100 | 1/4/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| VINCENT TAMMARO | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100 | 1/4/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CAROL WORK | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 7/29/2012 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
No change in ownership appears in the CMS files on record since September 20, 2022.
Recent changes on this record
No change has appeared in the CMS files since this record began.
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | January 30, 2026 | January 30, 2026 | 9 | 4 |
| 2 | April 9, 2024 | April 9, 2024 | 10 | 0 |
| 3 | December 13, 2021 | December 13, 2021 | 3 | 0 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
22 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 30, 2026 | Health | F 0600 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 2, 2026 |
| January 30, 2026 | Health | F 0609 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 2, 2026 |
| January 30, 2026 | Health | F 0610 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Respond appropriately to all alleged violations. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 2, 2026 |
| January 30, 2026 | Health | F 0644 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 2, 2026 |
| January 30, 2026 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 2, 2026 |
| January 30, 2026 | Health | F 0678 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide basic life support, including CPR, prior to the arrival of emergency medical personnel , subject to physician orders and the resident’s advance directives. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 2, 2026 |
| January 30, 2026 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 2, 2026 |
| January 30, 2026 | Health | F 0688 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 2, 2026 |
| January 30, 2026 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 2, 2026 |
| December 5, 2024 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 13, 2025 |
| December 5, 2024 | Health | F 0658 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 13, 2025 |
| April 9, 2024 | Health | F 0578 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 20, 2024 |
| April 9, 2024 | Health | F 0623 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 20, 2024 |
| April 9, 2024 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 20, 2024 |
| April 9, 2024 | Health | F 0692 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 20, 2024 |
| April 9, 2024 | Health | F 0725 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 20, 2024 |
| April 9, 2024 | Health | F 0758 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 20, 2024 |
| April 9, 2024 | Health | F 0760 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 20, 2024 |
| April 9, 2024 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 20, 2024 |
| April 9, 2024 | Health | F 0882 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Designate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 20, 2024 |
| December 13, 2021 | Health | F 0686 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 21, 2022 |
| December 13, 2021 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 30, 2021 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Non profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | YALE NEW HAVEN CARE CONTINUUM CORPORATION |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1978-01-01 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | South Central Ct |
| Telephone Number | 2038678300 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 114 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 92.6 |
| Overall Rating | 5 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 4 |
| QM Rating | 4 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 4 |
| Short-Stay QM Rating | 5 |
| Processing Date | 2026-08-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on GRIMES CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
No changes recorded yet. The first daily report after you subscribe names anything that moves.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for GRIMES CENTER
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Connecticut at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Connecticut
- BRANTWOOD CONDOMINIUMS, MADISON Water discharge permit
- STRATHMORE FARMS ASSOCIATION, INC., MADISON Water discharge permit
- BANBURY CROSSING, OLD SAYBROOK Water discharge permit
- DEVEREUX GLENHOLME SCHOOL, WASHINGTON Water discharge permit
- BROOKFIELD HILLS CONDOS, BROOKFIELD Water discharge permit
- OYSTER RIVER CONDOMINIUMS, OLD SAYBROOK Water discharge permit
- BY THE WATERFALL RESTAURANT AND BAR LLC, CHESTER Water discharge permit
- VILLAGE VICTORIA CONDOMINIUM ASSOC, GUILFORD Water discharge permit
- 35 GLOVER PARTNERS, LLC, NORWALK Air emission source
- WILLIMANTIC WASTE PAPER CO., WILLIMANTIC Air emission source
- AUTOBODY FACILITIES, WINDHAM COUNTY Air emission source
- KILLINGLY / DPW (S.S.I.), DANIELSON Air emission source
- COLT'S PLASTICS COMPANY, INC., DAYVILLE Air emission source
- ROGERS CORP / PORON DIV, WOODSTOCK Air emission source
- CL & P - WILLIMANTIC AREA WORK CENTER, WILLIMANTIC Air emission source
- CL & P - PLAINFIELD LINE SHOP, PLAINFIELD Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 075275.