Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 075293

JEFFERSON HOUSE

NEWINGTON, Connecticut · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 104

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
ROBBINS, JEFFREYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/10/2025
VINAL, SUSANADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/14/2025
AGBA, CHIBUEZECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/09/2021
KOSTURKO, MARYELLENCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/10/2024
PATEL, BIMALCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/01/2024
SMULLEN, ERICCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/09/2021
BARANIK, DAVIDCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/31/2016
BOISVERT, GERALDCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/11/2013
ROBBINS, JEFFREYMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/08/2025
ROBBINS, JEFFREYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/10/2025
VINAL, SUSANOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/10/2013

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of HARTFORD HOSPITAL (enrollment ID O20091215000108).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
JEFFREY ROBBINSIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/10/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SUSAN VINALIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/14/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BIMAL PATELIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing12/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHIBUEZE AGBAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing12/9/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ERIC SMULLENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing12/9/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARYELLEN KOSTURKOIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing4/10/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID BARANIKIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing10/31/2016
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GERALD BOISVERTIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing11/11/2013
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JEFFREY ROBBINSIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing7/8/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JEFFREY ROBBINSIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/10/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SUSAN VINALIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing10/10/2013
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1January 28, 2025January 28, 202596
2September 29, 2023September 29, 2023101
3July 6, 2021July 6, 202163

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

25 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
January 28, 2025HealthF 0583Resident Rights DeficienciesKeep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 11, 2025
January 28, 2025HealthF 0638Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 11, 2025
January 28, 2025HealthF 0640Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 11, 2025
January 28, 2025HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 11, 2025
January 28, 2025HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 11, 2025
January 28, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 11, 2025
January 28, 2025HealthF 0851Administration DeficienciesElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 11, 2025
January 28, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 11, 2025
January 28, 2025HealthF 0921Environmental DeficienciesMake sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 11, 2025
December 4, 2024HealthF 0602Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesProtect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 15, 2025
September 29, 2023HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 14, 2023
September 29, 2023HealthF 0578Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 14, 2023
September 29, 2023HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 14, 2023
September 29, 2023HealthF 0655Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admittedDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 14, 2023
September 29, 2023HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 14, 2023
September 29, 2023HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 14, 2023
September 29, 2023HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 14, 2023
September 29, 2023HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 14, 2023
September 29, 2023HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 14, 2023
July 6, 2021HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 29, 2021
July 6, 2021HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 29, 2021
July 6, 2021HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 29, 2021
July 6, 2021HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 29, 2021
July 6, 2021HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 29, 2021
July 6, 2021HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 29, 2021

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameHARTFORD HOSPITAL
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1979-09-24
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishCapitol
Telephone Number8606674453
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilBoth
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds104
Average Number of Residents per Day98.3
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating5
Long-Stay QM Rating5
Short-Stay QM Rating5
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on JEFFERSON HOUSE: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On September 1, 2025: ANDREW L SALNER no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for JEFFERSON HOUSE

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Connecticut at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Connecticut

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 075293.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.