Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 075443

JOHN L. LEVITOW HEALTH CARE CENTER

ROCKY HILL, Connecticut · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 125

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 23, 2026.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2025
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total operating expenses$30,566,930CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$30,566,930CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Net income after other income−$30,566,930CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$30,566,930 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2025
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components125CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components45,625CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days240CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days16,368CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days15,296CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components31,904CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges7CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges29CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges6CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components42CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days34.29CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days564.41CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days759.62CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1446906, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2024, ended June 30, 2024

Cost report for July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 27, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total operating expenses$29,910,555CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$29,910,555CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Net income after other income−$29,910,555CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$29,910,555 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components125CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components30,234CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days145.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days597.89CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days671.87CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1401602, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended June 30, 2023

Cost report for July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 20, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total operating expenses$29,425,847CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$29,425,847CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Net income after other income−$29,425,847CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$29,425,847 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components125CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components28,906CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components57CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days63.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days488.41CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days507.12CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1370926, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended June 30, 2022

Cost report for July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 2, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total operating expenses$25,539,034CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$25,539,034CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Net income after other income−$25,539,034CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$25,539,034 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components125CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components29,244CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days600.18CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days1,169.76CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1341503, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended June 30, 2021

Cost report for July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 13, 2022.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total operating expenses$27,006,040CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$27,006,040CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Net income after other income−$27,006,040CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$27,006,040 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components125CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components30,191CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components29CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days148CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days340.88CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days1,041.07CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1308729, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended June 30, 2020

Cost report for March 4, 2020 to June 30, 2020 — a reporting period of 118 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 3, 2021.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1279554, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
STATE OF CONNECTICUT5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 03/04/2020
CELTIC CONSULTING LLCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/21/2019
MORTENSEN, ERICADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2019
NELSON, LAURAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/14/2018
STATE OF CONNECTICUTADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WELCH, RONALDADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/02/2023
WELCH, RONALDMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/02/2023
MORTENSEN, ERICOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2019
NELSON, LAURAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/14/2018
WELCH, RONALDOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/02/2023

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of STATE OF CONNECTICUT (enrollment ID O20191021003023).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
STATE OF CONNECTICUTOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1003/4/2020
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CELTIC CONSULTING LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing10/21/2019
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ERIC MORTENSENIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LAURA L NELSONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing9/14/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RONALD WELCHIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/2/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
STATE OF CONNECTICUTOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
RONALD WELCHIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing6/2/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ERIC MORTENSENIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LAURA L NELSONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing9/14/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RONALD WELCHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing6/2/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1February 25, 2025February 25, 202572
2February 16, 2023February 16, 202353
3January 31, 2020January 31, 202030

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

15 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
February 25, 2025HealthF 0561Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 8, 2025
February 25, 2025HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 8, 2025
February 25, 2025HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 8, 2025
February 25, 2025HealthF 0676Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 8, 2025
February 25, 2025HealthF 0679Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide activities to meet all resident's needs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 8, 2025
February 25, 2025HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 8, 2025
February 25, 2025HealthF 0804Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 8, 2025
February 16, 2023HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 30, 2023
February 16, 2023HealthF 0610Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 30, 2023
February 16, 2023HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 30, 2023
February 16, 2023HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 30, 2023
February 16, 2023HealthF 0729Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesVerify that a nurse aide has been trained; and if they haven't worked as a nurse aide for 2 years, receive retraining.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 30, 2023
January 31, 2020HealthF 0576Resident Rights DeficienciesEnsure residents have reasonable access to and privacy in their use of communication methods.CNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 12, 2020
January 31, 2020HealthF 0790Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide routine and 24-hour emergency dental care for each resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 12, 2020
January 31, 2020HealthF 0838Administration DeficienciesConduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 12, 2020

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeGovernment - State
Legal Business NameSTATE OF CONNECTICUT
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2020-03-04
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishCapitol
Telephone Number8606163700
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilBoth
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds125
Average Number of Residents per Day84.9
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating4
Long-Stay QM Rating4
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on JOHN L. LEVITOW HEALTH CARE CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On January 23, 2026: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2025, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for JOHN L. LEVITOW HEALTH CARE CENTER

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Connecticut at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Connecticut

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 075443.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.