Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 106055
NORTHWEST FLORIDA COMMUNITY HOSPITAL (SNU)
CHIPLEY, Florida · Medicare
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 34
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.
Cost report for January 1, 2004 to February 29, 2004 — a reporting period of 59 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on September 29, 2004.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 196268, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2004.zip.
Fiscal year 2003, ended December 31, 2003
Cost report for March 6, 2003 to December 31, 2003 — a reporting period of 300 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on May 3, 2004.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 174913, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2003.zip.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NFCH, INC | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 100% | since 12/21/2012 |
| CLEMMONS, JAMES | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 08/10/2023 |
| KOZAR, MICHAEL | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/16/2025 |
| KOZAR, MICHAEL | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/04/2016 |
| LISENBY, STEVEN | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/21/2020 |
| SMEDRA, IRA | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/21/2012 |
| KOZAR, MICHAEL | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/04/2016 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of NORTHWEST FLORIDA HEALTHCARE, INC. (enrollment ID O20040320000004).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NFCH, INC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 12/21/2012 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| JAMES ALLEN CLEMMONS | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 8/10/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 6/16/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| IRA SMEDRA | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | 0 | 12/21/2012 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | 0 | 1/4/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| STEVEN LISENBY | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 9/21/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 1/4/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR no longer appears as CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since June 16, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 4, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: JAMES ALLEN CLEMMONS (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since August 10, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- October 31, 2022: ELMER JOSEPH STEIER III no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: ELMER JOSEPH STEIER III no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: CHARLES M STIGLER no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: MARCEY LYNN MORGAN no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: MARCEY LYNN MORGAN no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: JACOB WINTNER no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: JACOB WINTNER no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: IRA SMEDRA no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: SCOTT KRIEGER no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR (CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 31, 2022; associated with this enrollment since January 4, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: STEVEN LISENBY (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 31, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 21, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
Recent changes on this record
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR no longer appears as CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since June 16, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 4, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: JAMES ALLEN CLEMMONS (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since August 10, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- October 31, 2022: ELMER JOSEPH STEIER III no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: ELMER JOSEPH STEIER III no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: CHARLES M STIGLER no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: MARCEY LYNN MORGAN no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: MARCEY LYNN MORGAN no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: JACOB WINTNER no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: JACOB WINTNER no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: IRA SMEDRA no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: SCOTT KRIEGER no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: MICHAEL ANDREW KOZAR (CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 31, 2022; associated with this enrollment since January 4, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- October 31, 2022: STEVEN LISENBY (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 31, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 21, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-10-31.csv
- September 29, 2004: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2004, on form CMS-2540-96. SNFFY2004.zip
- May 3, 2004: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2003, on form CMS-2540-96. SNFFY2003.zip
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | July 2, 2025 | July 2, 2025 | 1 | 0 |
| 2 | September 24, 2024 | September 24, 2024 | 2 | 0 |
| 3 | October 5, 2023 | October 5, 2023 | 3 | 8 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
6 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2, 2025 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 25, 2026 |
| September 24, 2024 | Health | F 0578 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 17, 2024 |
| September 24, 2024 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 17, 2024 |
| October 5, 2023 | Health | F 0645 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 26, 2023 |
| October 5, 2023 | Health | F 0740 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure each resident must receive and the facility must provide necessary behavioral health care and services. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 26, 2023 |
| October 5, 2023 | Health | F 0842 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 27, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare |
| Ownership Type | For profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | NORTHWEST FLORIDA HEALTHCARE, INC. |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 2003-03-06 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | Y |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Washington |
| Telephone Number | 8504157400 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Both |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 34 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 32.0 |
| Overall Rating | 4 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 5 |
| QM Rating | 3 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 3 |
| Processing Date | 2026-08-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on NORTHWEST FLORIDA COMMUNITY HOSPITAL (SNU): the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On September 29, 2004: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2004, on form CMS-2540-96. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for NORTHWEST FLORIDA COMMUNITY HOSPITAL (SNU)
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Florida at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Florida
- MAREX ENTERPRISES INC, PORT CHARLOTTE Motor carrier
- J T HILL'S TRUCKING INC, RIVERVIEW Motor carrier
- WADSWORTH TRUCKING INC, WIMAUMA Motor carrier
- R K R OF CAPE CORAL INC, CAPE CORAL Motor carrier
- PERRY DOWLING, JACKSONVILLE Motor carrier
- ROBERTO ESTOPINALES, MIAMI Motor carrier
- MIAMI - MS4, MIAMI Water discharge permit
- MIAMI DADE CO & CO APP - MS4, MIAMI Water discharge permit
- SARASOTA CO & CO APP - MS4, SARASOTA Water discharge permit
- PINELLAS CO & CO APP - MS4, CLEARWATER Water discharge permit
- HILLSBOROUGH CO & CO APP - MS4, TAMPA Water discharge permit
- CWR CONTRACTING, INC., SUMTERVILLE Air emission source
- HUBBARD CONT. CO. DBA ORLANDO PAVING CO., ORLANDO Air emission source
- DUVAL ASPHALT PRODUCTS, INC, GREEN COVE SPRINGS Air emission source
- MULO INC, SOUTH BAY Air emission source
- ROADS INC, CANTONMENT Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 106055.