Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 125002
HILO BENIOFF MEDICAL CENTER
HILO, Hawaii · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 52
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BELCHER, DANIEL | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/01/2020 |
| BRINKMAN, DANIEL | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/02/2007 |
| FARIAS, CHAD | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/01/2021 |
| GOMEZ, LARA | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 11/01/2022 |
| GRAY, JERRY | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/01/2017 |
| IGNACIO, JAY | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/01/2019 |
| KUROHARA, RANDALL | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/01/2021 |
| NUNOKAWA, CLARYSSE | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/01/2019 |
| SAKO, DEANNA | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/01/2018 |
| SKRUCH, JOSEPH | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/15/2022 |
| SMITH, STEPHEN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/24/2018 |
| WONG, YVONNE | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 10/01/2022 |
| YAMANAKA, RAE | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/17/2016 |
| ZELKO-SCHLUETER, JENNIFER | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/01/2022 |
| HO, BRENDA | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/01/2016 |
| HAWAII HEALTH SYSTEMS CORPORATION | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/01/1996 |
| WALTJEN, JONI | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/23/2001 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of HILO BENIOFF MEDICAL CENTER (enrollment ID O20071023000547).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHAD KEONE FARIAS | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 3/1/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CLARYSSE K NUNOKAWA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 6/1/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DANIEL H BELCHER | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 6/1/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DANIEL JOHN BRINKMAN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 7/2/2007 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DEANNA S SAKO | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 9/1/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JAY M IGNACIO | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 4/1/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JENNIFER L ZELKO-SCHLUETER | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JERRY L GRAY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/1/2017 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JOSEPH F SKRUCH | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 3/15/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| LARA GOMEZ | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 11/1/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| RAE A YAMANAKA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 5/17/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| RANDALL KUROHARA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/1/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| STEPHEN M SMITH | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/24/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| YVONNE WONG | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 10/1/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| BRENDA S HO | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| HAWAII HEALTH SYSTEMS CORPORATION | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/1996 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| JONI MU WALTJEN | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 4/23/2001 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- May 15, 2023: KAREN L PELLEGRIN no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: DEAN AU no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: JENNIFER L ZELKO-SCHLUETER (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on May 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: JOSEPH F SKRUCH (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on May 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since March 15, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: DANIEL JOHN BRINKMAN (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on May 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since July 2, 2007. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: YVONNE WONG (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on May 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since October 1, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: LARA GOMEZ (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on May 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since November 1, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
Recent changes on this record
- May 15, 2023: KAREN L PELLEGRIN no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: DEAN AU no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: JENNIFER L ZELKO-SCHLUETER (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on May 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: JOSEPH F SKRUCH (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on May 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since March 15, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: DANIEL JOHN BRINKMAN (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on May 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since July 2, 2007. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: YVONNE WONG (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on May 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since October 1, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
- May 15, 2023: LARA GOMEZ (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on May 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since November 1, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-05-15.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | February 7, 2025 | February 7, 2025 | 15 | 2 |
| 2 | January 11, 2024 | January 11, 2024 | 1 | 5 |
| 3 | October 24, 2022 | October 24, 2022 | 7 | 4 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
23 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0550 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0584 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0585 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0600 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody. | E | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0655 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0677 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0688 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0692 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0695 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0710 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Obtain a doctor's order to admit a resident and ensure the resident is under a doctor's care. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0756 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| February 7, 2025 | Health | F 0943 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Give their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and exploitation. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 24, 2025 |
| January 11, 2024 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 26, 2024 |
| October 24, 2022 | Health | F 0551 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Give the resident's representative the ability to exercise the resident's rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 16, 2022 |
| October 24, 2022 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 16, 2022 |
| October 24, 2022 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 16, 2022 |
| October 24, 2022 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | G | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 16, 2022 |
| October 24, 2022 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 16, 2022 |
| October 24, 2022 | Health | F 0804 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 16, 2022 |
| October 24, 2022 | Health | F 0842 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 16, 2022 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Government - State |
| Legal Business Name | HILO BENIOFF MEDICAL CENTER |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1967-01-01 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | N |
| County/Parish | Hawaii |
| Telephone Number | 8089323000 |
| Chain Name | HAWAII HEALTH SYSTEMS CORPORATION |
| Chain ID | 250 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 52 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 61.2 |
| Overall Rating | 4 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 3 |
| QM Rating | 4 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 4 |
| Processing Date | 2026-08-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on HILO BENIOFF MEDICAL CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On May 15, 2023: KAREN L PELLEGRIN no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for HILO BENIOFF MEDICAL CENTER
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Hawaii at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Hawaii
- HNL T-HANGAR 420-108(2), UNKNOWN Water discharge permit
- PACIFIC TRANSFER LLC (2), UNKNOWN Water discharge permit
- AMWAY PACIFIC ISLAND SERVICE CENTER, UNKNOWN Water discharge permit
- REDONDO'S. LLC, UNKNOWN Water discharge permit
- LANAI RESORTS LLC, DBA PULAMA LANAI, UNKNOWN Water discharge permit
- TARGET DC T3032, UNKNOWN Water discharge permit
- HNL T-HANGAR 421.118, UNKNOWN Water discharge permit
- HNL AIRPORT T-HANGARS (HANGAR 422-115), UNKNOWN Water discharge permit
- MECO - HANA, HANA Air emission source
- IES-KAHULUI, KAHULUI Air emission source
- MECO - MAALAEA, MAALAEA Air emission source
- COUNTY OF MAUI - CENTRAL MAUI MSWL, WAILUKU Air emission source
- MECO - MIKI BASIN, LANAI CITY Air emission source
- ALOHA-PETROLEUM - KAHULUI, KAHULUI Air emission source
- PAR - KAHULUI, KAHULUI Air emission source
- MECO - PALAAU, PALAAU Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 125002.