Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 125003
KULA HOSPITAL
KULA, Hawaii · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 105
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| No owner named in the filing | Ownership Data Not Available | Not stated in the filing | Not stated in the filing | Not stated in the filing |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of MAUI HEALTH SYSTEM A KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS LLC (enrollment ID O20170602001426).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 12/24/2015 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| DEBRA L CARTWRIGHT | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 5/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| KENNETH L SCOTT | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 6/1/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| LYNN A FULTON | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PENNY KOVAL | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 11/3/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| WADE EBERSOLE | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 2/23/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ANTHONY PAUL TAKITANI | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/2017 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JOHN M YAMAMOTO | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/2017 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MARY M HEW | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/2017 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| RICHARD CLAY SUTHERLAND | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/2017 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TAMAR GOODFELLOW | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 3/31/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| BARRY S SHITAMOTO | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| BECHARA CHOUCAIR | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DEBRA L CARTWRIGHT | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 5/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| LYNN A FULTON | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PENNY KOVAL | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 11/3/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| SHELBY D DECOSTA-GALDEIRA | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 9/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| THOMAS S HANENBURG | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| WADE EBERSOLE | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 2/23/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DEBRA L CARTWRIGHT | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 5/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2017 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| KENNETH L SCOTT | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 6/1/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| LYNN A FULTON | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PENNY KOVAL | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 11/3/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| WADE EBERSOLE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100 | 9/1/2017 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- September 1, 2026: KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: SCOTT, KENNETH no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: KOVAL, PENNY no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: FULTON, LYNN no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: EBERSOLE, WADE no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: CARTWRIGHT, DEBRA no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: FULTON, LYNN no longer appears as INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: SHITAMOTO, BARRY no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: KOVAL, PENNY no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: HANENBURG, THOMAS no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: FULTON, LYNN no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: EBERSOLE, WADE no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: DECOSTA-GALDEIRA, SHELBY no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: CHOUCAIR, BECHARA no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: CARTWRIGHT, DEBRA no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: YAMAMOTO, JOHN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: TAKITANI, ANTHONY no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: SUTHERLAND, RICHARD no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: HEW, MARY no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: GOODFELLOW, TAMAR no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: SCOTT, KENNETH no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: KOVAL, PENNY no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: FULTON, LYNN no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: EBERSOLE, WADE no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: CARTWRIGHT, DEBRA no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: A listing under Ownership Data Not Available appears in the Care Compare ownership file, with no owner named. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- February 1, 2026: BRYAN C SMITH no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: STEPHEN D MILLER no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: WADE EBERSOLE no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: KATHRYN LANCASTER no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL A REMBIS no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL A REMBIS no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL A REMBIS no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: DEBRA L CARTWRIGHT (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: DEBRA L CARTWRIGHT (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: DEBRA L CARTWRIGHT (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: THOMAS S HANENBURG (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: WADE EBERSOLE (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since February 23, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: LYNN A FULTON (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: LYNN A FULTON (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: LYNN A FULTON (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2017. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: KENNETH L SCOTT (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since June 1, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: KENNETH L SCOTT (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since June 1, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: PENNY KOVAL (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since November 3, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: PENNY KOVAL (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since November 3, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: PENNY KOVAL (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since November 3, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: BECHARA CHOUCAIR (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: BARRY S SHITAMOTO (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: SHELBY D DECOSTA-GALDEIRA (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- June 15, 2023: LESLIE S HEISZ no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: MAUI HEALTH SYSTEM A KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS LLC no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: MAUI HEALTH SYSTEM A KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS LLC no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: RAMON F BAEZ no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: JEFFREY E EPSTEIN no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: ARNOLD EUGENE WASHINGTON no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: PHILLIP ALBERT MARINEAU no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: DAVID F HOFFMEISTER no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: THOMAS R MEIER no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: THOMAS R MEIER no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: RAY Y HAHN no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: RAY Y HAHN no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: RAY Y HAHN no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: EDWARD Y PEI no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: KIM J KAISER no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: CYNTHIA A TELLES no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: JUDITH A JOHANSEN no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: REGINA M BENJAMIN no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: RICHARD P SHANNON no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: GALEN T NAKAMURA no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: MARGARET E PORFIDO no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: WADE EBERSOLE (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on June 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since February 23, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: WADE EBERSOLE (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on June 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since February 23, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: WADE EBERSOLE (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on June 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since February 23, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: TAMAR GOODFELLOW (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on June 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since March 31, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
- June 15, 2023: KATHRYN LANCASTER (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on June 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 2017. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-06-15.csv
Recent changes on this record
- September 1, 2026: KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: SCOTT, KENNETH no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: KOVAL, PENNY no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: FULTON, LYNN no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: EBERSOLE, WADE no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: CARTWRIGHT, DEBRA no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: FULTON, LYNN no longer appears as INDIVIDUAL IS AN OWNER, PARTNER OR TRUSTEE OF ANY ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: SHITAMOTO, BARRY no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: KOVAL, PENNY no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: HANENBURG, THOMAS no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: FULTON, LYNN no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: EBERSOLE, WADE no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: DECOSTA-GALDEIRA, SHELBY no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: CHOUCAIR, BECHARA no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: CARTWRIGHT, DEBRA no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: YAMAMOTO, JOHN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: TAKITANI, ANTHONY no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: SUTHERLAND, RICHARD no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: HEW, MARY no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: GOODFELLOW, TAMAR no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: SCOTT, KENNETH no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: KOVAL, PENNY no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: FULTON, LYNN no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: EBERSOLE, WADE no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: CARTWRIGHT, DEBRA no longer appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Care Compare ownership file. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- September 1, 2026: A listing under Ownership Data Not Available appears in the Care Compare ownership file, with no owner named. NH_Ownership_Sep2026_2.csv
- February 1, 2026: BRYAN C SMITH no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: STEPHEN D MILLER no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: WADE EBERSOLE no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: KATHRYN LANCASTER no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL A REMBIS no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL A REMBIS no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: MICHAEL A REMBIS no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: DEBRA L CARTWRIGHT (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: DEBRA L CARTWRIGHT (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: DEBRA L CARTWRIGHT (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: THOMAS S HANENBURG (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: WADE EBERSOLE (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since February 23, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2026: LYNN A FULTON (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-02-01.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | June 6, 2024 | June 6, 2024 | 10 | 1 |
| 2 | June 5, 2023 | June 5, 2023 | 14 | 1 |
| 3 | June 30, 2022 | June 30, 2022 | 8 | 1 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
32 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 8, 2025 | Health | F 0609 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities. | E | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 28, 2025 |
| September 19, 2024 | Health | F 0600 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody. | G | Yes | Past Non-Compliance | September 19, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0550 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0686 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0726 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0727 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0757 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0908 | Environmental Deficiencies | Keep all essential equipment working safely. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2024 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0550 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0578 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0604 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0655 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0677 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0725 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0732 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Post nurse staffing information every day. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0838 | Administration Deficiencies | Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0842 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 5, 2023 | Health | F 0925 | Environmental Deficiencies | Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 31, 2023 |
| June 30, 2022 | Health | F 0600 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 14, 2022 |
| June 30, 2022 | Health | F 0641 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 14, 2022 |
| June 30, 2022 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 14, 2022 |
| June 30, 2022 | Health | F 0677 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 14, 2022 |
| June 30, 2022 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 14, 2022 |
| June 30, 2022 | Health | F 0700 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 14, 2022 |
| June 30, 2022 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 14, 2022 |
| June 30, 2022 | Health | F 0886 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Perform COVID19 testing on residents and staff. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 14, 2022 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Non profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | MAUI HEALTH SYSTEM A KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS LLC |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1967-01-01 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | Y |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Maui |
| Telephone Number | 8088781221 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 105 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 92.3 |
| Overall Rating | 2 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 2 |
| QM Rating | 5 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 5 |
| Processing Date | 2026-08-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on KULA HOSPITAL: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On September 1, 2026: KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Care Compare ownership file. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for KULA HOSPITAL
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Hawaii at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Hawaii
- HONOLULU HARBOR, HONOLULU Water discharge permit
- KEWALO BASIN, HONOLULU Water discharge permit
- KALAELOA BARBERS POINT HARBOR, KAPOLEI Water discharge permit
- UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII, HONOLULU Water discharge permit
- NEAL S. BLAISDELL CENTER, HONOLULU Water discharge permit
- JW MARRIOTT IHILANI RESORT AND SPA, KAPOLEI Water discharge permit
- SEA COUNTRY SUBDIVISION, WAIANAE Water discharge permit
- KOHALA PRESERVE - MAHUKONA, UNKNOWN Water discharge permit
- MECO - HANA, HANA Air emission source
- IES-KAHULUI, KAHULUI Air emission source
- MECO - MAALAEA, MAALAEA Air emission source
- COUNTY OF MAUI - CENTRAL MAUI MSWL, WAILUKU Air emission source
- MECO - MIKI BASIN, LANAI CITY Air emission source
- ALOHA-PETROLEUM - KAHULUI, KAHULUI Air emission source
- PAR - KAHULUI, KAHULUI Air emission source
- MECO - PALAAU, PALAAU Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 125003.