Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 125010

LEAHI HOSPITAL

HONOLULU, Hawaii · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 155

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
HAWAII HEALTH SYSTEMS CORPORATION5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 11/03/2007
AZAMA, GARETCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2018
CHUN, BRADLEYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2018
SUNADA, JAREDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2018
TSUNEISHI, LANICORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2018
WALKER, KENCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2019
WOO, JASONCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2018
AKIYOSHI, DEREKCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2014
HAMAMOTO, MICHAELCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2018
ROSEN, LINDACORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/16/2014
SANADA, SEANCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2018
HAWAII HEALTH SYSTEMS CORPORATIONOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/03/2007
GONZALES, VIOLETAW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/22/2018

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of LEAHI HOSPITAL (enrollment ID O20170126002880).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
HAWAII HEALTH SYSTEMS CORPORATIONOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST10011/3/2007
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
BRADLEY A CHUNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing7/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GARET AZAMAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing7/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JARED SUNADAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing7/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JASON WOOIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing7/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KEN WALKERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing7/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LANI TSUNEISHIIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing7/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DEREK AKIYOSHIIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER10011/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL HAMAMOTOIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER1003/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SEAN SANADAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER1001/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LINDA ROSENIndividualOFFICERNot stated in the filing12/16/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HAWAII HEALTH SYSTEMS CORPORATIONOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL10011/3/2007
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
VIOLETA GONZALESIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE1003/22/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1July 25, 2025August 1, 202462
2August 1, 2024September 14, 202330
3September 14, 2023September 30, 202291

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

18 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
July 25, 2025HealthF 0628Resident Rights DeficienciesProvide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 8, 2025
July 25, 2025HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 8, 2025
July 25, 2025HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 8, 2025
July 25, 2025HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 8, 2025
July 25, 2025HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 8, 2025
July 25, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 8, 2025
August 1, 2024HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 15, 2024
August 1, 2024HealthF 0610Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 15, 2024
August 1, 2024HealthF 0644Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 15, 2024
August 1, 2024HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 15, 2024
August 1, 2024HealthF 0867Administration DeficienciesSet up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.FYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 15, 2024
September 14, 2023HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 27, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 27, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0610Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 27, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0623Resident Rights DeficienciesProvide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 27, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0732Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesPost nurse staffing information every day.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 27, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 27, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 27, 2023

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeGovernment - State
Legal Business NameLEAHI HOSPITAL
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1969-01-01
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishHonolulu
Telephone Number8087338000
Chain NameHAWAII HEALTH SYSTEMS CORPORATION
Chain ID250
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilBoth
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds155
Average Number of Residents per Day93.2
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating4
Long-Stay QM Rating4
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on LEAHI HOSPITAL: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On May 15, 2023: PATRICIA O'HAGAN no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for LEAHI HOSPITAL

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Hawaii at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Hawaii

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 125010.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.