Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 165147

Park Place

Mount Pleasant, Iowa · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 49

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $13,065.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: June 10, 2026, Fine, $13,065. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2025 to June 30, 2025 — a reporting period of 180 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 22, 2025.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1445198, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2025.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
ARAMARK HEALTHCARE SUPPORT SERVICES LLCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
BARR, DEANNAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
COTTON, CYNTHIAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
EIDE BAILLY LLPADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
ENGBERG, ROBERTADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
GREAT RIVER HEALTH SYSTEM INCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/15/2025
HOLLENBECK, MICKIEADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
KLOPFENSTEIN, MARYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MALCOM, WILLIAMADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
MARTIN, DOUGLASADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
MCCOY, MICHAELADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MCKILLIP, JOHNADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
MCNAMEE, CARLAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
POPE, TARAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
RYON, JOELADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WILLIAMS-LOWE, BRANDYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
BENDER, REBECCAMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
BLAKE, BRADENMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MAHER, KARLAMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MCNAMEE, CARLAMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
PROTTSMAN, JOELMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WELCHER, MICHAELMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WILLIAMS-LOWE, BRANDYMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
YODER, CHARLESMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/18/2025
ARAMARK HEALTHCARE SUPPORT SERVICES LLCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
BARR, DEANNAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
COTTON, CYNTHIAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
ENGBERG, ROBERTOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
GREAT RIVER HEALTH SYSTEM INCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/15/2025
HOLLENBECK, MICKIEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
KLOPFENSTEIN, MARYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MALCOM, WILLIAMOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
MARTIN, DOUGLASOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
MCCOY, MICHAELOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MCKILLIP, JOHNOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/23/2025
MCNAMEE, CARLAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
POPE, TARAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
RYON, JOELOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WILLIAMS-LOWE, BRANDYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of HENRY COUNTY SOLDIERS' AND SAILORS' MEMORIAL HOSPITAL (enrollment ID O20250519003487).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
ARAMARK HEALTHCARE SUPPORT SERVICES LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
BRANDY WILLIAMS-LOWEIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CARLA MCNAMEEIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CYNTHIA COTTONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DEANNA A BARRIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DOUGLAS MARTINIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
EIDE BAILLY LLPOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
GREAT RIVER HEALTH SYSTEM INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/15/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
JOEL RYONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN P MCKILLIPIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARY ELISE KLOPFENSTEINIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL J MCCOYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICKIE HOLLENBECKIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ROBERT ENGBERGIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TARA POPEIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM MALCOMIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRADEN BLAKEIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRANDY WILLIAMS-LOWEIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CARLA MCNAMEEIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHARLES YODERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing6/18/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOEL D PROTTSMANIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KARLA MAHERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL WELCHERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
REBECCA BENDERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ARAMARK HEALTHCARE SUPPORT SERVICES LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
BRANDY WILLIAMS-LOWEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CARLA MCNAMEEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CYNTHIA COTTONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DEANNA A BARRIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DOUGLAS MARTINIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREAT RIVER HEALTH SYSTEM INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/15/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
JOEL RYONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN P MCKILLIPIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARY ELISE KLOPFENSTEINIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL J MCCOYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICKIE HOLLENBECKIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ROBERT ENGBERGIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TARA POPEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM MALCOMIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/23/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1May 22, 2025May 22, 202532
2July 25, 2024July 25, 202436
3July 31, 2023July 31, 202382

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

14 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
June 10, 2026HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.GYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 15, 2026
December 2, 2025HealthF 0567Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to manage his or her financial affairs.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 26, 2025
May 22, 2025HealthF 0725Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesProvide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 6, 2025
December 24, 2024HealthF 0660Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesPlan the resident's discharge to meet the resident's goals and needs.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 24, 2025
July 25, 2024HealthF 0756Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 19, 2024
July 25, 2024HealthF 0758Pharmacy Service DeficienciesImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 19, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0557Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to be treated with respect and dignity and to retain and use personal possessions.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 12, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 12, 2024
May 16, 2024HealthF 0610Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 12, 2024
July 31, 2023HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2023
July 31, 2023HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2023
July 31, 2023HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2023
July 31, 2023HealthF 0758Pharmacy Service DeficienciesImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2023
July 31, 2023HealthF 0837Administration DeficienciesEstablish a governing body that is legally responsible for establishing and implementing policies for managing and operating the facility and appoints a properly licensed administrator responsible for managing the facility.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 30, 2023

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
June 10, 2026Fine$13,065144442

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameHENRY COUNTY SOLDIERS' AND SAILORS' MEMORIAL HOSPITAL
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1989-01-16
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishHenry
Telephone Number3193856192
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds49
Average Number of Residents per Day33.8
Overall Rating4
Health Inspection Rating3
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on Park Place: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On June 10, 2026: A penalty was recorded: Fine. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for Park Place

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Iowa at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Iowa

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 165147.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.