Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 165792

Mount Carmel Bluffs

Dubuque, Iowa · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 60

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for October 1, 2023 to September 30, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 18, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$7,089,340CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$286,949CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$6,802,391CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$19,149,642CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$12,347,251CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$11,487,088CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$860,163CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$860,163 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components21,960CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days858CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days14,200CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days3,267CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components18,325CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges10CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges10CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges74CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components94CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days85.8CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,420CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days194.95CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1405411, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended September 30, 2023

Cost report for October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 10, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,019,501CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$96,954CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,922,547CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,649,249CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$10,726,702CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$9,177,292CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$1,549,410CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$1,539,199 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components15,305CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components77CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days129.25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days733.07CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days198.77CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1375950, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended September 30, 2022

Cost report for October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 20, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,887,257CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$76,904CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,964,161CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$11,870,796CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$7,906,635CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$5,569,353CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$2,337,282CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$2,337,282 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,973CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components48CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days72.4CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days318.52CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days270.27CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1346078, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended September 30, 2021

Cost report for August 31, 2021 to September 30, 2021 — a reporting period of 30 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 10, 2022.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1311751, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
PRESBYTERIAN HOMES AND SERVICES5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization50%since 08/31/2021
SISTERS OF CHARITY OF THE BLESSED VIRGIN MARY5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization50%since 08/31/2021
MANTERNACH, LADONNA5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividual25%since 08/01/2022
MIDWESTONE BANK5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTERESTOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2019
MIDWESTONE BANK5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTERESTOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2019
FLETCHER, JONATHANADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/01/2025
MEYER, MARKADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/07/2018
PETERSON, HEIDIADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2023
PHS MANAGEMENT, LLCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/18/2025
RENTZ, SARAHADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/15/2020
RIES, ANDREAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2022
LINDH, DANIELCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/07/2018
MEYER, MARKCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/07/2018
STACHE, ALANCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/07/2018
FLETCHER, JONATHANCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/01/2025
MEYER, MARKCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/07/2018
STACHE, ALANCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/07/2018
FLETCHER, JONATHANOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/01/2025
MEYER, MARKOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/07/2018
PETERSON, HEIDIOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2023
PHS MANAGEMENT, LLCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/15/2020
RENTZ, SARAHOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/15/2020
RIES, ANDREAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2022

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of BVM-PHS SENIOR HOUSING INC (enrollment ID O20200728002489).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
PRESBYTERIAN HOMES AND SERVICESOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST508/31/2021
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
SISTERS OF CHARITY OF THE BLESSED VIRGIN MARYOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST508/31/2021
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
LADONNA M MANTERNACHIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST258/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MIDWESTONE BANKOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST677/1/2019
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
MIDWESTONE BANKOrganization5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST677/1/2019
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ANDREA L RIESIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HEIDI A PETERSONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JONATHAN DAVID FLETCHERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK T MEYERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing9/7/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PHS MANAGEMENT, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing11/18/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
SARAH RENTZIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing10/15/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ALAN STACHEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR259/7/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DANIEL A LINDHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR259/7/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK T MEYERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR259/7/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ALAN STACHEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER259/7/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JONATHAN DAVID FLETCHERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER02/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK T MEYERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER259/7/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ANDREA L RIESIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HEIDI A PETERSONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JONATHAN DAVID FLETCHERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing2/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK T MEYERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing9/7/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PHS MANAGEMENT, LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL10010/15/2020
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
SARAH RENTZIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing10/15/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1February 26, 2026February 26, 202612
2February 20, 2025February 20, 202532
3April 4, 2024April 4, 202434

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

7 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
February 26, 2026HealthF 0725Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesProvide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 18, 2026
July 9, 2025HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 19, 2025
July 9, 2025HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 19, 2025
July 9, 2025HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 19, 2025
April 4, 2024HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 3, 2024
April 4, 2024HealthF 0803Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 3, 2024
April 4, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 3, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeFor profit - Limited Liability company
Legal Business NameBVM-PHS SENIOR HOUSING INC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2021-08-31
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityY
UrbanY
County/ParishDubuque
Telephone Number5635565474
Chain NamePRESBYTERIAN HOMES & SERVICES
Chain ID412
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds60
Average Number of Residents per Day54.1
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating2
Long-Stay QM Rating1
Short-Stay QM Rating2
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on Mount Carmel Bluffs: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On March 18, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for Mount Carmel Bluffs

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Iowa at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Iowa

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 165792.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.