Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 165793

The Summit of Bettendorf

Bettendorf, Iowa · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 39

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $26,358.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: March 28, 2024, Fine, $26,358. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 28, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$6,540,224CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$895,820CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$5,644,404CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$13,727,124CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$8,082,720CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$7,881,494CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$201,226CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$201,226 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components40CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components14,640CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days3,329CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days443CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days9,481CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components13,253CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges139CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges1CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges133CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components273CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days23.95CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days443CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days48.55CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1433879, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 24, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,669,765CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$683,783CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,985,982CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$13,662,051CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$8,676,069CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$6,295,485CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$2,380,584CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$2,380,584 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components40CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,110CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components252CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days24.72CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days48.06CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1395643, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 13, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,812,957CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$418,065CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,394,892CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$9,797,421CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$6,402,529CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,226,146CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$3,176,383CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$3,176,383 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components40CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components6,742CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components214CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days18.26CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days41CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days31.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1364591, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021

Cost report for November 10, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 51 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 30, 2022.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1317456, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
GENESIS HEALTH SYSTEM5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization40%since 02/21/2019
WESLEYLIFE5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization60%since 02/21/2019
CROPPER, DOUGLASCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/21/2019
HOEKSEMA, NICOLECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/02/2021
KRETZINGER, ROBERTCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/21/2019
MALAS, JOSEPHCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/16/2021
VANDERWIEL, KRISTYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/21/2019
FLANAGAN, CRAIGCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/21/2019
SIMPSON, JANETOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/21/2019

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of WELLSPIRE-BETTENDORF LLC (enrollment ID O20210210001211).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
GENESIS HEALTH SYSTEMOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST402/21/2019
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
WESLEYLIFEOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST602/21/2019
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
DOUGLAS CROPPERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing2/21/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KRISTY VANDERWIELIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing2/21/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NICOLE LYNN HOEKSEMAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing3/2/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ROBERT WILLIAM KRETZINGERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing2/21/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRAIG FLANAGANIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing2/21/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOSEPH MALASIndividualDIRECTORNot stated in the filing11/16/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JANET A SIMPSONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing2/21/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

No change in ownership appears in the CMS files on record since September 20, 2022.

Recent changes on this record

  • August 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2024.zip
  • September 24, 2024: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2023, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2023.zip
  • September 13, 2023: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2022, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2022.zip
  • May 30, 2022: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2021, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2022.zip

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1December 18, 2025December 18, 202521
2February 3, 2025February 3, 202503
3March 28, 2024March 28, 202474

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

9 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
December 18, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 2, 2026
December 18, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 2, 2026
March 28, 2024HealthF 0623Resident Rights DeficienciesProvide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 25, 2024
March 28, 2024HealthF 0625Resident Rights DeficienciesNotify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 25, 2024
March 28, 2024HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 25, 2024
March 28, 2024HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.JYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 15, 2024
September 18, 2023HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 8, 2023
September 18, 2023HealthF 0602Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesProtect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 8, 2023
September 18, 2023HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 8, 2023

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
March 28, 2024Fine$26,35879427

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeFor profit - Limited Liability company
Legal Business NameWELLSPIRE-BETTENDORF LLC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2021-11-10
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityY
UrbanY
County/ParishScott
Telephone Number5152716789
Chain NameWESLEYLIFE
Chain ID561
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds39
Average Number of Residents per Day37.9
Overall Rating3
Health Inspection Rating3
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating4
Short-Stay QM Rating2
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on The Summit of Bettendorf: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On August 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for The Summit of Bettendorf

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Iowa at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Iowa

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 165793.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.