Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 175484

SALEM HOME

HILLSBORO, Kansas · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 45

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for October 1, 2023 to September 30, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 14, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,626,612CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$536,972CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$5,089,640CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,665,236CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$424,404CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$119,631CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$544,035CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $544,035 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components16,470CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days942CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days9,705CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days5,465CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components16,112CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges22CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges30CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components77CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days42.82CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days388.2CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days209.25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1405274, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended September 30, 2023

Cost report for October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 23, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,469,912CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$283,677CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,186,235CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,174,866CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$11,369CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$288,125CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$299,494CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $299,494 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components15,753CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days60.55CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days281.67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days189.8CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1376692, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended September 30, 2022

Cost report for October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 18, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,882,662CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$107,993CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,774,669CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$3,934,186CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$159,517CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$284,222CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$124,705CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $124,705 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components14,789CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components107CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days64.52CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days191.76CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days138.21CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1345951, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended September 30, 2021

Cost report for October 1, 2020 to September 30, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 21, 2022.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,560,580CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$45,944CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,514,636CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$3,620,493CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$105,857CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$628,726CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$522,869CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $522,869 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components14,438CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components88CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days73.75CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days221.03CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days164.07CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1314214, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended September 30, 2020

Cost report for October 1, 2019 to September 30, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 29, 2021.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,141,932CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$177,956CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$2,963,976CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$3,037,631CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$73,655CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$454,132CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$380,477CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $380,477 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,481CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components59CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days112CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days261.21CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days211.54CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1281805, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended September 30, 2019

Cost report for October 1, 2018 to September 30, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 18, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,303,982CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$398,454CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$2,905,528CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$3,004,314CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$98,786CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$116,679CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$17,893CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $17,893 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,880CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components95CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days67.18CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days196.98CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days135.58CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1251154, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended September 30, 2018

Cost report for October 1, 2017 to September 30, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 13, 2019.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,057,176CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$443,898CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$2,613,278CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,635,888CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$22,610CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$88,736CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$66,126CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $66,126 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,349CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components55CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days68.1CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days502.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days224.53CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1224189, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended September 30, 2017

Cost report for October 1, 2016 to September 30, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 2, 2018.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$2,624,411CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$318,882CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$2,305,529CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,469,413CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$163,884CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$120,524CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$43,360CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$43,360 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components11,430CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components73CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days23.75CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days512.54CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days156.58CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1189261, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended September 30, 2016

Cost report for October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 18, 2017.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$2,717,844CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$317,962CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$2,399,882CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,752,440CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$352,558CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$46,471CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$306,087CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$306,087 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,353CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components92CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days24.81CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days325.65CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days134.27CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1155730, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended September 30, 2015

Cost report for October 1, 2014 to September 30, 2015 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 19, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,026,503CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$297,320CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$2,729,183CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,839,953CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$110,770CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$59,826CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$50,944CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$50,944 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components14,887CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components38CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days71.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days830.91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days391.76CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1124204, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Fiscal year 2014, ended September 30, 2014

Cost report for October 1, 2013 to September 30, 2014 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 29, 2015.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,082,935CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$334,408CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$2,748,527CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,892,598CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$144,071CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$132,228CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$11,843CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$11,843 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components15,389CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components59CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days24.27CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days509CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days260.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1085210, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Fiscal year 2013, ended September 30, 2013

Cost report for October 1, 2012 to September 30, 2013 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 11, 2014.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2013
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$2,945,438CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$157,150CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$2,788,288CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,888,707CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$100,419CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$199,083CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$98,664CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $98,664 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2013
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components15,040CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components64CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days32.37CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days605.46CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days235CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1056671, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2013.zip.

Fiscal year 2012, ended September 30, 2012

Cost report for October 1, 2011 to September 30, 2012 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 19, 2013.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2012
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$2,796,421CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$126,751CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$2,669,670CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,889,156CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$219,486CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$275,705CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$56,219CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $56,219 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2012
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components14,373CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components94CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days25.49CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days323CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days152.9CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1026962, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2012.zip.

Fiscal year 2011, ended September 30, 2011

Cost report for October 1, 2010 to September 30, 2011 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on March 15, 2012.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2011
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Net patient revenue$2,890,021CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,896,505CMS-2540-96 worksheet G200002 line 1500 column 200
Net income from service to patients−$6,484CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$293,873CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $287,389 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2011
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components50CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 100
Total patient days, all components16,093CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 700
Total discharges, all components76CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days25.69CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days457.56CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days211.75CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1600

CMS report record 426104, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2011.zip.

Fiscal year 2010, ended September 30, 2010

Cost report for October 1, 2009 to September 30, 2010 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on April 26, 2011.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2010
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Net patient revenue$2,449,947CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,832,650CMS-2540-96 worksheet G200002 line 1500 column 200
Net income from service to patients−$382,703CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$286,156CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$96,547 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2010
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components56CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 100
Total patient days, all components15,869CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 700
Total discharges, all components79CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days478CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days308.41CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days200.87CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1600

CMS report record 397956, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2010.zip.

Fiscal year 2009, ended September 30, 2009

Cost report for September 1, 2008 to September 30, 2009 — a reporting period of 394 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on April 15, 2010.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2009
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Net patient revenue$2,985,369CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$3,240,674CMS-2540-96 worksheet G200002 line 1500 column 200
Net income from service to patients−$255,305CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$396,458CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100
Total other expenses$5,452CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100

Net income: $135,701 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2009
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components56CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 100
Total patient days, all components19,206CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 700
Total discharges, all components91CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days108.67CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days307.56CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days211.05CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1600

CMS report record 367546, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2008.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
MUNGAI, PETERADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/10/2025
REEH, MICHAELADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/13/2025
SALEM HOSPITAL, INC.ADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/15/2021
ENSEY, LAURACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/30/2021
HERBEL, DELAYNECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/29/2018
JOST, JAREDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/29/2024
KOSLOWSKY, THOMASCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/16/2018
LANCASTER, MARYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/29/2023
WIEBE, HENRYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/29/2018
CROCKER, HEATHERCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/31/2016
MUNGAI, PETERCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2016
CROCKER, HEATHEROPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/10/2016
DONAHUE, LISAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/20/2024
HAMM, JODIEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/20/2024
HAMM, MICHAELOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/20/2024
MUNGAI, PETEROPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2016
REEH, MICHAELOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/13/2025
WEBER, VIRGILENEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/20/2024
WILLIAMS, ANGELAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/20/2024
ZARAGOZA, ANGIEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/20/2024

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of SALEM HOSPITAL, INC. (enrollment ID O20050406001204).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
MICHAEL F REEHIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/13/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PETER MUNGAIIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing4/10/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SALEM HOSPITAL, INC.OrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/15/2021
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
No owner named in the filingIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/24/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/30/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DELAYNE HERBELIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing11/29/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HENRY WIEBEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing11/29/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JARED JOSTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing8/29/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LAURA ENSEYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing9/30/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARY LANCASTERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing6/29/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
THOMAS KOSLOWSKYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing9/16/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HEATHER CROCKERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing7/31/2016
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PETER MUNGAIIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing10/1/2016
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ANGELA WILLIAMSIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing12/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ANGIE ZARAGOZAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing12/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HEATHER CROCKERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing4/10/2016
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JODIE HAMMIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing12/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LISA DONAHUEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing12/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL F REEHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/13/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL HAMMIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing12/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PETER MUNGAIIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing10/1/2016
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
VIRGILENE WEBERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing12/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1June 10, 2026June 10, 202683
2August 7, 2024August 7, 202449
3December 13, 2022December 13, 202229

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

14 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
June 10, 2026HealthF 0554Resident Rights DeficienciesAllow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 15, 2026
June 10, 2026HealthF 0583Resident Rights DeficienciesKeep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 15, 2026
June 10, 2026HealthF 0677Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 15, 2026
June 10, 2026HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 15, 2026
June 10, 2026HealthF 0726Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 15, 2026
June 10, 2026HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 15, 2026
June 10, 2026HealthF 0814Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesDispose of garbage and refuse properly.CNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 15, 2026
June 10, 2026HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 15, 2026
August 7, 2024HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 13, 2024
August 7, 2024HealthF 0804Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 13, 2024
August 7, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 13, 2024
August 7, 2024HealthF 0851Administration DeficienciesElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 13, 2024
December 13, 2022HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 12, 2023
December 13, 2022HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.JNoPast Non-ComplianceAugust 15, 2022

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Other
Legal Business NameSALEM HOSPITAL, INC.
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2005-04-05
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishMarion
Telephone Number6209471429
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds45
Average Number of Residents per Day42.5
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating5
Long-Stay QM Rating5
Short-Stay QM Rating5
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on SALEM HOME: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On March 14, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for SALEM HOME

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Kansas at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Kansas

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 175484.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.