Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 175513

KANSAS SOLDIERS HOME

FORT DODGE, Kansas · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 56

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on November 28, 2025.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1443241, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2024, ended June 30, 2024

Cost report for July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 13, 2024.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1400905, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended June 30, 2023

Cost report for July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 16, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$6,601,567CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$309,423CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$6,910,990CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$10,360,988CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,449,998CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,415,526CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$34,472CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$364,336 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components56CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components17,611CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components84CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days74CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days229.61CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days209.65CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1371683, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended June 30, 2022

Cost report for July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 17, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,028,959CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$1,024,361CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$5,053,320CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,832,920CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,779,600CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,926,170CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$146,570CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$122,232 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components56CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,934CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components72CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days28CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days233.55CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days179.64CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1339929, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended June 30, 2021

Cost report for July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 20, 2022.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,194,296CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$491,091CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$5,685,387CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,480,798CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$2,795,411CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,555,261CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$759,850CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $537,310 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components56CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components14,650CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components105CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days158CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days201.85CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days139.52CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1309130, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended June 30, 2020

Cost report for July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 3, 2021.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,404,391CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$2,393,356CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$5,797,747CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,321,787CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$2,524,040CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$2,767,859CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$243,819CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$17,097 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components56CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components17,134CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components120CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days84.2CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days197.05CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days142.78CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1279578, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended June 30, 2019

Cost report for July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 29, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,925,109CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$5,925,109CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,677,555CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$2,752,446CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,356,667CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$604,221CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $603,931 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components56CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components19,104CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components92CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days79.71CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days452.11CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days207.65CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1250102, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended June 30, 2018

Cost report for July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 21, 2019.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,793,547CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,793,547CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,425,135CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,631,588CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,588,108CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$43,480CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$43,480 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components56CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components16,091CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components74CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days77.56CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days127.49CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days217.45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1220083, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended June 30, 2017

Cost report for July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 28, 2018.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,864,249CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,864,249CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,434,685CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,570,436CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$4,328,781CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$758,345CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $758,345 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components86CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components16,232CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components68CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days42.93CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days292CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days238.71CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1184479, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended June 30, 2016

Cost report for July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 18, 2017.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,674,134CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,674,134CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,574,835CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$4,900,701CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$7,034,157CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$2,133,456CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $2,133,456 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components86CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components19,127CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components88CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days34CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days221.31CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days217.35CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1155731, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended June 30, 2015

Cost report for July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 20, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,701,508CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,701,508CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,228,006CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$4,526,498CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$4,407,422CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$119,076CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$119,076 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components86CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components19,106CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components93CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days61.39CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days486CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days205.44CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1116862, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Fiscal year 2014, ended June 30, 2014

Cost report for July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 16, 2015.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,798,144CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,798,144CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,446,941CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,648,797CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$4,131,015CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$482,218CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $482,218 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components86CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components15,837CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components59CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days38.91CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days413.25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days268.42CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1088284, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2013.zip.

Fiscal year 2013, ended June 30, 2013

Cost report for July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 10, 2014.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2013
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,555,924CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,555,924CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,597,661CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,041,737CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,353,472CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$311,735CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $311,735 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2013
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components86CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components22,900CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components142CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days30.67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days223CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days161.27CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1056597, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2012.zip.

Fiscal year 2012, ended June 30, 2012

Cost report for July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 25, 2013.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2012
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,610,303CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,610,303CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,672,762CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,062,459CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,456,024CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$393,565CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $393,565 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2012
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components86CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components20,020CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days21.71CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days307.86CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days128.33CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1025146, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2011.zip.

Fiscal year 2011, ended June 30, 2011

Cost report for July 1, 2010 to June 30, 2011 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on May 11, 2012.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2011
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Net patient revenue$3,802,439CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,919,124CMS-2540-96 worksheet G200002 line 1500 column 200
Net income from service to patients−$4,116,685CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$4,540,300CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $423,615 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2011
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components86CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 100
Total patient days, all components19,867CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 700
Total discharges, all components74CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days52.85CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days734.25CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days268.47CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1600

CMS report record 428829, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2010.zip.

Fiscal year 2010, ended June 30, 2010

Cost report for September 17, 2009 to June 30, 2010 — a reporting period of 286 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on March 15, 2011.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2010
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Net patient revenue$2,225,399CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$5,497,649CMS-2540-96 worksheet G200002 line 1500 column 200
Net income from service to patients−$3,272,250CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,167,906CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$104,344 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2010
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components86CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 100
Total patient days, all components15,668CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 700
Total discharges, all components67CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days81.56CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days233.85CMS-2540-96 worksheet S300001 line 900 column 1600

CMS report record 395542, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2009.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
BEMISS, AMBERW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/08/2015
BURDEN, GREGGW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/08/2015

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of STATE OF KANSAS-ACCOUNTING SERVICES (enrollment ID O20090205000588).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
STATE OF KANSAS-ACCOUNTING SERVICESOrganizationOTHER1002/26/2009
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
AMBER BEMISSIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEENot stated in the filing7/8/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREGG BURDENIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEENot stated in the filing7/8/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

No change in ownership appears in the CMS files on record since September 20, 2022.

Recent changes on this record

  • November 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2025, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2024.zip
  • December 13, 2024: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2023.zip
  • January 16, 2024: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2023, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2022.zip
  • January 17, 2023: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2022, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2021.zip
  • January 20, 2022: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2021, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2020.zip
  • February 3, 2021: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2020, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2019.zip
  • January 29, 2020: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2019, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2018.zip
  • February 21, 2019: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2018, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2017.zip
  • February 28, 2018: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2017, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2016.zip
  • April 18, 2017: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2016, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2015.zip
  • January 20, 2016: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2015, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2014.zip
  • April 16, 2015: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2014, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2013.zip
  • March 10, 2014: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2013, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2012.zip
  • February 25, 2013: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2012, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2011.zip
  • May 11, 2012: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2011, on form CMS-2540-96. SNFFY2010.zip
  • March 15, 2011: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2010, on form CMS-2540-96. SNFFY2009.zip

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1August 7, 2025August 7, 2025125
2September 6, 2023September 6, 202398
3December 16, 2021December 16, 202142

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

25 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
August 7, 2025HealthF 0552Resident Rights DeficienciesEnsure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0604Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesEnsure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0605Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesPrevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.GNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0730Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesObserve each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.FYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0756Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0759Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0814Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesDispose of garbage and refuse properly.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
August 7, 2025HealthF 0881Infection Control DeficienciesImplement a program that monitors antibiotic use.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 29, 2025
September 6, 2023HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 13, 2023
September 6, 2023HealthF 0582Resident Rights DeficienciesGive residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.CNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 13, 2023
September 6, 2023HealthF 0636Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 13, 2023
September 6, 2023HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 13, 2023
September 6, 2023HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 13, 2023
September 6, 2023HealthF 0690Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 13, 2023
September 6, 2023HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 13, 2023
September 6, 2023HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 13, 2023
September 6, 2023HealthF 0917Environmental DeficienciesMake sure each resident has 1) at least one window to the outside in a room; 2) a room at or above ground level; 3) adequate bedding; 4) furniture that meets the resident's needs; or 5) adequate closet space.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 13, 2023
December 16, 2021HealthF 0640Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 28, 2022
December 16, 2021HealthF 0756Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 28, 2022
December 16, 2021HealthF 0758Pharmacy Service DeficienciesImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 28, 2022
December 16, 2021HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 28, 2022

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeGovernment - State
Legal Business NameSTATE OF KANSAS-ACCOUNTING SERVICES
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2009-09-17
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishFord
Telephone Number6202272121
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds56
Average Number of Residents per Day46.7
Overall Rating3
Health Inspection Rating2
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on KANSAS SOLDIERS HOME: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On November 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2025, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for KANSAS SOLDIERS HOME

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Kansas at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Kansas

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 175513.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.