Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 175526

FOWLER RESIDENTIAL CARE

FOWLER, Kansas · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 20

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 2 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $8,021.00 · Payment denials: 1. The most recent penalty on file: April 30, 2024, Fine, $8,021. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 30, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$1,643,565CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$1,643,565CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,399,068CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$755,503CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$759,969CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$4,466CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $4,290 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components20CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components7,320CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days84CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days3,058CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days3,183CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components6,325CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicaid discharges6CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges13CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components19CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days509.67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days332.89CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1420235, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 20, 2024.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1375264, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 17, 2023.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1347433, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021

Cost report for January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 22, 2022.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1326607, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended December 31, 2020

Cost report for January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 26, 2021.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1282890, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended December 31, 2019

Cost report for January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on November 16, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$952,519CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$952,519CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$1,547,459CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$594,940CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$610,853CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$15,913CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $15,733 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components24CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components4,860CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components8CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days8CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,916CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days607.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1273751, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended December 31, 2018

Cost report for January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on June 26, 2019.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$1,157,862CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$1,157,862CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$1,605,203CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$447,341CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$553,155CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$105,814CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $105,814 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components24CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components5,904CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components12CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days16CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days492CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1232400, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended December 31, 2017

Cost report for January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 19, 2018.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$1,205,487CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$1,205,487CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$1,519,854CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$314,367CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$452,920CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$138,553CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $138,345 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components24CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components6,401CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components9CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days46CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days898CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days711.22CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1200763, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended December 31, 2016

Cost report for January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 17, 2017.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$1,097,637CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$1,097,637CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$1,543,238CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$445,601CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$449,783CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$4,182CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $4,182 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components24CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components5,890CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components12CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days68.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days490.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1168448, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended December 31, 2015

Cost report for January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2015 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 25, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$1,245,509CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$1,245,509CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$1,593,775CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$348,266CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$456,556CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$108,290CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $108,290 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components24CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components7,086CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components35CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days48CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days162.67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days202.46CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1137655, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Fiscal year 2014, ended December 31, 2014

Cost report for January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 24, 2015.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$1,000,238CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$1,000,238CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$1,498,790CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$498,552CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$341,902CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$156,650CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$156,650 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components24CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components6,133CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components16CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days495.75CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days383.31CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1103268, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Fiscal year 2013, ended December 31, 2013

Cost report for January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 23, 2014.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2013
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$1,023,843CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$1,023,843CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$1,533,323CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$509,480CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$353,798CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$155,682CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$155,682 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2013
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components26CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components6,838CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components19CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days76.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days409.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days359.89CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1071652, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2013.zip.

Fiscal year 2012, ended December 31, 2012

Cost report for May 7, 2012 to December 31, 2012 — a reporting period of 238 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 23, 2013.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2012
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$741,189CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$741,189CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$1,011,602CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$270,413CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$165,943CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$104,470CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$104,470 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2012
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components24CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components5,067CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components9CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days68.33CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days846.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days563CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1042116, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2012.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
BENTON, GILBERTADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/17/2014
FOWLER HOSPITAL DISTRICTADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/07/2012
KNOTT, CHERYLADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/20/2015
MCDOWELL, KARENADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/16/2025
MILFORD, KEVINADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/20/2015
MILFORD, PAMADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/17/2020
NORMAN, GREGGADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/16/2025
SCHOWENGERDT, ANDREWADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/07/2022
WHITNEY, BARBARAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/15/2015
MILFORD, KEVINCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/09/2014
KNOTT, CHERYLCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/09/2014
KNOTT, CHERYLMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/20/2015
MCDOWELL, KARENMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/16/2025
MILFORD, KEVINMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/20/2015
MILFORD, PAMMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/16/2025
BENTON, GILBERTOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/17/2014
FOWLER HOSPITAL DISTRICTOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/07/2012
KNOTT, CHERYLOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/20/2015
MCDOWELL, KARENOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/16/2025
MILFORD, KEVINOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/20/2015
MILFORD, PAMOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/16/2025
NORMAN, GREGGOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/16/2025
SCHOWENGERDT, ANDREWOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/07/2022
WHITNEY, BARBARAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/15/2015

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of FOWLER HOSPITAL DISTRICT (enrollment ID O20120424000510).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
ANDREW W SCHOWENGERDTIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/7/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BARBARA WHITNEYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/15/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHERYL A KNOTTIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/20/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FOWLER HOSPITAL DISTRICTOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/7/2012
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
GILBERT BENTONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing4/17/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREGG NORMANIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/16/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KAREN MCDOWELLIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/16/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KEVIN A MILFORDIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/20/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PAM MILFORDIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/17/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KEVIN A MILFORDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing5/9/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHERYL A KNOTTIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing5/9/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHERYL A KNOTTIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing5/20/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KAREN MCDOWELLIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing5/16/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KEVIN A MILFORDIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing5/20/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PAM MILFORDIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing5/16/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ANDREW W SCHOWENGERDTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/7/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BARBARA WHITNEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing8/15/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHERYL A KNOTTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/20/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FOWLER HOSPITAL DISTRICTOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/7/2012
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
GILBERT BENTONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing4/17/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREGG NORMANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/16/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KAREN MCDOWELLIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/16/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KEVIN A MILFORDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/20/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PAM MILFORDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/16/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1February 26, 2025February 26, 202522
2May 10, 2023May 10, 202321
3August 30, 2021August 30, 202152

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

9 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
February 26, 2025HealthF 0582Resident Rights DeficienciesGive residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 21, 2025
February 26, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 21, 2025
April 30, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.JYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 23, 2024
May 10, 2023HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 22, 2023
May 10, 2023HealthF 0919Environmental DeficienciesMake sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 22, 2023
August 30, 2021HealthF 0756Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 8, 2021
August 30, 2021HealthF 0758Pharmacy Service DeficienciesImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 8, 2021
August 30, 2021HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 8, 2021
August 30, 2021HealthF 0882Infection Control DeficienciesDesignate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.CNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 8, 2021

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
April 30, 2024Fine$8,02182332
April 30, 2024Payment DenialMay 17, 20246

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeGovernment - Hospital district
Legal Business NameFOWLER HOSPITAL DISTRICT
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2012-05-07
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishMeade
Telephone Number6206465215
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilNone
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds20
Average Number of Residents per Day15.6
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on FOWLER RESIDENTIAL CARE: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On April 30, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for FOWLER RESIDENTIAL CARE

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Kansas at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Kansas

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 175526.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.