Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 175554
CITIZENS MEDICAL CENTER LTCU
COLBY, Kansas · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 60
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $17,124.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: June 5, 2024, Fine, $17,124. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MCCORKLE, DAVID | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/31/2022 |
| STOVER, PHILIP | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/10/2019 |
| CITIZENS MEDICAL CENTER INC | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/16/2015 |
| MCCORKLE, DAVID | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/31/2022 |
| STOVER, PHILIP | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/10/2019 |
| DIXON, HEATHER | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/09/2013 |
| MCCORKLE, DAVID | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/31/2022 |
| STOVER, PHILIP | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/10/2019 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of CITIZENS MEDICAL CENTER INC (enrollment ID O20160323000122).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAVID MCCORKLE | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 3/31/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PHILIP R STOVER | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 6/10/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CITIZENS MEDICAL CENTER INC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100 | 2/16/2015 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| DAVID MCCORKLE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 3/31/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PHILIP R STOVER | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 6/10/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DAVID MCCORKLE | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 3/31/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| HEATHER DIXON | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 12/9/2013 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PHILIP R STOVER | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 6/10/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- November 30, 2022: PHILIP R STOVER (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since June 10, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: PHILIP R STOVER (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since June 10, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: PHILIP R STOVER (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since June 10, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
Recent changes on this record
- July 8, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0684, scope and severity D. NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv
- July 8, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0628, scope and severity D. NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv
- July 8, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0605, scope and severity D. NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv
- July 8, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0607, scope and severity E. NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv
- July 8, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0730, scope and severity F. NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv
- July 8, 2026: An inspection was recorded in inspection cycle 1. NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv
- November 30, 2022: PHILIP R STOVER (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since June 10, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: PHILIP R STOVER (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since June 10, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: PHILIP R STOVER (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since June 10, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | July 8, 2026 | July 8, 2026 | 5 | 10 |
| 2 | August 7, 2024 | August 7, 2024 | 7 | 9 |
| 3 | October 13, 2022 | October 13, 2022 | 6 | 7 |
| 3 | August 19, 2021 | August 19, 2021 | 5 | 1 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
22 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 8, 2026 | Health | F 0605 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 15, 2026 |
| July 8, 2026 | Health | F 0607 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 29, 2026 |
| July 8, 2026 | Health | F 0628 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 29, 2026 |
| July 8, 2026 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 29, 2026 |
| July 8, 2026 | Health | F 0730 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 29, 2026 |
| August 7, 2024 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 16, 2024 |
| August 7, 2024 | Health | F 0661 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 16, 2024 |
| August 7, 2024 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 16, 2024 |
| August 7, 2024 | Health | F 0686 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 16, 2024 |
| August 7, 2024 | Health | F 0756 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 16, 2024 |
| August 7, 2024 | Health | F 0757 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 16, 2024 |
| August 7, 2024 | Health | F 0758 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 16, 2024 |
| June 5, 2024 | Health | F 0695 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed. | J | Yes | Past Non-Compliance | May 31, 2024 |
| October 13, 2022 | Health | F 0550 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2022 |
| October 13, 2022 | Health | F 0609 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2022 |
| October 13, 2022 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2022 |
| October 13, 2022 | Health | F 0690 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2022 |
| October 13, 2022 | Health | F 0692 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health. | G | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2022 |
| August 19, 2021 | Health | F 0582 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 30, 2021 |
| August 19, 2021 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 30, 2021 |
| August 19, 2021 | Health | F 0756 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 30, 2021 |
| August 19, 2021 | Health | F 0758 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 30, 2021 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
| Penalty date | Type | Fine amount | Payment denial began | Payment denial, days | Fine ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 5, 2024 | Fine | $17,124 | 82381 |
From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Non profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | CITIZENS MEDICAL CENTER INC |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 2017-01-19 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | Y |
| Urban | N |
| County/Parish | Thomas |
| Telephone Number | 7854628295 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Both |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 60 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 43.1 |
| Overall Rating | 5 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 4 |
| QM Rating | 4 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 4 |
| Short-Stay QM Rating | 5 |
| Processing Date | 2026-08-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on CITIZENS MEDICAL CENTER LTCU: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On July 8, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0684, scope and severity D. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for CITIZENS MEDICAL CENTER LTCU
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Kansas at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Kansas
- ONEOK - COLLYER PUMP STATION (HYDROSTATIC TEST), COLLYER Water discharge permit
- OLPE 300 L SCC HYDROTEST (ID 12256), OLPE Water discharge permit
- CLEANING AND PASSIVATION - COOLING WATER PIPING, DESOTO Water discharge permit
- MAGELLAN PIPELINE COMPANY / EL DORADO - HUMBOLDT#1-8, MP-78.82 HDD, HUMBOLDT Water discharge permit
- CV 175, COFFEYVILLE Water discharge permit
- SOUTHERN STAR CENTRAL GAS PIPELINE - C0006549 LINE E RECONFIRMATION, LAWRENCE Water discharge permit
- BOYER TO EL DORADO WEST PIPELINE PROJECT, EL DORADO Water discharge permit
- MAVERIK CONVIENIENCE STORE 0469, GARDEN CITY Water discharge permit
- TRIPLE M STEEL INC, MARIENTHAL Air emission source
- HAUPT CONST AIR CURTAIN INCINERATOR (AIR), SPRING HILL Air emission source
- HEAD, INC. TEMPORARY ASPHALT PLANT - TOPEKA (AIR), TOPEKA Air emission source
- ANDALE READY MIX - MILAN (PORTABLE)(AIR), MILAN Air emission source
- BETTIS ASPHALT - BAC - PP4 (AIR), TOPEKA Air emission source
- EMERY SAPP-NORTH CONCRETE PLANT (AIR), LAWRENCE Air emission source
- HAUPT CONST AIR CURTAIN INCINERATOR (AIR), SPRING HILL Air emission source
- HEAD, INC. - TOPEKA (ASPHALT) (AIR), TOPEKA Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 175554.