Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 175568

SOUTHWIND AT SPEARVILLE

SPEARVILLE, Kansas · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 28

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 30, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$1,607,776CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$1,607,776CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,367,655CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$759,879CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$668,809CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$91,070CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$91,070 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components14CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components5,124CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days181CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days1,645CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days3,175CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components5,001CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges1CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges7CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges17CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days181CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days235CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days200.04CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1420239, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 25, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$1,127,921CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$37,853CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$1,090,068CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$2,127,909CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$1,037,841CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$808,382CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$229,459CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$229,459 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components14CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components3,665CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components21CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days74.6CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days323.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days174.52CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1390287, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for September 7, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 115 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 14, 2023.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1358846, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
HUMKE, MEGANADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/13/2025
STRUNK, CLARAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/13/2025
STEIN, LORIECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2019
TASSET, KELLYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2019
TEMANT, RONALDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2019
HUMKE, MEGANCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2024
STEIN, LORIEMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2019
TASSET, KELLYMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2019
TEMANT, RONALDMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2019
HUMKE, MEGANOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2024

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of SPEARVILLE SENIOR LIVING INC (enrollment ID O20210916000656).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
CLARA R STRUNKIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/13/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MEGAN HUMKEIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/13/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KELLY TASSETIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LORIE STEINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RONALD TEMANTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MEGAN HUMKEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER1007/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KELLY TASSETIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LORIE STEINIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RONALD TEMANTIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MEGAN HUMKEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1January 29, 2026January 29, 2026712
2March 27, 2024March 27, 2024610
3June 23, 2022June 23, 202202

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

13 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
January 29, 2026HealthF 0578Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 11, 2026
January 29, 2026HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 11, 2026
January 29, 2026HealthF 0691Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate colostomy, urostomy, or ileostomy care/services for a resident who requires such services.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 11, 2026
January 29, 2026HealthF 0760Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure that residents are free from significant medication errors.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 11, 2026
January 29, 2026HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 11, 2026
January 29, 2026HealthF 0847Administration DeficienciesInform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 11, 2026
January 29, 2026HealthF 0848Administration DeficienciesProvide a neutral and fair arbitration process and agree to arbitrator and venue.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 11, 2026
March 27, 2024HealthF 0606Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesNot hire anyone with a finding of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or theft.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 1, 2024
March 27, 2024HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 1, 2024
March 27, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 1, 2024
March 27, 2024HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 1, 2024
March 27, 2024HealthF 0730Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesObserve each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 1, 2024
March 27, 2024HealthF 0851Administration DeficienciesElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 1, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Other
Legal Business NameSPEARVILLE SENIOR LIVING INC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2022-09-07
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishFord
Telephone Number6203852161
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds28
Average Number of Residents per Day23.8
Overall Rating4
Health Inspection Rating3
QM Rating4
Long-Stay QM Rating4
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on SOUTHWIND AT SPEARVILLE: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On April 30, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for SOUTHWIND AT SPEARVILLE

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Kansas at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Kansas

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 175568.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.