Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 185472

Joseph Eddie Ballard Western Kentucky Veterans Cen

Hanson, Kentucky · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 156

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 8, 2026.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2025
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,739,405CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$11,231,636CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$16,971,041CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$22,823,324CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$5,852,283CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$7,269,748CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$1,417,465CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $1,417,468 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2025
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components56,940CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days294CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days11,697CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days17,357CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components29,348CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges2CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges12CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges20CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components34CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days147CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days974.75CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days863.18CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1446180, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2024, ended June 30, 2024

Cost report for July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 31, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,960,864CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$8,487,720CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$13,448,584CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$20,601,569CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$7,152,985CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$5,927,789CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$1,225,196CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$1,225,196 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components24,338CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days28.17CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,696CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days540.84CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1401718, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended June 30, 2023

Cost report for July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 16, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,178,589CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$6,772,333CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$10,950,922CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,089,449CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$4,138,527CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$5,203,909CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$1,065,382CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $1,065,382 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components19,493CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,136.57CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days779.72CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1371503, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended June 30, 2022

Cost report for July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 29, 2022.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,677,301CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$4,907,007CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$9,584,308CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,537,004CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$5,952,696CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$4,667,941CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$1,284,755CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$1,284,755 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components21,518CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components44CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days140.25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days291.69CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days489.05CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1339167, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended June 30, 2021

Cost report for July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 16, 2021.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,230,170CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$6,349,845CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$11,580,015CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$16,158,771CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$4,578,756CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$4,760,575CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$181,819CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $181,819 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components25,816CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components40CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days261CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days785.54CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days645.4CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1307350, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended June 30, 2020

Cost report for July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 1, 2021.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$6,214,554CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$6,710,465CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$12,925,019CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$16,665,988CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,740,969CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,720,388CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$20,581CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$20,581 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components31,838CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components36CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days143.33CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days969.67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days884.39CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1279357, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended June 30, 2019

Cost report for July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 6, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$12,040,021CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$9,101CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$12,030,920CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$16,839,210CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$4,808,290CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$4,759,153CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$49,137CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$49,137 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components31,832CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components42CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days444.67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days899.17CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days757.9CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1251977, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended June 30, 2018

Cost report for July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 27, 2018.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$11,926,849CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$158,520CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$11,768,329CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,492,286CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,723,957CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$11,250CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$3,712,707CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$3,712,707 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components34,025CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components57CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days96.43CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,063CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days596.93CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1217070, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended June 30, 2017

Cost report for July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on June 27, 2018.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$12,358,668CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$1,727,785CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$14,086,453CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$16,027,154CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$1,940,701CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$16,797CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$1,923,904CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$1,923,904 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components38,168CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components74CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days65.59CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days835.75CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days515.78CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1196245, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended June 30, 2016

Cost report for July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 29, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$13,063,875CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$1,439,900CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$14,503,775CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,906,853CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$1,403,078CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$18,296CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$1,384,782CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$1,384,782 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components42,529CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components68CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days159.86CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days899.33CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days625.43CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1150357, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended June 30, 2015

Cost report for July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 30, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$13,069,028CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$1,102,745CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$14,171,773CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,724,367CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$1,552,594CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$9,486CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$1,543,108CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$1,543,108 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components156CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components40,711CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components66CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days95.56CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,070.71CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days616.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1143352, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Fiscal year 2014, ended June 30, 2014

Cost report for December 19, 2013 to June 30, 2014 — a reporting period of 193 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 14, 2015.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1084142, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
BURGETT, KATIEADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/26/2021
SCOTT, LADONNAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/14/2007
TACKETT, MARKADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/01/2017
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKYDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2002
BURGETT, KATIEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/16/2021
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/16/2012
SCOTT, LADONNAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/14/2007
SCOTT, LADONNATRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/14/2007

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY (enrollment ID O20120807000662).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKYOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1003/1/2002
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
KATIE BURGETTIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/26/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LADONNA SCOTTIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/14/2007
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK A TACKETTIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKYOrganizationDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1003/1/2002
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKYOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing4/16/2012
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
KATIE BURGETTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing2/16/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LADONNA SCOTTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/14/2007
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LADONNA SCOTTIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/14/2007
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1February 12, 2026February 12, 202604
2October 16, 2024October 16, 202402
3August 21, 2019August 21, 201920

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

2 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
August 21, 2019HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 30, 2019
August 21, 2019HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 30, 2019

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeGovernment - State
Legal Business NameCOMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2013-12-19
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishHopkins
Telephone Number2703229087
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilBoth
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds156
Average Number of Residents per Day81.4
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating5
QM Rating4
Long-Stay QM Rating4
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on Joseph Eddie Ballard Western Kentucky Veterans Cen: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On January 8, 2026: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2025, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for Joseph Eddie Ballard Western Kentucky Veterans Cen

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Kentucky at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Kentucky

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 185472.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.