Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 195636

THE GARDENS AND GUARDIAN

LAKE CHARLES, Louisiana · Medicare

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 60

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 1. The most recent penalty on file: March 5, 2025, Payment Denial. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 6, 2026.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$7,163,219CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$693,045CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$7,856,264CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,538,317CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$317,947CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$12,866CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$330,813CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $330,813 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components21,960CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days6,605CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Other-payer patient days7,514CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components14,119CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges158CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Other-payer discharges85CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components243CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days41.8CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days58.1CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1448980, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 29, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$6,824,376CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$775,048CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$7,599,424CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,383,510CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$215,914CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$9,592CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$225,506CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $225,506 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components14,560CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components252CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days39.82CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days57.78CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1436948, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 25, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 340 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 7, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,615,318CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts−$426,176CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$5,041,494CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$5,784,254CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$742,760CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income−$3,080CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$745,840CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$745,840 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components8,825CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components135CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days40.14CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days65.37CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1361218, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended November 22, 2020

Cost report for January 1, 2020 to November 22, 2020 — a reporting period of 326 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 20, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,855,828CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$533,486CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,322,342CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,014,026CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$691,684CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,578,906CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$887,222CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $887,222 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components7,250CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components144CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days38.2CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days50.35CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1342734, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended December 31, 2019

Cost report for January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 10, 2022.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,431,524CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$341,908CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$5,089,616CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$5,548,249CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$458,633CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$3,429CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$455,204CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$455,134 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,679CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components199CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days52.71CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days63.71CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1315688, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended December 31, 2018

Cost report for September 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018 — a reporting period of 121 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 8, 2019.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$1,568,207CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$7,841CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$1,560,366CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$1,926,916CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$366,550CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,841CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$364,709CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$364,709 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components4,198CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components37CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days54.32CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days113.46CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1240052, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended December 31, 2017

Cost report for January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 17, 2018.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,366,968CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,366,968CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,855,499CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$488,531CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$549,076CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$60,545CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $60,545 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components13,086CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components110CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days63.36CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days118.96CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1211809, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended December 31, 2016

Cost report for January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 17, 2017.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,535,778CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,535,778CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,590,857CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$55,079CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$384,718CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$329,639CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $329,639 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components15,106CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components130CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days50.68CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days116.2CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1173642, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended August 31, 2015

Cost report for January 1, 2015 to August 31, 2015 — a reporting period of 242 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 29, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,269,124CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$506,467CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,762,657CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$1,676,350CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$2,086,307CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$15,552CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$2,101,859CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $2,101,859 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components11,766CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components77CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days59.96CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days152.81CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1142879, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Fiscal year 2014, ended December 31, 2014

Cost report for January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on November 4, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,968,239CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$672,926CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,295,313CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,160,232CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$135,081CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$15,286CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$150,367CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $150,367 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components14,543CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components111CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days44.28CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days131.02CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1145935, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Fiscal year 2013, ended December 31, 2013

Cost report for January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 8, 2015.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2013
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,276,015CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$854,874CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,421,141CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,230,756CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$190,385CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$2,159CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$192,544CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $192,544 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2013
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components14,575CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components133CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days46.28CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days109.59CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1114109, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2013.zip.

Fiscal year 2012, ended December 31, 2012

Cost report for March 21, 2012 to December 31, 2012 — a reporting period of 285 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on November 25, 2014.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2012
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,765,410CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$541,050CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,224,360CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$3,272,179CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$47,819CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$251,464CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$203,645CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $203,645 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2012
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components60CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,823CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components102CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days64.85CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days125.72CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1080930, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2012.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
JOUBERT, JAMES5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividual50%since 09/01/2018
JOUBERT, KIMBERLY5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividual50%since 09/01/2018
JOUBERT, JAMESCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2018
WILCOXON, JUSTINW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2018

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of JKJ OPCO LLC (enrollment ID O20181005001881).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
JAMES JOUBERTIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST509/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KIMBERLY JOUBERTIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST509/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES JOUBERTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing9/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JUSTIN REED WILCOXONIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEENot stated in the filing9/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

No change in ownership appears in the CMS files on record since September 20, 2022.

Recent changes on this record

  • September 1, 2026: provider_name: The Gardens and Guardian (capital letters changed). NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv
  • July 21, 2026: An inspection was recorded in inspection cycle 1. NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv
  • May 6, 2026: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2024.zip
  • August 29, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2023, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2023.zip
  • August 7, 2023: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2022, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2022.zip
  • February 20, 2023: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2020, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2020.zip
  • May 10, 2022: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2019, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2019.zip
  • August 8, 2019: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2018, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2018.zip
  • March 21, 2019: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2018, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2018.zip
  • September 17, 2018: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2017, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2017.zip
  • August 17, 2017: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2016, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2016.zip
  • November 4, 2016: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2014, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2014.zip
  • August 29, 2016: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2015, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2015.zip
  • July 25, 2016: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2015, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2015.zip
  • December 8, 2015: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2013, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2013.zip
  • November 25, 2014: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2012, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2012.zip

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1July 21, 2026July 21, 202600
2July 10, 2024July 10, 202430
3June 21, 2023June 21, 202370
3June 29, 2022June 29, 202290

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

14 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
March 5, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 28, 2025
July 10, 2024HealthF 0578Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 24, 2024
July 10, 2024HealthF 0640Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 24, 2024
January 23, 2024HealthF 0641Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 8, 2024
January 23, 2024HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 8, 2024
January 23, 2024HealthF 0755Pharmacy Service DeficienciesProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 8, 2024
January 23, 2024HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 8, 2024
January 23, 2024HealthF 0867Administration DeficienciesSet up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 8, 2024
June 21, 2023HealthF 0641Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 3, 2023
June 21, 2023HealthF 0755Pharmacy Service DeficienciesProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 3, 2023
June 29, 2022HealthF 0692Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 12, 2022
June 29, 2022HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.CNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 12, 2022
June 29, 2022HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 12, 2022
June 29, 2022HealthF 0947Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 12, 2022

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
March 5, 2025Payment DenialMarch 27, 20251

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare
Ownership TypeFor profit - Limited Liability company
Legal Business NameJKJ OPCO LLC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2012-03-21
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishCalcasieu
Telephone Number3374801550
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds60
Average Number of Residents per Day42.5
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating5
QM Rating2
Long-Stay QM Rating1
Short-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on THE GARDENS AND GUARDIAN: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On September 1, 2026: provider_name: The Gardens and Guardian (capital letters changed). That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for THE GARDENS AND GUARDIAN

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Louisiana at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Louisiana

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 195636.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.