Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 205018
AROOSTOOK HEALTH CENTER
MARS HILL, Maine · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 66
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOBSON, SAMUEL | CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/30/2023 |
| BELL, CAROL | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/02/2012 |
| DUNCAN, RICHARD | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/18/2016 |
| HERWEH, JOHN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/08/2018 |
| JOHNSON, HOLLY | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/07/2013 |
| ROARK, DEBORAH | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/06/2020 |
| ST PIERRE, STEVE | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/02/2012 |
| THOMPSON, BRYAN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/06/2020 |
| TOWLE, JANE | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/16/2017 |
| WILCOX, MARK | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 02/08/2018 |
| DOBSON, SAMUEL | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/30/2023 |
| DENTRY, TIMOTHY | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/01/2019 |
| EASTERN MAINE HEALTHCARE SERVICES | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/01/1987 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of THE AROOSTOOK MEDICAL CENTER (enrollment ID O20150303000464).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAMUEL J DOBSON | Individual | CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE | 100 | 7/30/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| BRYAN THOMPSON | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/6/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CAROL S BELL | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/2/2012 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DEBORAH ROARK | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/6/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| HOLLY JOHNSON | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/7/2013 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JANE TOWLE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/16/2017 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JOHN HERWEH | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/8/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MARK WILCOX | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/8/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| RICHARD DUNCAN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/18/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| STEVE ST PIERRE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 2/2/2012 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| SAMUEL J DOBSON | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 7/30/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| EASTERN MAINE HEALTHCARE SERVICES | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100 | 6/1/1987 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| TIMOTHY J DENTRY | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100 | 7/1/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- November 1, 2023: MAURA C KELLY no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-11-01.csv
- November 1, 2023: MAURA C KELLY no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-11-01.csv
- September 15, 2023: SAMUEL J DOBSON (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since July 30, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: SAMUEL J DOBSON (CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since July 30, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
Recent changes on this record
- November 1, 2023: MAURA C KELLY no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-11-01.csv
- November 1, 2023: MAURA C KELLY no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-11-01.csv
- September 15, 2023: SAMUEL J DOBSON (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since July 30, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: SAMUEL J DOBSON (CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since July 30, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | December 17, 2025 | December 17, 2025 | 15 | 7 |
| 2 | October 17, 2024 | October 17, 2024 | 10 | 0 |
| 3 | September 21, 2023 | September 21, 2023 | 6 | 6 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
31 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0550 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0578 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 29, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0584 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0628 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0730 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0756 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0757 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0881 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 29, 2026 |
| December 17, 2025 | Health | F 0882 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Designate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | January 28, 2026 |
| October 17, 2024 | Health | F 0550 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 27, 2024 |
| October 17, 2024 | Health | F 0645 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 1, 2024 |
| October 17, 2024 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 13, 2024 |
| October 17, 2024 | Health | F 0699 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 13, 2024 |
| October 17, 2024 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 6, 2024 |
| October 17, 2024 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 27, 2024 |
| October 17, 2024 | Health | F 0842 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 30, 2024 |
| October 17, 2024 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 27, 2024 |
| October 17, 2024 | Health | F 0883 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 30, 2024 |
| October 3, 2024 | Health | F 0677 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2024 |
| September 21, 2023 | Health | F 0677 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2023 |
| September 21, 2023 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2023 |
| September 21, 2023 | Health | F 0688 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2023 |
| September 21, 2023 | Health | F 0756 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2023 |
| September 21, 2023 | Health | F 0758 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2023 |
| September 21, 2023 | Health | F 0811 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Ensure that residents are assessed for appropriateness for a feeding assistant program, receive services as per their plan of care, and feeding assistants are trained and supervised. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 5, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | For profit - Limited Liability company |
| Legal Business Name | THE AROOSTOOK MEDICAL CENTER |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1967-01-04 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | N |
| County/Parish | Aroostook |
| Telephone Number | 2077684915 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 66 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 47.9 |
| Overall Rating | 1 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 1 |
| QM Rating | 1 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 1 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on AROOSTOOK HEALTH CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On November 1, 2023: MAURA C KELLY no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for AROOSTOOK HEALTH CENTER
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Maine at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Maine
- DAAQUAM LUMBER MAINE INC, MASARDIS Water discharge permit
- PWD-NORTH WINDHAM WWTF, WINDHAM Water discharge permit
- BRUNSWICK & TOPSHAM WATER DISTRICT, BRUNSWICK Water discharge permit
- WATERSHED CENTER FOR CERAMIC ARTS, EDGECOMB Water discharge permit
- SUBSURFACE WASTEWATER TRTMNT DISCHARGE, BRIDGTON Water discharge permit
- PENOBSCOT MCCRUMB LLC, WASHBURN Water discharge permit
- CIRCLE K, STANDISH Water discharge permit
- JASPER WYMAN & SON, DEBLOIS Water discharge permit
- SOUTHPORT YACHTS, LLC, GARDINER Air emission source
- WEED PRECAST LLC, ALFRED Air emission source
- MARK RIPOSTA, SEARSPORT Air emission source
- CONSOLIDATED COMMUNICATIONS, SANFORD Air emission source
- CARROLL MATERIALS, LLC, LIMERICK Air emission source
- GORHAM SAND & GRAVEL, INC., ALFRED Air emission source
- GORHAM SAND & GRAVEL, INC., ALFRED Air emission source
- GORHAM SAND & GRAVEL, INC., STANDISH Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 205018.