Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 205149

Katahdin Health Care LLC

Millinocket, Maine · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 36

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 29, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$6,002,746CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$1,409,481CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,593,265CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,476,106CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$117,159CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$206,521CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$323,680CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $323,680 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components36CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components13,176CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days232CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days11,100CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days1,549CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components12,881CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges4CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges50CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges8CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components62CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days58CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days222CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days207.76CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1438465, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 27, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,298,299CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$935,703CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,362,596CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,507,739CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$145,143CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$139,780CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$5,363CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$5,363 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components36CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,204CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components29CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days55.22CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days862.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days420.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1393164, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 1, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,582,880CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$881,191CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,701,689CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,201,611CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$499,922CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$438,703CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$61,219CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$61,219 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components36CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components11,790CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components36CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days64.89CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days717.14CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days327.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1360557, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021

Cost report for January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 19, 2022.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,012,162CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$1,004,594CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,007,568CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$3,431,419CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$423,851CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$572,106CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$148,255CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $148,255 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components36CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components10,245CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days96.83CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days665.92CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days409.8CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1332728, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended December 31, 2020

Cost report for January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on October 27, 2021.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,771,913CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$1,262,042CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,509,871CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$3,414,688CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$95,183CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$80,177CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$175,360CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $175,360 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components36CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,373CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components19CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days97.33CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days758.79CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days651.21CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1303221, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended December 31, 2019

Cost report for January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 6, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,691,869CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$1,291,910CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,399,959CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$3,258,093CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$141,866CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$1,427CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$143,293CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $143,293 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components36CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,544CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components30CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days56.67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days862.92CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days418.13CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1262706, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended December 31, 2018

Cost report for January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 2, 2019.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1239285, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended December 31, 2017

Cost report for January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 30, 2018.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1211081, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended December 31, 2016

Cost report for January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 15, 2017.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1173359, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended December 31, 2015

Cost report for January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2015 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 9, 2016.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1140296, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Fiscal year 2014, ended December 31, 2014

Cost report for January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 13, 2015.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1107894, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Fiscal year 2013, ended December 31, 2013

Cost report for January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2013 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 1, 2014.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1074622, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2013.zip.

Fiscal year 2012, ended December 31, 2012

Cost report for January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on June 26, 2013.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1039427, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2012.zip.

Fiscal year 2011, ended December 31, 2011

Cost report for January 1, 2011 to December 31, 2011 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 26, 2012.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1012237, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2011.zip.

Fiscal year 2010, ended December 31, 2010

Cost report for July 1, 2010 to December 31, 2010 — a reporting period of 183 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on July 19, 2011.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 409611, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2010.zip.

Fiscal year 2009, ended November 30, 2009

Cost report for July 1, 2009 to November 30, 2009 — a reporting period of 152 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on August 30, 2010.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 386691, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2009.zip.

Fiscal year 2008, ended June 30, 2008

Cost report for July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on December 1, 2008.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 329206, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2007.zip.

Fiscal year 2007, ended June 30, 2007

Cost report for July 1, 2006 to June 30, 2007 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on January 24, 2008.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 301002, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2006.zip.

Fiscal year 2006, ended June 30, 2006

Cost report for July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on October 16, 2007.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 294624, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2005.zip.

Fiscal year 2005, ended June 30, 2005

Cost report for July 1, 2004 to June 30, 2005 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on February 21, 2006.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 243256, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2004.zip.

Fiscal year 2004, ended June 30, 2004

Cost report for July 1, 2003 to June 30, 2004 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on December 27, 2004.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 203499, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2003.zip.

Fiscal year 2003, ended June 30, 2003

Cost report for July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2003 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on December 20, 2004.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 202982, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2002.zip.

Fiscal year 2002, ended June 30, 2002

Cost report for July 1, 2001 to June 30, 2002 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on April 7, 2003.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 142437, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2001.zip.

Fiscal year 2001, ended June 30, 2001

Cost report for July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2001 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, settled, processed by CMS on June 10, 2003.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 147883, read from the public cost report file SNFFY2000.zip.

Fiscal year 2000, ended June 30, 2000

Cost report for July 1, 1999 to June 30, 2000 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-96, as submitted, processed by CMS on December 19, 2000.

Net income: $57,160 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

CMS report record 22670, read from the public cost report file SNFFY1999.zip.

Fiscal year 1999, ended June 30, 1999

Cost report for July 1, 1998 to June 30, 1999 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-96, as submitted, processed by CMS on March 8, 2000.

Net income: $45,004 (CMS-2540-96 worksheet G300000 line 3200 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 5 plus 26 less 31) on 192,460 of the 192,462 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-96 in publication years 1995-2012 that file every line it is computed from (99.99%); on 2 of them the filed figure and that arithmetic differ, by a median of $46,907, and those figures are not shown. A further 2,252 reports file net income without filing net income from service to patients (Worksheet G-3 line 5), so the arithmetic cannot be applied to them and their figure is shown as filed.

CMS report record 22669, read from the public cost report file SNFFY1998.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
BERNARD, KIMBERLYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024
BOWDEN, KENNETHADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2019
BROWN, JENNIFERADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
COFFIN, CRAIGADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2019
FIRST ATLANTIC CORPORATIONADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2019
FIRST ATLANTIC HEALTHCARE INCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/23/2025
IDENBURG, ALEXANDRAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2021
OTIS-HIGGINS, ANDREAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/11/2015
PELKEY, WANDAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024
RIENDEAU, CHRISTINEADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024
BERNARD, KIMBERLYCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024
OTIS-HIGGINS, ANDREACORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/11/2015
PELKEY, WANDACORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024
RIENDEAU, CHRISTINECORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024
FIRST ATLANTIC CORPORATIONDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/30/2019
BERNARD, KIMBERLYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024
BROWN, JENNIFEROPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
FIRST ATLANTIC HEALTHCARE INCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2009
IDENBURG, ALEXANDRAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2021
OTIS-HIGGINS, ANDREAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/11/2015
PELKEY, WANDAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024
RIENDEAU, CHRISTINEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024
COFFIN, CRAIGTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/01/2024

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of KATAHDIN HEALTH CARE LLC (enrollment ID O20090916000136).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
EASTERN MAINE MEDICAL CENTEROrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST5010/1/2018
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
FIRST ATLANTIC CORPORATIONOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST509/1/2009
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CRAIG G COFFINIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST66.676/30/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KENNETH W BOWDENIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST33.336/30/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ALEXANDRA ME IDENBURGIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing11/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ANDREA OTIS-HIGGINSIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/11/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHRISTINE RIENDEAUIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing10/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRAIG G COFFINIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/30/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FIRST ATLANTIC CORPORATIONOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/30/2019
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
FIRST ATLANTIC HEALTHCARE INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/23/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
JENNIFER BROWNIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing9/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KENNETH W BOWDENIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/30/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KIMBERLY BERNARDIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing10/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WANDA PELKEYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing10/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ANDREA OTIS-HIGGINSIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER1005/11/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHRISTINE RIENDEAUIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER10010/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KIMBERLY BERNARDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER10010/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WANDA PELKEYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER10010/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FIRST ATLANTIC CORPORATIONOrganizationDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST506/30/2019
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ALEXANDRA ME IDENBURGIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing11/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ANDREA OTIS-HIGGINSIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/11/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHRISTINE RIENDEAUIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing10/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FIRST ATLANTIC HEALTHCARE INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing9/1/2009
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
JENNIFER BROWNIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing9/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KIMBERLY BERNARDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing10/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WANDA PELKEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing10/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRAIG G COFFINIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing10/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1March 18, 2026March 18, 202623
2February 12, 2025February 12, 2025125
3March 13, 2024March 13, 202461

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

20 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
March 18, 2026HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 13, 2026
March 18, 2026HealthF 0756Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 31, 2026
February 12, 2025HealthF 0655Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admittedENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 29, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 29, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 29, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 29, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 29, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0711Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure the resident's doctor reviews the resident's care, writes, signs and dates progress notes and orders, at each required visit.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 29, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0712Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure that the resident and his/her doctor meet face-to-face at all required visits.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 29, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 12, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 14, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 29, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 29, 2025
February 12, 2025HealthF 0883Infection Control DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 29, 2025
March 13, 2024HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 13, 2024
March 13, 2024HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 25, 2024
March 13, 2024HealthF 0727Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesHave a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 23, 2024
March 13, 2024HealthF 0773Administration DeficienciesProvide or obtain laboratory tests/services when ordered and promptly tell the ordering practitioner of the results.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 25, 2024
March 13, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2024
March 13, 2024HealthF 0947Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 24, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeFor profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameKATAHDIN HEALTH CARE LLC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1994-07-01
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishPenobscot
Telephone Number2077234711
Chain NameFIRST ATLANTIC HEALTHCARE
Chain ID221
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds36
Average Number of Residents per Day35.5
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating5
QM Rating5
Long-Stay QM Rating5
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on Katahdin Health Care LLC: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On August 29, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for Katahdin Health Care LLC

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Maine at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Maine

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 205149.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.