Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 225110
THE MASSACHUSETTS VETERANS HOME AT CHELSEA
CHELSEA, Massachusetts · Medicare
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 154
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.
Cost report for July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on October 10, 2025.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 1440430, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.
Fiscal year 2024, ended June 30, 2024
Cost report for July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 19, 2024.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 1395178, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.
Fiscal year 2023, ended June 30, 2023
Cost report for July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 27, 2023.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 1365598, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.
Fiscal year 2022, ended June 30, 2022
Cost report for July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 29, 2022.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 1334602, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.
Fiscal year 2021, ended June 30, 2021
Cost report for July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 25, 2021.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 1296139, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.
Fiscal year 2020, ended June 30, 2020
Cost report for July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 25, 2020.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 1269716, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.
Fiscal year 2019, ended June 30, 2019
Cost report for July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on November 21, 2019.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 1245941, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.
Fiscal year 2018, ended June 30, 2018
Cost report for July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 31, 2019.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 1218802, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.
Fiscal year 2017, ended June 30, 2017
Cost report for July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 31, 2019.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 1218801, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.
Fiscal year 2016, ended June 30, 2016
Cost report for July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 31, 2019.
None of these figures is carried on this report.
CMS report record 1218800, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 100% | since 03/01/2023 |
| BALDINI, CHRISTINE | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/02/2025 |
| BARASH, JED | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/02/2025 |
| COUILLARD, JOHN | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/14/2020 |
| COUILLARD, JOHN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/14/2020 |
| COUILLARD, JOHN | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/13/2020 |
| BALDINI, CHRISTINE | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/28/2024 |
| BARASH, JED | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/24/2016 |
| COUILLARD, JOHN | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/13/2020 |
| THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/01/1966 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS (enrollment ID O20220301000809).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 3/1/2023 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| CHRISTINE BALDINI | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 5/2/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JED A BARASH | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 5/2/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 9/14/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | 100 | 9/14/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | 100 | 9/13/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CHRISTINE BALDINI | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 1/28/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JED A BARASH | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 7/24/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 9/13/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100 | 7/1/1966 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
Changes in ownership
- April 1, 2026: ROBERT J ENGELL no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: ERIC JOHNSON no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: ERIC JOHNSON no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: ERIC JOHNSON no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: CHRISTINE BALDINI (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 2, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: CHRISTINE BALDINI (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 28, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: JED A BARASH (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 2, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: JED A BARASH (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 24, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 14, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 13, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- January 5, 2024: ROBERT J ENGELL (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since January 12, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1966. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: ERIC JOHNSON (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since December 15, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: ERIC JOHNSON (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since December 15, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: ERIC JOHNSON (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since December 15, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since September 14, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since September 14, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since September 14, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
Recent changes on this record
- April 1, 2026: ROBERT J ENGELL no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: ERIC JOHNSON no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: ERIC JOHNSON no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: ERIC JOHNSON no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: CHRISTINE BALDINI (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 2, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: CHRISTINE BALDINI (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 28, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: JED A BARASH (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 2, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: JED A BARASH (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 24, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 14, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- April 1, 2026: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 13, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
- October 10, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2025, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2024.zip
- September 19, 2024: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2023.zip
- January 5, 2024: ROBERT J ENGELL (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since January 12, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1966. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: ERIC JOHNSON (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since December 15, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: ERIC JOHNSON (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since December 15, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: ERIC JOHNSON (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since December 15, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since September 14, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since September 14, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- January 5, 2024: JOHN ALBERT COUILLARD (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 5, 2024; associated with this enrollment since September 14, 2020. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-01-05.csv
- September 27, 2023: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2023, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2022.zip
- September 29, 2022: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2022, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2021.zip
- August 25, 2021: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2021, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2020.zip
- September 25, 2020: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2020, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2019.zip
- November 21, 2019: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2019, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2018.zip
- January 31, 2019: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2018, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2017.zip
- January 31, 2019: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2017, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2016.zip
- January 31, 2019: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2016, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2015.zip
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | September 19, 2025 | September 19, 2025 | 3 | 0 |
| 2 | October 9, 2024 | October 9, 2024 | 9 | 0 |
| 3 | August 3, 2023 | August 3, 2023 | 12 | 10 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
24 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 19, 2025 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 3, 2025 |
| September 19, 2025 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 3, 2025 |
| September 19, 2025 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 3, 2025 |
| July 29, 2025 | Health | F 0604 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 13, 2025 |
| July 29, 2025 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 13, 2025 |
| October 9, 2024 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2024 |
| October 9, 2024 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2024 |
| October 9, 2024 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2024 |
| October 9, 2024 | Health | F 0699 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2024 |
| October 9, 2024 | Health | F 0710 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Obtain a doctor's order to admit a resident and ensure the resident is under a doctor's care. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2024 |
| October 9, 2024 | Health | F 0740 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure each resident must receive and the facility must provide necessary behavioral health care and services. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2024 |
| October 9, 2024 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2024 |
| July 17, 2024 | Health | F 0557 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to be treated with respect and dignity and to retain and use personal possessions. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 1, 2024 |
| July 17, 2024 | Health | F 0600 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 1, 2024 |
| May 14, 2024 | Health | F 0609 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 17, 2024 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0637 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 15, 2023 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0640 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 15, 2023 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 15, 2023 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0658 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 15, 2023 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 15, 2023 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0790 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide routine and 24-hour emergency dental care for each resident. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 15, 2023 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0865 | Administration Deficiencies | Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 15, 2023 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0867 | Administration Deficiencies | Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 15, 2023 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 15, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare |
| Ownership Type | Government - State |
| Legal Business Name | THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1967-02-09 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Suffolk |
| Telephone Number | 6178877115 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 154 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 120.1 |
| Overall Rating | 4 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 4 |
| QM Rating | 3 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 3 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on THE MASSACHUSETTS VETERANS HOME AT CHELSEA: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On October 10, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2025, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for THE MASSACHUSETTS VETERANS HOME AT CHELSEA
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Massachusetts at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Massachusetts
- MARTHA'S VINEYARD AIRPORT WWTF, MARTHA'S VINEYARD Water discharge permit
- YARMOUTH-DENNIS SEPTAGE, UNKNOWN Water discharge permit
- DEVENS WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, SHIRLEY Water discharge permit
- GOULD FARM W W T F, MONTEREY Water discharge permit
- WHEATON COLLEGE, NORTON Water discharge permit
- BARNSTABLE WATER POLLUTION CONTROL FACILITY, BARNSTABLE (HYANNIS) Water discharge permit
- GOVERNOR DUMMER ACADEMY, BYFIELD Water discharge permit
- GROTON SCHOOL, GROTON Water discharge permit
- ROCHELEAU TOOL & DIE CO ONC, FITCHBURG Air emission source
- BENEVENTO SAND AND STONE, WILMINGTON Air emission source
- CHETS AUTO WRECKING AND SCRAP METAL, SPRINGFIELD Air emission source
- R&R INDUSTRIES, SPRINGFIELD Air emission source
- AMRIZE NORTHEAST INC, PEABODY Air emission source
- AMRIZE NORTHEAST INC, TAUNTON Air emission source
- UNIFIRST CORP., HAVERHILL, TOWN OF Air emission source
- NORTH READING TRANSPORTATION, DRACUT, TOWN OF Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 225110.