Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 225759

RECUPERATIVE SERVICES UNIT-HEBREW REHAB CENTER

BOSTON, Massachusetts · Medicare

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 50

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017
COHEN, MARSHAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/07/2013
FORVIS MAZARS LLPADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2020
MANDEL, ERNESTADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/12/2025
MASTERSON, ANNADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2021
RETALIC, TAMMYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/13/2004
WOOLF, LOUISADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/15/2009
COHEN, MARSHACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/07/2013
HENKEN, RICHARDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/22/2024
COHEN, MARSHACORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/07/2013
HENKEN, RICHARDCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/22/2024
JOHNSON, MARKCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/20/2024
MANDEL, ERNESTCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2023
WOOLF, LOUISCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/15/2009
BANE, HARRISONMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2023
COHEN, HOWARDMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2020
DESIMONE, THOMASMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2013
EDMONDS, JANEMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2021
FLEISHMAN, VALERIEMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2024
FLIER, STEVENMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2015
FLORENCE SMITH, SUSANMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2011
GENSER, MAURICEMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2014
KOTLER, HAROLDMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2011
ROSENTHAL, DAVIDMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2011
WEBBER, JAYMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2011
ZEIDEL, MARKMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2012
MANDEL, ERNESTOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2023
MASTERSON, ANNOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2021
RETALIC, TAMMYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/13/2004

Medicare enrollment

As filed (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of HEBREW REHABILITATION CENTER (enrollment ID O20130617000469).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
HEBREW SENIORLIFE, INC.Organization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST10011/8/2005
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ANN F MASTERSONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ERNEST I MANDELIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/12/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FORVIS MAZARS LLPOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2020
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
LOUIS J WOOLFIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing10/15/2009
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARSHA COHENIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing11/7/2013
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TAMMY RETALICIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing9/13/2004
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARSHA COHENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR2011/7/2013
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RICHARD HENKENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR105/22/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ERNEST I MANDELIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER201/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LOUIS J WOOLFIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER2010/15/2009
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK JOHNSONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER2011/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARSHA COHENIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing11/7/2013
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RICHARD HENKENIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER105/22/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID S ROSENTHALIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2011
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HAROLD KOTLERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2011
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HARRISON R BANEIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HOWARD COHENIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JANE C EDMONDSIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAY L WEBBERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2011
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK ZEIDELIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2012
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MAURICE GENSERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
STEVEN R FLIERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SUSAN FLORENCE SMITHIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2011
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
THOMAS DESIMONEIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2013
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
VALERIE FLEISHMANIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing1/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ANN F MASTERSONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ERNEST I MANDELIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TAMMY RETALICIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing9/13/2004
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1June 17, 2026June 17, 202610
2July 24, 2025July 24, 202520
3July 17, 2024July 17, 202450
3May 24, 2023May 24, 202340

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

12 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
January 21, 2026HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 13, 2026
July 24, 2025HealthF 0636Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 7, 2025
July 24, 2025HealthF 0851Administration DeficienciesElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 7, 2025
July 17, 2024HealthF 0641Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 26, 2024
July 17, 2024HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 26, 2024
July 17, 2024HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 26, 2024
July 17, 2024HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 26, 2024
July 17, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 26, 2024
May 24, 2023HealthF 0640Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.CNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 30, 2023
May 24, 2023HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 30, 2023
May 24, 2023HealthF 0740Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure each resident must receive and the facility must provide necessary behavioral health care and services.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 30, 2023
May 24, 2023HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 30, 2023

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameHEBREW REHABILITATION CENTER
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2001-06-07
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishSuffolk
Telephone Number6173258000
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilNone
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds50
Average Number of Residents per Day30.1
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating5
Short-Stay QM Rating5
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on RECUPERATIVE SERVICES UNIT-HEBREW REHAB CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On June 17, 2026: An inspection was recorded in inspection cycle 1. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for RECUPERATIVE SERVICES UNIT-HEBREW REHAB CENTER

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Massachusetts at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Massachusetts

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 225759.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.