Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 225786

MASSACHUSETTS VETERANS HOME AT HOLYOKE

HOLYOKE, Massachusetts · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 128

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for April 14, 2025 to June 30, 2025 — a reporting period of 77 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 11, 2026.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1447626, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2025.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
DIETZEN, DIANEADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/06/2025
LAZO, MICHAELADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/06/2025
SANTIAGO, JONADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/06/2025
THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTSADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/06/2025
DIETZEN, DIANEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/06/2025
LAZO, MICHAELOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/06/2025
SANTIAGO, JONOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/06/2025
THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTSOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/06/2025

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS (enrollment ID O20230731001300).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
DIANE DIETZENIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/6/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JON SANTIAGOIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/6/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL L LAZOIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/6/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTSOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/6/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
DIANE DIETZENIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/6/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JON SANTIAGOIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/6/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL L LAZOIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/6/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTSOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/6/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1February 28, 2025February 28, 202560

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

6 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
February 28, 2025HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 14, 2025
February 28, 2025HealthF 0585Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 14, 2025
February 28, 2025HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 14, 2025
February 28, 2025HealthF 0692Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 14, 2025
February 28, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 14, 2025
February 28, 2025HealthF 0948Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure that paid feeding assistants have the training they need.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 14, 2025

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeGovernment - State
Legal Business NameTHE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2025-04-14
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishHampden
Telephone Number4135524737
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilBoth
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds128
Average Number of Residents per Day113.1
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on MASSACHUSETTS VETERANS HOME AT HOLYOKE: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On February 11, 2026: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2025, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for MASSACHUSETTS VETERANS HOME AT HOLYOKE

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Massachusetts at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Massachusetts

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 225786.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.