Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 235585
Covenant Skilled Nursing and Rehabilitation at Wel
Saginaw, Michigan · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 39
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.
Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 28, 2025.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $7,126,757 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $1,385,659 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $5,741,098 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $5,989,326 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$248,228 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $2,800 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | −$245,428 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: −$245,428 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 39 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Bed days available, all components | 14,274 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200 |
| Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days | 3,061 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400 |
| Other-payer patient days | 6,819 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600 |
| Total patient days, all components | 9,880 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Medicare discharges | 182 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900 |
| Other-payer discharges | 423 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100 |
| Total discharges, all components | 605 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 16.82 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 16.33 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1434351, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.
Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023
Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 12, 2024.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $6,168,396 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $1,728,192 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $4,440,204 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $6,340,748 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$1,900,544 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $1,584 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | −$1,898,960 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: −$1,898,960 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 39 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 8,569 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 545 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 18.06 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 15.72 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1394612, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.
Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022
Cost report for July 5, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 179 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 27, 2023.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $2,549,810 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $747,202 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $1,802,608 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $3,488,191 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$1,685,583 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $2,671 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | −$1,682,912 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: −$1,682,912 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 39 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 3,484 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 126 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 15.22 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 27.65 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1365603, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| COVENANT MEDICAL CENTER, INC. | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 50% | since 09/08/2021 |
| WELLSPRING TCC LLC | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 50% | since 09/08/2021 |
| COVENANT HEALTHCARE SYSTEM | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 50% | since 09/08/2021 |
| LUTHERAN HOMES OF MICHIGAN, INC | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 50% | since 09/08/2021 |
| BIRCHMEIER, KEVIN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/08/2021 |
| GEHM, DAVID | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/08/2021 |
| KALBFLEISCH, TIMOTHY | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/08/2021 |
| TOMPA, ADAM | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/08/2021 |
| BIRCHMEIER, KEVIN | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 08/04/2022 |
| KALBFLEISCH, TIMOTHY | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 08/04/2022 |
| CONZELMANN, NOELLE | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/05/2022 |
| LUTHERAN HOMES OF MICHIGAN, INC | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/05/2022 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of TRANSITIONAL CARE COMMUNITY LLC (enrollment ID O20220708000409).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| COVENANT MEDICAL CENTER, INC. | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 50 | 9/8/2021 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| WELLSPRING TCC LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 50 | 9/8/2021 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: Yes |
| COVENANT HEALTHCARE SYSTEM | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 50 | 9/8/2021 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| LUTHERAN HOMES OF MICHIGAN, INC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 50 | 9/8/2021 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| ADAM TOMPA | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 9/8/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DAVID M GEHM | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 9/8/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| KEVIN BIRCHMEIER | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 9/8/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TIMOTHY ROBERT KALBFLEISCH | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 9/8/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| KEVIN BIRCHMEIER | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 8/4/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TIMOTHY ROBERT KALBFLEISCH | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 8/4/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| LUTHERAN HOMES OF MICHIGAN, INC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100 | 7/5/2022 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| NOELLE M CONZELMANN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 7/5/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- March 15, 2023: DAVID M GEHM no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-03-15.csv
- March 15, 2023: KEVIN BIRCHMEIER (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since August 4, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-03-15.csv
- November 30, 2022: DAVID B MEYER no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: KEVIN S ALBOSTA no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: KEVIN S ALBOSTA no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: KEVIN BIRCHMEIER no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: BETHANY A CHARLTON no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: JOHN W SHELTON no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: KEVIN BIRCHMEIER (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: LUTHERAN HOMES OF MICHIGAN, INC (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since July 5, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: LUTHERAN HOMES OF MICHIGAN, INC (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: NOELLE M CONZELMANN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since July 5, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: ADAM TOMPA (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: TIMOTHY KALBFLEISCH (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: TIMOTHY KALBFLEISCH (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: COVENANT MEDICAL CENTER INC (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: COVENANT HEALTHCARE SYSTEM (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: DAVID M GEHM (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: DAVID M GEHM (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: WELLSPRING TCC LLC (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
Recent changes on this record
- August 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2024.zip
- September 12, 2024: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2023, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2023.zip
- September 27, 2023: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2022, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2022.zip
- March 15, 2023: DAVID M GEHM no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-03-15.csv
- March 15, 2023: KEVIN BIRCHMEIER (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since August 4, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-03-15.csv
- November 30, 2022: DAVID B MEYER no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: KEVIN S ALBOSTA no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: KEVIN S ALBOSTA no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: KEVIN BIRCHMEIER no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: BETHANY A CHARLTON no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: JOHN W SHELTON no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: KEVIN BIRCHMEIER (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: LUTHERAN HOMES OF MICHIGAN, INC (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since July 5, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: LUTHERAN HOMES OF MICHIGAN, INC (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: NOELLE M CONZELMANN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since July 5, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: ADAM TOMPA (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: TIMOTHY KALBFLEISCH (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: TIMOTHY KALBFLEISCH (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: COVENANT MEDICAL CENTER INC (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: COVENANT HEALTHCARE SYSTEM (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: DAVID M GEHM (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: DAVID M GEHM (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
- November 30, 2022: WELLSPRING TCC LLC (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on November 30, 2022; associated with this enrollment since September 8, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2022-11-30.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | March 25, 2026 | March 25, 2026 | 10 | 5 |
| 2 | February 14, 2025 | February 14, 2025 | 6 | 5 |
| 3 | February 22, 2024 | February 22, 2024 | 4 | 3 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
20 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0550 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 4, 2026 |
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0552 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 4, 2026 |
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0584 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely. | E | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 4, 2026 |
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0627 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Ensure the transfer/discharge meets the resident's needs/preferences and that the resident is prepared for a safe transfer/discharge. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 4, 2026 |
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 4, 2026 |
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0686 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 4, 2026 |
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0809 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Ensure meals and snacks are served at times in accordance with resident’s needs, preferences, and requests. Suitable and nourishing alternative meals and snacks must be provided for residents who want to eat at non-traditional times or outside of scheduled meal times. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 4, 2026 |
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 4, 2026 |
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0848 | Administration Deficiencies | Provide a neutral and fair arbitration process and agree to arbitrator and venue. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 4, 2026 |
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 4, 2026 |
| April 3, 2025 | Health | F 0677 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 26, 2025 |
| February 14, 2025 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 26, 2025 |
| February 14, 2025 | Health | F 0758 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 26, 2025 |
| February 14, 2025 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 26, 2025 |
| February 14, 2025 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 18, 2025 |
| September 17, 2024 | Health | F 0686 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 15, 2024 |
| February 22, 2024 | Health | F 0578 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 20, 2024 |
| February 22, 2024 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 20, 2024 |
| February 22, 2024 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 20, 2024 |
| February 22, 2024 | Health | F 0921 | Environmental Deficiencies | Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 20, 2024 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Non profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | TRANSITIONAL CARE COMMUNITY LLC |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1998-07-17 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Saginaw |
| Telephone Number | 9895838110 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 39 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 33.6 |
| Overall Rating | 4 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 3 |
| QM Rating | 4 |
| Short-Stay QM Rating | 4 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on Covenant Skilled Nursing and Rehabilitation at Wel: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On August 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for Covenant Skilled Nursing and Rehabilitation at Wel
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Michigan at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Michigan
- BRUINSMA FARMS, DETROIT Water discharge permit
- AUTOMATIC DIE CASTING, ST CLAIR SHORES Water discharge permit
- STYLECRAFT PRODUCTS, INC., DETROIT Water discharge permit
- MICHIGAN CHROME AND CHEMICAL C, DETROIT Water discharge permit
- CURTIS PROCESSING COMPANY, TROY Water discharge permit
- X-CEL INDUSTRIES, HAZEL PARK Water discharge permit
- GENERAL DIE CASTING, OAK PARK Water discharge permit
- DETREX CHEMICAL INDUSTRIES, SOUTHFIELD Water discharge permit
- ENERVEST OPERATING LLC - NMAG3 BOOSTER, OTSEGO LAKE TOWNSHIP Air emission source
- DARCO CORP, RIVER ROUGE Air emission source
- LURIA BROTHERS, ECORSE Air emission source
- E ROBINSON, DETROIT Air emission source
- COSTCO WHOLESALE - LIVONIA II, LIVONIA Air emission source
- COSTCO WHOLESALE - LIVONIA I, LIVONIA Air emission source
- EQUIPMENT ASSETS INC., TROY Air emission source
- AJAX MATERIALS CORP, ROCKWOOD Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 235585.