Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 235731

Corewell Health Rehabilitation & Nursing Center -

Grand Rapids, Michigan · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 80

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 28, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$23,166,503CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$13,073,761CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$10,092,742CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,444,307CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$5,351,565CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$469,132CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$4,882,433CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$4,882,433 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components80CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components29,280CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days2,996CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days5,110CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days13,028CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components21,134CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges167CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges15CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges931CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components1,113CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days17.94CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days340.67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days18.99CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1434416, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for May 2, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 243 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 26, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$6,996,330CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,845,582CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,150,748CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,974,377CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$4,823,629CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$54,805CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$4,768,824CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$4,768,824 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components80CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components7,660CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components225CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days21.32CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days634.6CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days34.04CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1393088, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
SPECTRUM HEALTH CONTINUING CARE5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 07/22/2022
COREWELL HEALTH5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 10/26/2022
BOETTCHER, IRISADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
COREWELL HEALTHADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/29/2025
FREESE DECKER, CHRISTINAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/31/2023
PAKKALA, KARENADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/08/2023
SPECTRUM HEALTH CONTINUING CAREADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/22/2022
ZANK, RYANADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/07/2023
BEG, SIMINCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/12/2020
BRAGG, TALAWNDACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/26/2021
BUCKLEY, JOHNCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/12/2020
DOORNBOS, MARYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/12/2020
FERRELL-ROBINSON, LYNNETTECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/12/2020
HOFMAN, RONALDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/12/2020
PINK, BILLCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/12/2020
PORT, CHRISTOPHERCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/12/2025
TORRES, JOHANNIECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/12/2020
WAALKES, ANNICACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/12/2020
WATSON, SAMCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/12/2020
WILSON, MARKCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/11/2024
COX, MATTHEWCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/01/2022
FREESE DECKER, CHRISTINACORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/01/2022
PAKKALA, KARENCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/08/2023
BOETTCHER, IRISOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
PAKKALA, KARENOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/08/2023
SPECTRUM HEALTH CONTINUING CAREOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/22/2022
ZANK, RYANOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/07/2023

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of SPECTRUM HEALTH - LEFFINGWELL AVENUE (enrollment ID O20221107003128).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
SPECTRUM HEALTH CONTINUING CAREOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1007/22/2022
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
COREWELL HEALTHOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST10010/26/2022
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CHRISTINA FREESE DECKERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/31/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
COREWELL HEALTHOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing4/29/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
IRIS F BOETTCHERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KAREN R PAKKALAIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing9/8/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RYAN ZANKIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/7/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SPECTRUM HEALTH CONTINUING CAREOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/22/2022
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ANNICA EUURAND WAALKESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR03/12/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BILL P PINKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR03/12/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHRISTOPHER B PORTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR03/12/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHANNIE M TORRESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR03/12/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN BUCKLEYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR03/12/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LYNNETTE FERRELL-ROBINSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR03/12/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK WILSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR012/11/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARY DOORNBOSIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR03/12/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RONALD M HOFMANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR03/12/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SAM R WATSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR03/12/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SIMIN BEGIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR03/12/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TALAWNDA L BRAGGIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/26/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHRISTINA FREESE DECKERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing2/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KAREN R PAKKALAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER09/8/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MATTHEW E COXIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER02/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
IRIS F BOETTCHERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KAREN R PAKKALAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing9/8/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RYAN ZANKIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing2/7/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SPECTRUM HEALTH CONTINUING CAREOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/22/2022
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1July 9, 2025July 9, 202510
2June 13, 2024June 13, 202400
3April 5, 2023April 5, 202303

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

1 deficiency on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
July 9, 2025HealthF 0640Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 17, 2025

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameSPECTRUM HEALTH - LEFFINGWELL AVENUE
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2023-05-02
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishKent
Telephone Number6162674800
Chain NameCOREWELL HEALTH
Chain ID721
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds80
Average Number of Residents per Day69.0
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating5
QM Rating5
Long-Stay QM Rating5
Short-Stay QM Rating5
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on Corewell Health Rehabilitation & Nursing Center -: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On August 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for Corewell Health Rehabilitation & Nursing Center -

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Michigan at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Michigan

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 235731.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.