Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 245253

CURA OF PAYNESVILLE

PAYNESVILLE, Minnesota · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 51

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 28, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$7,883,441CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$159,162CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$7,724,279CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$10,581,186CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$2,856,907CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$2,680,142CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$176,765CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$176,765 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components51CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components17,335CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days809CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days7,067CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days7,967CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components15,843CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges21CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges8CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges47CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components76CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days38.52CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days883.38CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days208.46CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1434425, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 22, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$8,536,760CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$172,574CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$8,364,186CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,741,296CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$377,110CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$639,228CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$262,118CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $262,118 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components40CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components13,754CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components54CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days29.6CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days734.6CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days254.7CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1392890, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 25, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$6,554,795CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$108,690CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$6,446,105CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,373,193CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$927,088CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$367,207CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$559,881CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$559,881 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components40CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components13,787CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components39CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days76.29CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,278.86CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days353.51CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1363226, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021

Cost report for June 8, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 206 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 19, 2022.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$3,013,447CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$140,902CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$2,872,545CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$3,164,346CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$291,801CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$450CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$291,351CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$291,351 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components40CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components7,795CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components25CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days59.63CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,464CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days311.8CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1332759, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
OPATZ, TOM5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividual50%since 06/08/2021
STRUZYK, FRED5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividual50%since 06/08/2021
FORTITUDE OF PAYNESVILLE LLCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/08/2021
OPATZ, TOMADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/08/2021
STRATE, LAWRENCEADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2022
STRUZYK, FREDADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/08/2021
TF MANAGEMENT LLCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/11/2024
THEIS, NATHANIELADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/03/2021
OPATZ, TOMCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/08/2021
OPATZ, TOMMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/17/2017
STRUZYK, FREDMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/17/2017
DOUGHERTY, SANDRAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/08/2021
GROTHE, CHRISTIANOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/28/2025
STRATE, LAWRENCEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/01/2021
TF MANAGEMENT LLCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/20/2024
THEIS, NATHANIELOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/03/2021

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of PREMIER HEALTHCARE MANAGEMENT OF PAYNESVILLE LLC (enrollment ID O20210824001372).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
FRED STRUZYKIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST506/8/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TOM OPATZIndividual5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST506/8/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FORTITUDE OF PAYNESVILLE LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/8/2021
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
FRED STRUZYKIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/8/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LAWRENCE G STRATEIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NATHANIEL THEISIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/3/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TF MANAGEMENT LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/11/2024
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
TOM OPATZIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/8/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TOM OPATZIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER506/8/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
FRED STRUZYKIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing5/17/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TOM OPATZIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing5/17/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHRISTIAN GROTHEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/28/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LAWRENCE G STRATEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NATHANIEL THEISIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/3/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SANDRA DOUGHERTYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing6/8/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TF MANAGEMENT LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing11/20/2024
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1April 8, 2026April 8, 202631
2March 19, 2025March 19, 202510
3February 8, 2024February 8, 202422

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

6 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
April 8, 2026HealthF 0644Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 16, 2026
April 8, 2026HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 16, 2026
April 8, 2026HealthF 0851Administration DeficienciesElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.CNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 16, 2026
March 19, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 31, 2025
February 8, 2024HealthF 0578Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 26, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0883Infection Control DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 26, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeFor profit - Corporation
Legal Business NamePREMIER HEALTHCARE MANAGEMENT OF PAYNESVILLE LLC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1987-09-01
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityY
UrbanY
County/ParishStearns
Telephone Number3203994267
Chain NameCURA
Chain ID865
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilBoth
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds51
Average Number of Residents per Day49.5
Overall Rating4
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating2
Long-Stay QM Rating3
Short-Stay QM Rating2
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on CURA OF PAYNESVILLE: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On August 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for CURA OF PAYNESVILLE

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Minnesota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Minnesota

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 245253.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.