Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 245382
MADISON HEALTHCARE SERVICES
MADISON, Minnesota · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 51
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $10,036.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: February 28, 2024, Fine, $10,036. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BJERKE, ERIK | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/16/2025 |
| HASTAD, TRUDY | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/01/2024 |
| HILL, BART | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/01/2024 |
| MOEN, KARIN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/01/2019 |
| MUNSTERMAN, JEANENE | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/01/2024 |
| OMLAND, SCOTT | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/01/2023 |
| VOLK, TIM | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/01/2024 |
| BORGERSON, CAROL | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 11/04/2014 |
| BJERKE, ERIK | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/25/2015 |
| ENGEBRETSON, RAMONA | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/14/2018 |
| HACKER, BRANT | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/19/2005 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of MADISON HEALTHCARE SERVICES (enrollment ID O20080516000499).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ERIK BJERKE | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 1/16/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| BART HILL | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | 0 | 1/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JEANENE MUNSTERMAN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | 0 | 1/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| KARIN MOEN | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | 0 | 1/1/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| SCOTT OMLAND | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | 0 | 1/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TIM VOLK | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | 0 | 1/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TRUDY HASTAD | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | 0 | 1/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CAROL BORGERSON | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 11/4/2014 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| BRANT N HACKER | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 9/19/2005 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ERIK BJERKE | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 9/25/2015 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| RAMONA ENGEBRETSON | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | 0 | 12/14/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- February 1, 2025: BRANDON L ULSTAD no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ANGELA SHELSTAD no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: WILLIAM ZIMMERMAN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ERIK BJERKE no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: JOHN MAATZ no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: KRISTEN GLOEGE no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: DENISE CONNOR no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TIM VOLK (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: BART HILL (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: BRANT N HACKER (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since September 19, 2005. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: SCOTT OMLAND (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TRUDY HASTAD (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: RAMONA ENGEBRETSON (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 14, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ERIK BJERKE appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: JEANENE MUNSTERMAN (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
Recent changes on this record
- February 1, 2025: BRANDON L ULSTAD no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ANGELA SHELSTAD no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: WILLIAM ZIMMERMAN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ERIK BJERKE no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: JOHN MAATZ no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: KRISTEN GLOEGE no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: DENISE CONNOR no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TIM VOLK (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: BART HILL (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: BRANT N HACKER (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since September 19, 2005. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: SCOTT OMLAND (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TRUDY HASTAD (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: RAMONA ENGEBRETSON (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 14, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ERIK BJERKE appears as ADP OF THE SNF in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: JEANENE MUNSTERMAN (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | January 27, 2026 | January 27, 2026 | 5 | 5 |
| 2 | November 6, 2024 | November 6, 2024 | 6 | 2 |
| 3 | February 28, 2024 | February 28, 2024 | 5 | 2 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
16 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 27, 2026 | Health | F 0554 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 6, 2026 |
| January 27, 2026 | Health | F 0558 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 6, 2026 |
| January 27, 2026 | Health | F 0641 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 6, 2026 |
| January 16, 2026 | Health | F 0580 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 9, 2026 |
| January 16, 2026 | Health | F 0692 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 9, 2026 |
| June 4, 2025 | Health | F 0558 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 11, 2025 |
| June 4, 2025 | Health | F 0658 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 11, 2025 |
| June 4, 2025 | Health | F 0684 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 11, 2025 |
| November 6, 2024 | Health | F 0636 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 31, 2024 |
| November 6, 2024 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 31, 2024 |
| November 6, 2024 | Health | F 0949 | Administration Deficiencies | Provide behavior health training consistent with the requirements and as determined by a facility assessment. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 31, 2024 |
| February 28, 2024 | Health | F 0582 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 19, 2024 |
| February 28, 2024 | Health | F 0636 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 19, 2024 |
| February 28, 2024 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | J | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 8, 2024 |
| February 28, 2024 | Health | F 0883 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 29, 2024 |
| November 17, 2023 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
| Penalty date | Type | Fine amount | Payment denial began | Payment denial, days | Fine ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 28, 2024 | Fine | $10,036 | 53807 |
From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Non profit - Church related |
| Legal Business Name | MADISON HEALTHCARE SERVICES |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1986-12-01 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | N |
| County/Parish | Lac Qui Parle |
| Telephone Number | 3205987536 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Both |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 51 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 46.0 |
| Overall Rating | 4 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 4 |
| QM Rating | 3 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 3 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on MADISON HEALTHCARE SERVICES: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On February 1, 2025: BRANDON L ULSTAD no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for MADISON HEALTHCARE SERVICES
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Minnesota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Minnesota
- AACRON INC, PLYMOUTH Water discharge permit
- ALEXANDRIA LIGHT & POWER, ALEXANDRIA Water discharge permit
- NORTHWOODS ICE OF BEMIDJI INC, BEMIDJI Water discharge permit
- HIAWATHA METALCRAFT INC, MINNEAPOLIS Water discharge permit
- PREMIER PRODUCTS INC, BRAHAM Water discharge permit
- EDEN PRAIRIE WELL HOUSE 6 & 7, EDEN PRAIRIE Water discharge permit
- MARINE IRON & SHIP BUILDING CO, DULUTH Water discharge permit
- MICRON MOLDING, BLOOMINGTON Water discharge permit
- CENTRAL SPECIALTIES INC - PLANT 6, ALEXANDRIA Air emission source
- CENTRAL SPECIALTIES INC - PLANT 5, ALEXANDRIA Air emission source
- CENTRAL SPECIALTIES INC - PLANT 4, ALEXANDRIA Air emission source
- CENTRAL SPECIALTIES INC - PLANT 3, ALEXANDRIA Air emission source
- INTEX CORP, ALBERTVILLE Air emission source
- HAWKINSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC - PLANT 2, GRAND RAPIDS Air emission source
- TRI CITY PAVING INC, LITTLE FALLS Air emission source
- KNIFE RIVER CORP N CENTRAL - PLANT 7, LITTLE FALLS Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 245382.