Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 245396
CURA OF MELROSE
MELROSE, Minnesota · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 75
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 3 · Fines: 2 · Fines, total amount: $49,585.00 · Payment denials: 1. The most recent penalty on file: July 8, 2026, Fine, $22,900. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.
Cost report for January 23, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 343 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 28, 2025.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $9,299,942 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $25,992 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $9,273,950 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $9,555,452 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$281,502 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $2,096,306 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | $1,814,804 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: $1,814,804 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 75 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Bed days available, all components | 25,800 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200 |
| Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days | 394 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400 |
| Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days | 11,153 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500 |
| Other-payer patient days | 9,481 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600 |
| Total patient days, all components | 21,028 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Medicare discharges | 8 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900 |
| Medicaid discharges | 1 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000 |
| Other-payer discharges | 48 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100 |
| Total discharges, all components | 57 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 49.25 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 11,153 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 368.91 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1434436, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CURA | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 100% | since 01/23/2024 |
| CURA | ADP OF THE SNF | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 10/31/2024 |
| DIRKES, MARK | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/23/2025 |
| HELLER, PATRICK | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/11/2024 |
| OPATZ, TOM | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/11/2024 |
| STRUZYK, FRED | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/23/2025 |
| TF MANAGEMENT LLC | ADP OF THE SNF | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 10/31/2024 |
| DIRKES, MARK | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/23/2024 |
| OPATZ, TOM | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/23/2024 |
| STRUZYK, FRED | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/23/2024 |
| DIRKES, MARK | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/23/2024 |
| OPATZ, TOM | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/23/2024 |
| STRUZYK, FRED | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/23/2024 |
| DIRKES, MARK | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 10/31/2024 |
| OPATZ, TOM | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 10/31/2024 |
| STRUZYK, FRED | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 10/31/2024 |
| TF MANAGEMENT LLC | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/04/2024 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of CURA OF MELROSE LLC (enrollment ID O20240412002099).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CURA | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 1/23/2024 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: Yes |
| CURA | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 10/31/2024 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: Yes |
| FRED STRUZYK | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 1/23/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MARK DIRKES | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 1/23/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PATRICK J HELLER | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/11/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TF MANAGEMENT LLC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 10/31/2024 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| TOM OPATZ | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/11/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MARK DIRKES | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | 0 | 1/23/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| FRED STRUZYK | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | 0 | 1/23/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TOM OPATZ | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | 0 | 1/23/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| FRED STRUZYK | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 1/23/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MARK DIRKES | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 1/23/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TOM OPATZ | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 1/23/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| FRED STRUZYK | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 10/31/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MARK DIRKES | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 10/31/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TF MANAGEMENT LLC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/4/2024 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| TOM OPATZ | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 10/31/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- March 1, 2025: BRYAN ROLPH no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: ROBERT L THUERINGER no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: CENTRACARE HEALTH SYSTEM no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: JOY MARIE PLAMANN no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: JAMES HEBL no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: DAVID ANFINSON no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: JOSEPH H UPHUS no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: STEVEN A LARAWAY no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: SHERRI LIEBL no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: KENNETH D HOLMEN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: BOBBIE BERTRAM no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: RICHARD WEHSELER no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TIMOTHY WENSMAN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: JEFFREY GAU no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MICHAEL A BLAIR no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MICHAEL A BLAIR no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: THOMAS KNOBLACH no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MICHELLE JOHNSON no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: CHRISTIAN P SCHMIDT no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: FRED STRUZYK (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: FRED STRUZYK (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: FRED STRUZYK (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since October 31, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: FRED STRUZYK (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TOM OPATZ (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 11, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TOM OPATZ (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TOM OPATZ (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since October 31, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TOM OPATZ (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: CURA (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since October 31, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: CURA (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TF MANAGEMENT LLC (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since October 31, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TF MANAGEMENT LLC (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 4, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: PATRICK J HELLER (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 11, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MARK DIRKES (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MARK DIRKES (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MARK DIRKES (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since October 31, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MARK DIRKES (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
Recent changes on this record
- July 8, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0689, scope and severity J. NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv
- August 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2024.zip
- March 1, 2025: BRYAN ROLPH no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: ROBERT L THUERINGER no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: CENTRACARE HEALTH SYSTEM no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: JOY MARIE PLAMANN no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: JAMES HEBL no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: DAVID ANFINSON no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: JOSEPH H UPHUS no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: STEVEN A LARAWAY no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: SHERRI LIEBL no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: KENNETH D HOLMEN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: BOBBIE BERTRAM no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: RICHARD WEHSELER no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TIMOTHY WENSMAN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: JEFFREY GAU no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MICHAEL A BLAIR no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MICHAEL A BLAIR no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: THOMAS KNOBLACH no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MICHELLE JOHNSON no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: CHRISTIAN P SCHMIDT no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: FRED STRUZYK (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: FRED STRUZYK (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: FRED STRUZYK (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since October 31, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: FRED STRUZYK (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TOM OPATZ (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 11, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TOM OPATZ (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TOM OPATZ (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since October 31, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TOM OPATZ (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: CURA (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since October 31, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: CURA (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TF MANAGEMENT LLC (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since October 31, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: TF MANAGEMENT LLC (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 4, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: PATRICK J HELLER (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 11, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MARK DIRKES (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MARK DIRKES (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MARK DIRKES (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since October 31, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: MARK DIRKES (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since January 23, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2025: enrollment_id: O20040608000333 → O20240412002099. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_Enrollments_:_2025-03-01.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | September 11, 2025 | September 11, 2025 | 11 | 4 |
| 2 | August 29, 2024 | August 29, 2024 | 5 | 2 |
| 3 | August 10, 2023 | August 10, 2023 | 1 | 0 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
17 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 8, 2026 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | J | Yes | Past Non-Compliance | |
| May 14, 2026 | Health | F 0600 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody. | G | Yes | Past Non-Compliance | May 8, 2026 |
| January 14, 2026 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 3, 2026 |
| January 14, 2026 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | G | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | February 3, 2026 |
| December 4, 2025 | Health | F 0609 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 29, 2025 |
| December 4, 2025 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | G | Yes | Past Non-Compliance | December 1, 2025 |
| September 11, 2025 | Health | F 0628 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2025 |
| September 11, 2025 | Health | F 0756 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2025 |
| September 11, 2025 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2025 |
| September 11, 2025 | Health | F 0842 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2025 |
| September 11, 2025 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 14, 2025 |
| July 29, 2025 | Health | F 0580 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 28, 2025 |
| July 29, 2025 | Health | F 0686 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing. | G | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | August 28, 2025 |
| April 28, 2025 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 9, 2025 |
| August 29, 2024 | Health | F 0550 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights. | E | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 24, 2024 |
| August 29, 2024 | Health | F 0688 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 24, 2024 |
| August 10, 2023 | Health | F 0552 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 18, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
| Penalty date | Type | Fine amount | Payment denial began | Payment denial, days | Fine ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 8, 2026 | Fine | $22,900 | 141700 | ||
| December 4, 2025 | Fine | $26,685 | 139054 | ||
| July 29, 2025 | Payment Denial | August 30, 2025 | 76 |
From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Non profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | CURA OF MELROSE LLC |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1986-12-01 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Stearns |
| Telephone Number | 3202564474 |
| Chain Name | CURA |
| Chain ID | 865 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 75 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 63.2 |
| Overall Rating | 2 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 2 |
| QM Rating | 2 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 2 |
| Short-Stay QM Rating | 3 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on CURA OF MELROSE: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On July 8, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0689, scope and severity J. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for CURA OF MELROSE
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Minnesota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Minnesota
- AACRON INC, PLYMOUTH Water discharge permit
- ALEXANDRIA LIGHT & POWER, ALEXANDRIA Water discharge permit
- NORTHWOODS ICE OF BEMIDJI INC, BEMIDJI Water discharge permit
- HIAWATHA METALCRAFT INC, MINNEAPOLIS Water discharge permit
- PREMIER PRODUCTS INC, BRAHAM Water discharge permit
- EDEN PRAIRIE WELL HOUSE 6 & 7, EDEN PRAIRIE Water discharge permit
- MARINE IRON & SHIP BUILDING CO, DULUTH Water discharge permit
- MICRON MOLDING, BLOOMINGTON Water discharge permit
- CENTRAL SPECIALTIES INC - PLANT 6, ALEXANDRIA Air emission source
- CENTRAL SPECIALTIES INC - PLANT 5, ALEXANDRIA Air emission source
- CENTRAL SPECIALTIES INC - PLANT 4, ALEXANDRIA Air emission source
- CENTRAL SPECIALTIES INC - PLANT 3, ALEXANDRIA Air emission source
- INTEX CORP, ALBERTVILLE Air emission source
- HAWKINSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC - PLANT 2, GRAND RAPIDS Air emission source
- TRI CITY PAVING INC, LITTLE FALLS Air emission source
- KNIFE RIVER CORP N CENTRAL - PLANT 7, LITTLE FALLS Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 245396.