Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 245485

JOHNSON MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HOME

DAWSON, Minnesota · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 56

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
JOHNSON MEMORIAL HEALTH SERVICES5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 06/06/1972
BOTHUN, CRYSTALADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/07/2024
REDEPENNING, JACOBADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/18/2024
SHELSTAD, ERIKADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/01/2021
BOTHUN, CRYSTALCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/07/2024
REDEPENNING, JACOBCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/18/2024
REDEPENNING, JACOBINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/18/2024
SHELSTAD, ERIKINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/01/2021
BOTHUN, CRYSTALMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/04/2024
BOTHUN, CRYSTALOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/04/2024
REDEPENNING, JACOBOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/18/2024
SHELSTAD, ERIKOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/01/2021

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of JOHNSON MEMORIAL HEALTH SERVICES (enrollment ID O20040427000318).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
JOHNSON MEMORIAL HEALTH SERVICESOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1006/6/1972
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CRYSTAL BOTHUNIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/7/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ERIK J SHELSTADIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JACOB WILLIAM REDEPENNINGIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing11/18/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRYSTAL BOTHUNIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER08/7/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JACOB WILLIAM REDEPENNINGIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER011/18/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ERIK J SHELSTADIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST08/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JACOB WILLIAM REDEPENNINGIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST011/18/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRYSTAL BOTHUNIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing8/4/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRYSTAL BOTHUNIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing8/4/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ERIK J SHELSTADIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing8/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JACOB WILLIAM REDEPENNINGIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing11/18/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1April 22, 2026April 22, 202602
2February 20, 2025February 20, 202593
3April 10, 2024April 10, 202421

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

11 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
February 20, 2025HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 28, 2025
February 20, 2025HealthF 0726Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesEnsure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.FYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 28, 2025
February 20, 2025HealthF 0755Pharmacy Service DeficienciesProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 28, 2025
February 20, 2025HealthF 0758Pharmacy Service DeficienciesImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 28, 2025
February 20, 2025HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 28, 2025
February 20, 2025HealthF 0838Administration DeficienciesConduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 28, 2025
February 20, 2025HealthF 0851Administration DeficienciesElectronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 28, 2025
February 20, 2025HealthF 0882Infection Control DeficienciesDesignate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 28, 2025
January 22, 2025HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.GYesPast Non-ComplianceJanuary 16, 2025
April 10, 2024HealthF 0644Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 8, 2024
April 10, 2024HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 8, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeGovernment - Hospital district
Legal Business NameJOHNSON MEMORIAL HEALTH SERVICES
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1987-06-01
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishLac Qui Parle
Telephone Number3203122101
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds56
Average Number of Residents per Day50.1
Overall Rating3
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating1
Long-Stay QM Rating1
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on JOHNSON MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HOME: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On August 1, 2026: CRYSTAL BOTHUN no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for JOHNSON MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HOME

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Minnesota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Minnesota

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 245485.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.