Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 245512

FIRST CARE LIVING CENTER

FOSSTON, Minnesota · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 36

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $14,433.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: April 26, 2024, Fine, $14,433. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
ARVIN, DOUGLASADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/18/2023
CURTIS, MICHAELADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/08/2024
ESSENTIA HEALTHADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/29/2025
GUPTA, PARULADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/02/2025
HURLEY, ALANADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/18/2023
INNOVIS HEALTH LLCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/29/2025
CHRISTENSEN, JAMESCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2020
HAUGEN, JOELCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017
HEILMAN, TIMCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2020
HORN, BEVERLYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017
JACKSON, AARICKCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2020
LEWANDOWSKI, LAURIECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017
MERTZ, TAYLORCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/17/2022
SMITH, BENJAMINCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/17/2022
ARVIN, DOUGLASCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/18/2023
GEFROH ELLISON, STEFANIECORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/12/2024
HURLEY, ALANCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/18/2023
WATTERS, MICHAELCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2023
ARVIN, DOUGLASOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/08/2023
CURTIS, MICHAELOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/08/2024
GUPTA, PARULOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/02/2025
HURLEY, ALANOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/18/2023
INNOVIS HEALTH LLCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of FIRST CARE MEDICAL SERVICES (enrollment ID O20120426000666).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
ESSENTIA HEALTHOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1001/1/2017
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ALAN J HURLEYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/18/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DOUGLAS J ARVINIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/18/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ESSENTIA HEALTHOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/29/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
INNOVIS HEALTH LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/29/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
MICHAEL CURTISIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/8/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PARUL GUPTAIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing9/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
AARICK L JACKSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR01/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BENJAMIN CODY SMITHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing5/17/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BEVERLY MARY HORNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES M CHRISTENSENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR01/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOEL ROSS HAUGENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LAURIE ANN LEWANDOWSKIIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TAYLOR GRANT MERTZIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing5/17/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TIM D HEILMANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR01/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ALAN J HURLEYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing5/18/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DOUGLAS J ARVINIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing5/18/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL WATTERSIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing7/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
STEFANIE GEFROH ELLISONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing8/12/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ALAN J HURLEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/18/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DOUGLAS J ARVINIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/8/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
INNOVIS HEALTH LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
MICHAEL CURTISIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/8/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PARUL GUPTAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing9/2/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1May 28, 2026May 28, 202646
2July 30, 2025July 30, 2025610
3June 6, 2024June 6, 202431

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

13 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
May 28, 2026HealthF 0585Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 30, 2026
May 28, 2026HealthF 0744Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with dementia.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 30, 2026
May 28, 2026HealthF 0883Infection Control DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 30, 2026
May 28, 2026HealthF 0887Infection Control DeficienciesEducate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 30, 2026
July 30, 2025HealthF 0637Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssess the resident when there is a significant change in conditionDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 10, 2025
July 30, 2025HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 10, 2025
July 30, 2025HealthF 0676Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 1, 2025
July 30, 2025HealthF 0688Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 1, 2025
July 30, 2025HealthF 0755Pharmacy Service DeficienciesProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 5, 2025
July 30, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJuly 30, 2025
June 6, 2024HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 30, 2024
June 6, 2024HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 30, 2024
April 26, 2024HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.JYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 13, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
April 26, 2024Fine$14,43353817

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameFIRST CARE MEDICAL SERVICES
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1988-01-01
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishPolk
Telephone Number2184351133
Chain NameESSENTIA HEALTH
Chain ID813
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds36
Average Number of Residents per Day26.2
Overall Rating4
Health Inspection Rating3
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on FIRST CARE LIVING CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On November 1, 2025: TRACI MORRIS no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for FIRST CARE LIVING CENTER

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Minnesota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Minnesota

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 245512.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.