Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 275109

BRENDAN HOUSE

KALISPELL, Montana · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 110

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 2 · Fines: 2 · Fines, total amount: $92,755.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: July 17, 2025, Fine, $56,940. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
MTWY HEALTH5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 02/16/1984
BILAU, KELLYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/15/2025
BURKE, BRIGIDADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/20/2024
EBY, KERRYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/16/2025
ROBBINS, ANNAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/12/2023
BARTHOLOMEW, CRAIGCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
BENNETT, DONALDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/01/2022
COOK, KEITHCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
DUNCAN, HEIDICORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
GOGUEN, MICHAELCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
GORDON, ALICECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
HARRIS, MICHELLECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
KAPTANIAN, MELISSACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
KARAS, JANECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
MATOSICH, BONNIECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/17/2020
NYSTUEN, ROBERTCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2022
PERSER, KARENCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2019
RAY, THOMASCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/28/2021
SEGER, CLINTONCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
SIOMOS, VASSILISCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2022
STOUT PATERSON, COURTNEYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2019
GIBSON, WILLIAMCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2018
LAYTON, ELLENCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/28/2024
OTT, JUSTINCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/28/2024
PILGRIM, PATTICORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/06/2025
SEGER, CLINTONCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
BARTHOLOMEW, CRAIGMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
COOK, KEITHMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
DUNCAN, HEIDIMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
GOGUEN, MICHAELMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
GORDON, ALICEMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
HARRIS, MICHELLEMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
KAPTANIAN, MELISSAMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
KARAS, JANEMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2023
BILAU, KELLYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/17/2013
BURKE, BRIGIDOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/20/2024
EBY, KERRYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/01/2022
ROBBINS, ANNAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/12/2023
ROONEY, JENNYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/19/2026
VANTERPOOL, AMYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/29/2024

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of NORTHWEST HORIZONS INC (enrollment ID O20120730000096).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
MTWY HEALTHOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1002/16/1984
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ANNA ROBBINSIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/12/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRIGID B BURKEIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KELLY A BILAUIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/15/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KERRY J EBYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/16/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/21/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ALICE GORDONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BONNIE K MATOSICHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/17/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CLINTON W SEGERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
COURTNEY L STOUT PATERSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR07/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRAIG BARTHOLOMEWIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DONALD BENNETTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR06/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HEIDI M DUNCANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JANE KARASIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KAREN N PERSERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR07/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KEITH COOKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MELISSA LUNDBECK KAPTANIANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL L GOGUENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHELLE HARRISIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR09/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ROBERT NYSTUENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR01/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
THOMAS G RAYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR01/28/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
VASSILIS J SIOMOSIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR07/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CLINTON W SEGERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER09/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ELLEN LAYTONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER08/28/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JUSTIN OTTIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER08/28/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PATTI L PILGRIMIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER01/6/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM D GIBSONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER03/1/2018
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ALICE GORDONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing9/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CRAIG BARTHOLOMEWIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing9/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HEIDI M DUNCANIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing9/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JANE KARASIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing9/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KEITH COOKIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing9/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MELISSA LUNDBECK KAPTANIANIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing9/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL L GOGUENIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing9/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHELLE HARRISIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing9/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
AMY VANTERPOOLIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/29/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ANNA ROBBINSIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/12/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRIGID B BURKEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing5/20/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JENNY ROONEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/19/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KELLY A BILAUIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing4/17/2013
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KERRY J EBYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1July 17, 2025July 17, 2025183
2August 29, 2024August 29, 202484
3September 14, 2023September 14, 202373

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

33 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
July 30, 2026HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.EYesDeficient, Provider has plan of correctionSeptember 1, 2026
July 30, 2026HealthF 0600Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.DYesPast Non-ComplianceNovember 12, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0550Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0554Resident Rights DeficienciesAllow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0585Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0604Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesEnsure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0655Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admittedDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0677Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0692Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.GNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0693Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
July 17, 2025HealthF 0883Infection Control DeficienciesDevelop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 31, 2025
August 29, 2024HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 11, 2024
August 29, 2024HealthF 0583Resident Rights DeficienciesKeep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 4, 2024
August 29, 2024HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 11, 2024
August 29, 2024HealthF 0610Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 11, 2024
August 29, 2024HealthF 0692Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 11, 2024
August 29, 2024HealthF 0693Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 11, 2024
August 29, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 11, 2024
August 29, 2024HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 11, 2024
September 14, 2023HealthF 0624Resident Rights DeficienciesPrepare residents for a safe transfer or discharge from the nursing home.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 29, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 29, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0660Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesPlan the resident's discharge to meet the resident's goals and needs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 29, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.GNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 29, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0692Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.GNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 29, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0757Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 29, 2023
September 14, 2023HealthF 0760Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure that residents are free from significant medication errors.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 30, 2023

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
July 17, 2025Fine$56,940138056
September 14, 2023Fine$35,815117946

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameNORTHWEST HORIZONS INC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1985-04-17
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishFlathead
Telephone Number4067516500
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilBoth
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds110
Average Number of Residents per Day92.3
Overall Rating3
Health Inspection Rating3
QM Rating1
Long-Stay QM Rating1
Short-Stay QM Rating2
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on BRENDAN HOUSE: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On July 30, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0600, scope and severity D. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for BRENDAN HOUSE

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Montana at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Montana

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 275109.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.