Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 275156
SOUTHWEST MONTANA VETERANS HOME
BUTTE, Montana · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 60
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.
Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 29, 2025.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $8,725,161 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $1,240,234 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $7,484,927 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $7,424,581 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | $60,346 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | $60,346 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: $60,346 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 60 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Bed days available, all components | 21,960 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200 |
| Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days | 1,002 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400 |
| Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days | 6,871 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500 |
| Other-payer patient days | 7,665 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600 |
| Total patient days, all components | 15,538 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Medicare discharges | 10 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900 |
| Medicaid discharges | 18 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000 |
| Other-payer discharges | 27 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100 |
| Total discharges, all components | 55 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 100.2 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 381.72 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 282.51 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1438578, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.
Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023
Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 18, 2024.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $8,887,304 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $1,464,903 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $7,422,401 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $7,393,041 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | $29,360 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | $29,360 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: $29,360 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 60 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 15,490 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 73 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 41.16 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 596.42 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 212.19 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1395091, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.
Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022
Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on October 11, 2023.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $7,103,191 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $1,105,746 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $5,997,445 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $5,939,034 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | $58,411 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $11,223 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | $69,634 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: $69,634 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 60 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 13,615 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 71 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 45.53 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 263.33 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 191.76 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1366117, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.
Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021
Cost report for August 6, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 147 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 26, 2022.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $2,327,868 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $193,615 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $2,134,253 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $1,978,603 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | $155,650 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | $155,650 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: $155,650 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 36 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 3,576 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 11 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 144.5 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 267.5 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 325.09 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1334073, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MONROE, DUSTIN | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/01/2022 |
| THOMPSON, CHRISTOPHER | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/05/2020 |
| THOMPSON, CHRISTOPHER | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/05/2020 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of BUTTE NURSING AND REHAB CENTER LLC (enrollment ID O20201201001307).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EDURO HEALTHCARE LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 5/4/2020 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| MICHAEL C BEWSEY | Individual | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 5/4/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CHRISTOPHER M THOMPSON | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | 100 | 4/5/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DUSTIN MONROE | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 6/1/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CHRISTOPHER M THOMPSON | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100 | 4/5/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MARTIN G SCHIFFERT | Individual | OTHER | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- July 1, 2024: BRIAN J RAMOS no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2024: MARTIN G SCHIFFERT (OTHER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2024: DUSTIN MONROE (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since June 1, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-07-01.csv
Recent changes on this record
- August 29, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2024.zip
- September 18, 2024: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2023, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2023.zip
- July 1, 2024: BRIAN J RAMOS no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2024: MARTIN G SCHIFFERT (OTHER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2024: DUSTIN MONROE (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since June 1, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-07-01.csv
- October 11, 2023: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2022, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2022.zip
- September 26, 2022: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2021, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2021.zip
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | June 19, 2025 | June 19, 2025 | 9 | 8 |
| 2 | June 6, 2024 | June 6, 2024 | 3 | 3 |
| 3 | May 11, 2023 | May 11, 2023 | 6 | 2 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
18 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 19, 2025 | Health | F 0605 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2025 |
| June 19, 2025 | Health | F 0644 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2025 |
| June 19, 2025 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2025 |
| June 19, 2025 | Health | F 0677 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2025 |
| June 19, 2025 | Health | F 0690 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2025 |
| June 19, 2025 | Health | F 0700 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2025 |
| June 19, 2025 | Health | F 0742 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty, or who has a history of trauma and/or post-traumatic stress disorder. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2025 |
| June 19, 2025 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2025 |
| June 19, 2025 | Health | F 0921 | Environmental Deficiencies | Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 21, 2025 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0550 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 9, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0644 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 9, 2024 |
| June 6, 2024 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 9, 2024 |
| May 11, 2023 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 1, 2023 |
| May 11, 2023 | Health | F 0679 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide activities to meet all resident's needs. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 1, 2023 |
| May 11, 2023 | Health | F 0697 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services. | G | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 1, 2023 |
| May 11, 2023 | Health | F 0755 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 1, 2023 |
| May 11, 2023 | Health | F 0758 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 1, 2023 |
| May 11, 2023 | Health | F 0813 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Have a policy regarding use and storage of foods brought to residents by family and other visitors. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 1, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | For profit - Limited Liability company |
| Legal Business Name | BUTTE NURSING AND REHAB CENTER LLC |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 2021-08-06 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | N |
| County/Parish | Silver Bow |
| Telephone Number | 4067923100 |
| Chain Name | EDURO HEALTHCARE |
| Chain ID | 193 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Both |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Partial |
| Number of Certified Beds | 60 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 57.3 |
| Overall Rating | 5 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 4 |
| QM Rating | 4 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 4 |
| Processing Date | 2026-08-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on SOUTHWEST MONTANA VETERANS HOME: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On August 29, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for SOUTHWEST MONTANA VETERANS HOME
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Montana at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Montana
- GLACIER NATIONAL PARK, WEST GLACIER Water discharge permit
- GLACIER GOLD, LCC, OLNEY Water discharge permit
- CITY OF MILES CITY, MILES CITY Water discharge permit
- CITY OF HAMILTON, HAMILTON Water discharge permit
- CITY OF LEWISTOWN, LEWISTOWN Water discharge permit
- CITY OF WHITEFISH, WHITEFISH Water discharge permit
- CITY OF LAUREL, LAUREL Water discharge permit
- BIGFORK COUNTY WATER AND SEWER, BIGFORK Water discharge permit
- MC GREW BURN SITE, WIBAUX Air emission source
- YELLOWSTONE COUNTY GENERATING STATION, LAUREL Air emission source
- TRUENORTH STEEL - BILLINGS, BILLINGS Air emission source
- CITY OF BILLINGS REGIONAL LANDFILL, BILLINGS Air emission source
- BILLINGS TRANSPORTATION OPERATIONS, BILLINGS Air emission source
- BILLINGS BAKERY, BILLINGS Air emission source
- PAR MONTANA BULK TERMINAL, BILLINGS Air emission source
- YELLOWSTONE POWER PLANT, BILLINGS Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 275156.