Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 275159

BEARTOOTH REHABILITATION AND NURSING LLC

COLUMBUS, Montana · Medicare and Medicaid

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

CMS lists this facility as a Special Focus Facility candidate (Care Compare Special Focus Status: SFF Candidate)

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 3 · Fines: 2 · Fines, total amount: $50,592.00 · Payment denials: 1. The most recent penalty on file: February 10, 2026, Fine, $32,988. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
WHITE ASH LLC5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization10%since 02/15/2024
LARSEN, KOLE5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividual10%since 07/15/2024
OLMSTEAD, STACEYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
LAKE, BRANDYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/15/2024
MACEWEN, JEFFREYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/15/2024
OLMSTEAD, STACEYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of BEARTOOTH REHABILITATION AND NURSING LLC (enrollment ID O20241106000748).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
CHARLY BELLO FAMILY LIMITED PARTNERSHIPOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST352/15/2024
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
MAZE FAMILY LIMITED PARTNERSHIPOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST552/15/2024
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
WHITE ASH LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST102/15/2024
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
JARED E SWAINIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST17.152/15/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KOLE LARSENIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST107/15/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WALTER E MYERSIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST25.852/15/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
STACEY OLMSTEADIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRANDY LAKEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/15/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JEFFREY MACEWENIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing7/15/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
STACEY OLMSTEADIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

  • April 1, 2026: STACEY OLMSTEAD (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2026. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
  • April 1, 2026: STACEY OLMSTEAD (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2026. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: WALTER E MYERS (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since February 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: JEFFREY MACEWEN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since July 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: MAZE FAMILY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since February 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: KOLE LARSEN (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since July 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: BRANDY LAKE (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since July 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: WHITE ASH LLC (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since February 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: CHARLY BELLO FAMILY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since February 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: JARED E SWAIN (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since February 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv

Recent changes on this record

  • April 1, 2026: STACEY OLMSTEAD (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2026. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
  • April 1, 2026: STACEY OLMSTEAD (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on April 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 1, 2026. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-04-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: WALTER E MYERS (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since February 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: JEFFREY MACEWEN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since July 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: MAZE FAMILY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since February 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: KOLE LARSEN (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since July 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: BRANDY LAKE (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since July 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: WHITE ASH LLC (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since February 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: CHARLY BELLO FAMILY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since February 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv
  • September 1, 2025: JARED E SWAIN (5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on September 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since February 15, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-09-01.csv

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1February 10, 2026February 10, 20263216
2December 5, 2024December 5, 20241120

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

43 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
February 10, 2026HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0600Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0610Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0679Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide activities to meet all resident's needs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0688Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.JYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 27, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0742Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide the appropriate treatment and services to a resident who displays or is diagnosed with mental disorder or psychosocial adjustment difficulty, or who has a history of trauma and/or post-traumatic stress disorder.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0801Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEmploy sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 25, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0835Administration DeficienciesAdminister the facility in a manner that enables it to use its resources effectively and efficiently.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0837Administration DeficienciesEstablish a governing body that is legally responsible for establishing and implementing policies for managing and operating the facility and appoints a properly licensed administrator responsible for managing the facility.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0838Administration DeficienciesConduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0847Administration DeficienciesInform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0865Administration DeficienciesHave a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
February 10, 2026HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2026
September 4, 2025HealthF 0600Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.GYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0610Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0628Resident Rights DeficienciesProvide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0637Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesAssess the resident when there is a significant change in conditionDYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0640Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEncode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0641Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.GYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.JYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0865Administration DeficienciesHave a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.FYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
September 4, 2025HealthF 0868Administration DeficienciesHave the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterlyFYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 3, 2025
July 31, 2025HealthF 0577Resident Rights DeficienciesAllow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 22, 2025
July 31, 2025HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 22, 2025
July 31, 2025HealthF 0585Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionAugust 22, 2025
December 5, 2024HealthF 0584Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 3, 2025
December 5, 2024HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 3, 2025
December 5, 2024HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 3, 2025
December 5, 2024HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 3, 2025
December 5, 2024HealthF 0677Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 3, 2025
December 5, 2024HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 3, 2025
December 5, 2024HealthF 0758Pharmacy Service DeficienciesImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 3, 2025
December 5, 2024HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 3, 2025

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

Penalty dateTypeFine amountPayment denial beganPayment denial, daysFine ID
February 10, 2026Fine$32,988137244
February 10, 2026Payment DenialMarch 17, 202641
September 4, 2025Fine$17,604134982

From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeFor profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameBEARTOOTH REHABILITATION AND NURSING LLC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2024-12-18
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishStillwater
Telephone Number4062905070
Chain NameTHE CHARLY BELLO FAMILY, THE MAZE FAMILY, THE SWAIN FAMILY, & WALTER MYERS
Chain ID803
Special Focus StatusSFF Candidate
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Average Number of Residents per Day41.8
Overall Rating1
Health Inspection Rating1
QM Rating2
Long-Stay QM Rating2
Processing Date2026-08-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on BEARTOOTH REHABILITATION AND NURSING LLC: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for BEARTOOTH REHABILITATION AND NURSING LLC

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Montana at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Montana

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 275159.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.