Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 345095
Chatham Nursing & Rehabilitation
Elkin, North Carolina · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 99
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.
Cost report for October 1, 2023 to September 30, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on October 10, 2025.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $17,364,017 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $2,748,124 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $14,615,893 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $14,771,854 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$155,961 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $127,495 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | −$28,466 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: −$28,466 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Bed days available, all components | 46,482 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200 |
| Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days | 3,062 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400 |
| Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days | 24,491 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500 |
| Other-payer patient days | 13,793 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600 |
| Total patient days, all components | 41,346 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Medicare discharges | 52 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900 |
| Medicaid discharges | 52 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000 |
| Other-payer discharges | 146 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100 |
| Total discharges, all components | 250 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 58.88 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 470.98 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 165.38 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1440722, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.
Fiscal year 2023, ended September 30, 2023
Cost report for October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 30, 2025.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $15,442,905 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $1,958,898 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $13,484,007 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $13,262,487 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | $221,520 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $469,974 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | $691,494 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: $691,494 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 37,373 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 314 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 58.25 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 364.25 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 119.02 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1402913, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.
Fiscal year 2022, ended September 30, 2022
Cost report for October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 8, 2024.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $13,716,297 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $1,789,452 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $11,926,845 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $11,352,662 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | $574,183 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $529,819 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | $1,104,002 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: $1,104,002 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 33,582 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 282 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 71.23 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 416.5 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 119.09 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1373170, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.
Fiscal year 2021, ended September 30, 2021
Cost report for October 1, 2020 to September 30, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 14, 2023.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $12,179,717 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $1,633,626 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $10,546,091 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $10,791,059 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$244,968 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $740,951 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | $495,983 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: $495,983 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 30,517 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 246 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 66.02 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 198.75 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 124.05 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1358855, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.
Fiscal year 2020, ended September 30, 2020
Cost report for October 1, 2019 to September 30, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 18, 2022.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $11,964,474 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $1,814,868 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $10,149,606 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $10,430,893 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$281,287 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $227,944 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | −$53,343 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: −$53,343 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 39,035 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 206 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 51.75 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 515.9 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 189.49 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1330056, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.
Fiscal year 2019, ended September 30, 2019
Cost report for October 1, 2018 to September 30, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 16, 2021.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $12,662,624 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $2,523,716 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $10,138,908 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $10,583,301 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$444,393 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $103,950 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | −$340,443 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: −$340,443 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 42,634 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 337 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 37.22 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 323.35 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 126.51 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1300017, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.
Fiscal year 2018, ended September 30, 2018
Cost report for October 1, 2017 to September 30, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 18, 2020.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $12,604,236 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $2,505,324 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $10,098,912 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $10,262,276 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$163,364 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $102,246 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | −$61,118 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: −$61,118 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 41,404 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 286 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 44.82 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 388.24 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 144.77 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1268711, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.
Fiscal year 2017, ended September 30, 2017
Cost report for October 1, 2016 to September 30, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 24, 2020.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $11,773,817 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $2,023,783 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $9,750,034 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $9,365,726 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | $384,308 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $64,334 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | $448,642 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: $448,642 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 41,091 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 269 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 40.55 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 776.76 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 152.75 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1253110, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.
Fiscal year 2016, ended September 30, 2016
Cost report for October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 26, 2018.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $11,525,662 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $2,180,879 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $9,344,783 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $9,441,968 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$97,185 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $69,770 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | −$27,415 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: −$27,415 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 42,526 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 260 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 36.51 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 1,039.68 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 163.56 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1203049, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.
Fiscal year 2015, ended September 30, 2015
Cost report for October 1, 2014 to September 30, 2015 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 19, 2018.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $11,675,848 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $2,360,025 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $9,315,823 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $9,568,445 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$252,622 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $49,491 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | −$203,131 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: −$203,131 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 41,827 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 297 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 41.45 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 432.22 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 140.83 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1200475, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.
Fiscal year 2014, ended September 30, 2014
Cost report for May 9, 2014 to September 30, 2014 — a reporting period of 144 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 17, 2016.
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total patient revenue | $4,475,392 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100 |
| Contractual allowances and discounts | $989,713 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100 |
| Net patient revenue | $3,485,679 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100 |
| Total operating expenses | $3,538,272 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100 |
| Net income from service to patients | −$52,593 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100 |
| Total other income | $6,447 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100 |
| Net income after other income | −$46,146 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100 |
Net income: −$46,146 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).
| Figure | As filed | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Total facility beds, all components | 127 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100 |
| Total patient days, all components | 15,930 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700 |
| Total discharges, all components | 130 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200 |
| Average length of stay, Medicare, in days | 31.24 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400 |
| Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days | 517.5 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500 |
| Average length of stay, all patients, in days | 122.54 | CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600 |
CMS report record 1141697, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DGS INVESTMENTS LLC | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 100% | since 05/09/2014 |
| BOYETTE, BARBARA | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/09/2014 |
| GILLIAM, ROBERT | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/01/2021 |
| SCHMIDLIN, JAMES | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/01/2021 |
| CENTURY CARE MANAGEMENT, INC. | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/09/2014 |
| BRASWELL, JULIE | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/28/2021 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of DGS HEALTHCARE ELKIN INC DBA CHATHAM NURSING AND REHABILITATION (enrollment ID O20140718000243).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DGS INVESTMENTS LLC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 5/9/2014 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| BARBARA BOYETTE | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 5/9/2014 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JAMES SCHMIDLIN | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | 100 | 9/1/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ROBERT GILLIAM | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | 100 | 9/1/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CENTURY CARE MANAGEMENT, INC. | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | 100 | 5/9/2014 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| JULIE BRASWELL | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 6/28/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- October 2, 2023: DEBBIE COMBS-JONES no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: JULIE BRASWELL (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since June 28, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
Recent changes on this record
- February 19, 2026: An inspection was recorded in inspection cycle 1. NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv
- October 10, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2024.zip
- January 30, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2023, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2023.zip
- November 21, 2024: An inspection was recorded in inspection cycle 2. NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv
- February 8, 2024: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2022, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2022.zip
- October 2, 2023: DEBBIE COMBS-JONES no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: JULIE BRASWELL (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since June 28, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- July 14, 2023: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2021, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2021.zip
- June 22, 2023: An inspection was recorded in inspection cycle 3. NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv
- August 18, 2022: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2020, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2020.zip
- September 16, 2021: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2019, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2019.zip
- September 18, 2020: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2018, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2018.zip
- March 24, 2020: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2017, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2017.zip
- July 26, 2018: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2016, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2016.zip
- July 19, 2018: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2015, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2015.zip
- August 17, 2016: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2014, on form CMS-2540-10. SNF10FY2014.zip
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | February 19, 2026 | November 21, 2024 | 0 | 3 |
| 1 | February 19, 2026 | February 19, 2026 | 0 | 6 |
| 2 | November 21, 2024 | June 22, 2023 | 0 | 1 |
| 2 | November 21, 2024 | November 21, 2024 | 0 | 3 |
| 3 | June 22, 2023 | March 30, 2022 | 1 | 1 |
| 3 | June 22, 2023 | June 22, 2023 | 1 | 1 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Aug2026.csv, processed on August 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
1 deficiency on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 22, 2023 | Health | F 0584 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 10, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | For profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | DGS HEALTHCARE ELKIN INC DBA CHATHAM NURSING AND REHABILITATION |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1975-09-01 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | N |
| County/Parish | Surry |
| Telephone Number | 3365277600 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Both |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 99 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 95.2 |
| Overall Rating | 5 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 5 |
| QM Rating | 2 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 2 |
| Short-Stay QM Rating | 3 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on Chatham Nursing & Rehabilitation: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On February 19, 2026: An inspection was recorded in inspection cycle 1. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for Chatham Nursing & Rehabilitation
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in North Carolina at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in North Carolina
- CORNSILK COMMUNITY CENTER, ROBBINSVILLE Water discharge permit
- ACQUONI ROAD APARTMENTS, CHEROKEE Water discharge permit
- BRANDI LAMBERT HOMESITE, CHEROKEE Water discharge permit
- ASHLEIGH STEPHENS HOMESITE, BIG COVE Water discharge permit
- ELIZABETH WAHNEETAH HOMESITE, CHEROKEE Water discharge permit
- KOA COMMON AREA RENOVATIONS, CHEROKEE Water discharge permit
- CIHA LONG TERM CARE COMMUNITY, CHEROKEE Water discharge permit
- MINGO FALLS TRAILHEAD IMPROVEMENTS, CHEROKEE Water discharge permit
- APAC - ATLANTIC INC. - ENKA, CANDLER Air emission source
- MISSION ST. JOSEPH'S HEALTH SYSTEM, INC., ASHEVILLE Air emission source
- ASHEVILLE METAL FINISHING, INC., ASHEVILLE Air emission source
- AMCOR FLEXIBLES, INC, ASHEVILLE Air emission source
- BUNCOMBE COUNTY LANDFILL II, ALEXANDER Air emission source
- MILKCO, INC., ASHEVILLE Air emission source
- VETERANS AFFAIRS MEDICAL CENTER, ASHEVILLE Air emission source
- DUKE ENERGY PROGRESS, INC., ARDEN Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 345095.