Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 345097

Jesse Helms Nursing Center

Monroe, North Carolina · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 70

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 28, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$8,441,900CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,033,939CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$6,407,961CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$9,971,422CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,563,461CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$15,395CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$3,548,066CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$3,548,066 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components70CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components25,620CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days2,140CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days9,973CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days10,819CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components22,932CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges67CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges23CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges172CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components262CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days31.94CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days433.61CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days87.53CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1434916, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 20, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$6,739,359CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$1,264,334CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$5,475,025CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$9,083,763CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,608,738CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$23,469CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$3,585,269CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$3,585,269 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components70CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components21,765CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components216CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days32.97CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days260CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days100.76CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1392637, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 9, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$5,261,201CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$1,289,612CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$3,971,589CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$8,370,390CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$4,398,801CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$30,687CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$4,368,114CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$4,368,114 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components70CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components17,133CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components164CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days32.02CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days309.74CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days104.47CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1364283, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021

Cost report for January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on December 18, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$7,465,138CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,080,832CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$5,384,306CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$7,502,759CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$2,118,453CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$539,707CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$1,578,746CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$1,578,746 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components70CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components16,960CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components237CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days30.45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days200.07CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days71.56CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1370798, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended December 31, 2020

Cost report for February 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020 — a reporting period of 334 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on January 17, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$7,095,086CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,440,464CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,654,622CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$5,399,917CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$745,295CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$76,893CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$668,402CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$668,402 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components70CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components17,461CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components183CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days32.54CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days291CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days95.42CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1340248, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
ADVOCATE HEALTH INCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/22/2025
ATRIUM HEALTH INCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/22/2025
BROAD RIVER REHABILITATIONADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/05/2025
PRO DIVERSITY PARTNERS, LLCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/22/2025
SAEED, MARYAMADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/16/2024
SCOTLAND, LINDENADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/15/2021
THE CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG HOSPITAL AUTHORITYADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/01/2020
BALL, RODNEYCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/01/2023
HAYNES, KENNETHCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/20/2019
BALL, RODNEYMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/30/2023
HAYNES, KENNETHMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/21/2019
RISSMILLER, SCOTTMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/21/2019
ADVOCATE HEALTH INCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/02/2022
ATRIUM HEALTH INCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/09/2020
BROAD RIVER REHABILITATIONOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/01/2023
PRO DIVERSITY PARTNERS, LLCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/01/2021
SAEED, MARYAMOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/16/2024
SCOTLAND, LINDENOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/15/2021
THE CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG HOSPITAL AUTHORITYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/01/2020
BALL, RODNEYTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/30/2023
HAYNES, KENNETHTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/21/2019
RISSMILLER, SCOTTTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/21/2019

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of AHSNF, INC. (enrollment ID O20200327000649).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
ADVOCATE HEALTH INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing4/22/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ATRIUM HEALTH INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing4/22/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
BROAD RIVER REHABILITATIONOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/5/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
LINDEN F SCOTLANDIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/15/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARYAM SAEEDIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/16/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PRO DIVERSITY PARTNERS, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing4/22/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
THE CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG HOSPITAL AUTHORITYOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing2/1/2020
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
RODNEY E BALLIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing2/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KENNETH D HAYNESIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing6/21/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RODNEY E BALLIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing8/30/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SCOTT C RISSMILLERIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing6/21/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KENNETH HAYNESIndividualOFFICERNot stated in the filing12/20/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ADVOCATE HEALTH INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing12/2/2022
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ATRIUM HEALTH INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing10/9/2020
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
BROAD RIVER REHABILITATIONOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing6/1/2023
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
LINDEN F SCOTLANDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing2/15/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARYAM SAEEDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/16/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PRO DIVERSITY PARTNERS, LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing8/1/2021
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
THE CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG HOSPITAL AUTHORITYOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing2/1/2020
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
KENNETH D HAYNESIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/21/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RODNEY E BALLIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/30/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SCOTT C RISSMILLERIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/21/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1August 14, 2025May 9, 202421
2May 9, 2024December 15, 202202
3December 15, 2022June 10, 202131

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

5 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
August 14, 2025HealthF 0580Resident Rights DeficienciesImmediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 11, 2025
August 14, 2025HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 11, 2025
December 15, 2022HealthF 0645Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesPASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual DisabilitiesDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 12, 2023
December 15, 2022HealthF 0732Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesPost nurse staffing information every day.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 12, 2023
December 15, 2022HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 12, 2023

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameAHSNF, INC.
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1973-06-18
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishUnion
Telephone Number9809933280
Chain NameATRIUM HEALTH
Chain ID55
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds70
Average Number of Residents per Day61.8
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating5
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating2
Short-Stay QM Rating4
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on Jesse Helms Nursing Center: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On August 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for Jesse Helms Nursing Center

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in North Carolina at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in North Carolina

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 345097.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.