Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 345369
Rex Rehab & Nursing Care Center
Raleigh, North Carolina · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 120
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $15,646.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: May 17, 2024, Fine, $15,646. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| THE NEW TRUSTEES OF THE REX HOSPITAL INC | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 100% | since 03/16/1986 |
| UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH CARE SYSTEM | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 100% | since 04/01/2000 |
| CAROLL, ELLEN | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/29/2016 |
| HOBBS, NEDRA | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/13/2025 |
| JAMES, MICHAEL | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/01/1991 |
| LIEBOWITZ, STEVEN | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/01/1991 |
| THE NEW TRUSTEES OF THE REX HOSPITAL INC | ADP OF THE SNF | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/16/1986 |
| UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH CARE SYSTEM | ADP OF THE SNF | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/01/2000 |
| YORK, HAYLIAN | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/05/2025 |
| ZINNER, TANYA | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/01/2007 |
| ANDERSON, KEVIN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/01/2021 |
| ARROWOOD, CATHARINE | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/24/2014 |
| BRYANT, WILLIAM | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/04/2024 |
| COLLINS, ANN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/01/2016 |
| EWEND, MATTHEW | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/22/2019 |
| FISCUS, LYNNE | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/20/2021 |
| FITZPATRICK, MELISSA | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/01/2020 |
| LINDSAY, JEFFREY | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/26/2023 |
| MATTHEWS, DAYATRA | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/05/2025 |
| MCNEILL, CARYN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/05/2025 |
| MILLS, DAVID | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/01/2021 |
| OAKES, ROBERT | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/01/2021 |
| PAGE, CRISTEN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/04/2025 |
| PEARSON, MARILYN | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/07/2022 |
| SANDNER, JASON | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/01/2019 |
| SCARBOROUGH, TAMMY | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/04/2025 |
| SETLIFF, MICHAEL | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 10/28/2024 |
| KOLACZ, NICOLE | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/28/2025 |
| MATHEW, BENJAMIN | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/08/2023 |
| SETLIFF, MICHAEL | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 10/28/2024 |
| TEMPKE, ROY | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/03/2013 |
| UDAYAKUMAR, MEERA | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/06/2023 |
| CAROLL, ELLEN | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/29/2016 |
| HOBBS, NEDRA | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/13/2025 |
| JAMES, MICHAEL | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/01/1991 |
| LIEBOWITZ, STEVEN | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 07/01/1991 |
| YORK, HAYLIAN | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 01/05/2025 |
| ZINNER, TANYA | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/01/2007 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of REX HOSPITAL INC (enrollment ID O20090213000243).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| THE NEW TRUSTEES OF THE REX HOSPITAL INC | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 3/16/1986 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH CARE SYSTEM | Organization | 5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 4/1/2000 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| ELLEN CAROLL | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 4/29/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| HAYLIAN RENE YORK | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 1/5/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MICHAEL JAMES | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/1991 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| NEDRA LASHAWN HOBBS | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 4/13/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| STEVEN M LIEBOWITZ | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/1991 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TANYA E ZINNER | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 3/1/2007 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| THE NEW TRUSTEES OF THE REX HOSPITAL INC | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 3/16/1986 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH CARE SYSTEM | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 4/1/2000 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| ANN S COLLINS | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 5/1/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CARYN COPPEDGE MCNEILL | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 5/5/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CATHARINE BIGGS ARROWOOD | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 1/24/2014 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CRISTEN PARKER PAGE | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 3/4/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DAVID MILLS | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DAYATRA TISHAUN MATTHEWS | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 5/5/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JASON THOMAS SANDNER | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JEFFREY TODD LINDSAY | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 12/26/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| KEVIN TYLER ANDERSON | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| LYNNE FISCUS | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 4/20/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MARILYN R PEARSON | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 3/7/2022 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MATTHEW G EWEND | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 7/22/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MELISSA ANNE FITZPATRICK | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 9/1/2020 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MICHAEL CHAD SETLIFF | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 10/28/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ROBERT BRADFORD OAKES | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 1/1/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TAMMY SCARBOROUGH | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 3/4/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| WILLIAM ROBERT BRYANT | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 1/4/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| BENJAMIN J MATHEW | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 1/8/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MEERA UDAYAKUMAR | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 3/6/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MICHAEL CHAD SETLIFF | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 10/28/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| NICOLE M KOLACZ | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 4/28/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ROY CONRAD TEMPKE | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 5/3/2013 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ELLEN CAROLL | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 4/29/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| HAYLIAN RENE YORK | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 1/5/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MICHAEL JAMES | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/1991 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| NEDRA LASHAWN HOBBS | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 4/13/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| STEVEN M LIEBOWITZ | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 7/1/1991 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TANYA E ZINNER | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 3/1/2007 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- March 1, 2026: KIRSTEN S RIGGS no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2026: ARVIL WESLEY BURKS no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2026: LORIE ANN RHINE no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2026: NICOLE M KOLACZ (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 28, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2026: NEDRA LASHAWN HOBBS (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 13, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2026: NEDRA LASHAWN HOBBS (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 13, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: KIRSTEN S RIGGS no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: ELLEN CAROLL no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: ROY CONRAD TEMPKE no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: KEVIN DWAN HOWELL no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: COURTNEY CROWDER no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MICHAEL JAMES no longer appears as CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: TANYA E ZINNER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: REBECCA GALLEHUGH GLENN no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH CARE SYSTEM no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: RIG PATEL no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: STEVEN M LIEBOWITZ no longer appears as CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: DAVJE CARIE NEVILLE no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: ELLEN CAROLL (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 29, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: ELLEN CAROLL (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 29, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: CRISTEN PARKER PAGE (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 4, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: ROY CONRAD TEMPKE (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 3, 2013. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: HAYLIAN RENE YORK (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 5, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: HAYLIAN RENE YORK (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 5, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MICHAEL JAMES (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1991. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MICHAEL JAMES (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1991. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MICHAEL CHAD SETLIFF (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since October 28, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MICHAEL CHAD SETLIFF (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since October 28, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MATTHEW G EWEND (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 22, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: TANYA E ZINNER (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2007. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: TANYA E ZINNER (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2007. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH CARE SYSTEM (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 1, 2000. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: STEVEN M LIEBOWITZ (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1991. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: STEVEN M LIEBOWITZ (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1991. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: LYNNE FISCUS (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 20, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: WILLIAM ROBERT BRYANT (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 4, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: DAYATRA TISHAUN MATTHEWS (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 5, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: THE NEW TRUSTEES OF THE REX HOSPITAL INC (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 16, 1986. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: CARYN COPPEDGE MCNEILL (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 5, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: TAMMY SCARBOROUGH (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 4, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2025: GINGER BAKER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2025: DAVJE CARIE NEVILLE (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since August 30, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-01-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: ARVIL WESLEY BURKS no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: JOHN PETER LEWIS no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: ERNEST L BOVIO no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: ERNEST L BOVIO no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: WILLIAM ROBERT BRYANT no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: KIRSTEN S RIGGS (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on August 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since January 7, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: KIRSTEN S RIGGS (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on August 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since January 7, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: MICHAEL JAMES (CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on August 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1991. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: JEFFREY TODD LINDSAY (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on August 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since December 26, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: TANYA E ZINNER (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on August 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2007. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2024: STEVEN M LIEBOWITZ (CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on August 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1991. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2023: TERESA ARTIS no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2023: STEPHEN W BURRISS no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2023: MEERA UDAYAKUMAR (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on August 1, 2023; associated with this enrollment since March 6, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-08-01.csv
- August 1, 2023: WILLIAM ROBERT BRYANT (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on August 1, 2023; associated with this enrollment since May 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-08-01.csv
- March 15, 2023: LINDA BUTLER no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-03-15.csv
- March 15, 2023: ANDREW KENNETH ZUKOWSKI no longer appears as OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-03-15.csv
- March 15, 2023: BENJAMIN J MATHEW (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since January 8, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-03-15.csv
- March 15, 2023: LORIE ANN RHINE (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 15, 2023; associated with this enrollment since November 28, 2022. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-03-15.csv
Recent changes on this record
- March 1, 2026: KIRSTEN S RIGGS no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2026: ARVIL WESLEY BURKS no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2026: LORIE ANN RHINE no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2026: NICOLE M KOLACZ (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 28, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2026: NEDRA LASHAWN HOBBS (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 13, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- March 1, 2026: NEDRA LASHAWN HOBBS (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on March 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 13, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-03-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: KIRSTEN S RIGGS no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: ELLEN CAROLL no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: ROY CONRAD TEMPKE no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: KEVIN DWAN HOWELL no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: COURTNEY CROWDER no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MICHAEL JAMES no longer appears as CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: TANYA E ZINNER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: REBECCA GALLEHUGH GLENN no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH CARE SYSTEM no longer appears as OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: RIG PATEL no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: STEVEN M LIEBOWITZ no longer appears as CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: DAVJE CARIE NEVILLE no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: ELLEN CAROLL (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 29, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: ELLEN CAROLL (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 29, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: CRISTEN PARKER PAGE (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 4, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: ROY CONRAD TEMPKE (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 3, 2013. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: HAYLIAN RENE YORK (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 5, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: HAYLIAN RENE YORK (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 5, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MICHAEL JAMES (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1991. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MICHAEL JAMES (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1991. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MICHAEL CHAD SETLIFF (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since October 28, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MICHAEL CHAD SETLIFF (CORPORATE OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since October 28, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: MATTHEW G EWEND (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 22, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: TANYA E ZINNER (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2007. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: TANYA E ZINNER (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2007. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH CARE SYSTEM (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 1, 2000. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: STEVEN M LIEBOWITZ (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1991. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: STEVEN M LIEBOWITZ (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since July 1, 1991. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: LYNNE FISCUS (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since April 20, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: WILLIAM ROBERT BRYANT (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since January 4, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: DAYATRA TISHAUN MATTHEWS (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 5, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: THE NEW TRUSTEES OF THE REX HOSPITAL INC (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 16, 1986. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: CARYN COPPEDGE MCNEILL (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 5, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
- January 1, 2026: TAMMY SCARBOROUGH (CORPORATE DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on January 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 4, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-01-01.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | August 21, 2025 | May 17, 2024 | 1 | 2 |
| 2 | May 17, 2024 | March 23, 2023 | 5 | 2 |
| 3 | March 23, 2023 | January 13, 2022 | 3 | 0 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
9 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 21, 2025 | Health | F 0578 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 5, 2025 |
| May 17, 2024 | Health | F 0661 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure necessary information is communicated to the resident, and receiving health care provider at the time of a planned discharge. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 30, 2024 |
| May 17, 2024 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | J | Yes | Past Non-Compliance | January 16, 2024 |
| May 17, 2024 | Health | F 0695 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 30, 2024 |
| May 17, 2024 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 30, 2024 |
| May 17, 2024 | Health | F 0867 | Administration Deficiencies | Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | May 30, 2024 |
| March 23, 2023 | Health | F 0685 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Assist a resident in gaining access to vision and hearing services. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 14, 2023 |
| March 23, 2023 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 14, 2023 |
| March 23, 2023 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | April 14, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
| Penalty date | Type | Fine amount | Payment denial began | Payment denial, days | Fine ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 17, 2024 | Fine | $15,646 | 42368 |
From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Government - Hospital district |
| Legal Business Name | REX HOSPITAL INC |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1991-05-21 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | Y |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Wake |
| Telephone Number | 9197846600 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 120 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 101.7 |
| Overall Rating | 5 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 4 |
| QM Rating | 4 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 5 |
| Short-Stay QM Rating | 4 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on Rex Rehab & Nursing Care Center: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On March 1, 2026: KIRSTEN S RIGGS no longer appears as CORPORATE OFFICER in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for Rex Rehab & Nursing Care Center
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in North Carolina at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in North Carolina
- PANTHER LANDING, MOYOCK Water discharge permit
- CUNC BEHAVIORAL HEALTH, LENOIR Water discharge permit
- BEVERLY PHASE 1, FOUR OAKS Water discharge permit
- CADENCE MINT HILL PHASES 2 - 4, MINT HILL Water discharge permit
- FEARRINGTON SECTION X AREA D PHASE 1 - MONTGOMERY, WILLIAMS Water discharge permit
- SANFORD COMMONS, SANFORD Water discharge permit
- HIGHWAY 27 SELF STORAGE, COATS Water discharge permit
- VOGEL ESTATE, FLETCHER Water discharge permit
- APAC - ATLANTIC INC. - ENKA, CANDLER Air emission source
- MISSION ST. JOSEPH'S HEALTH SYSTEM, INC., ASHEVILLE Air emission source
- ASHEVILLE METAL FINISHING, INC., ASHEVILLE Air emission source
- AMCOR FLEXIBLES, INC, ASHEVILLE Air emission source
- BUNCOMBE COUNTY LANDFILL II, ALEXANDER Air emission source
- MILKCO, INC., ASHEVILLE Air emission source
- VETERANS AFFAIRS MEDICAL CENTER, ASHEVILLE Air emission source
- DUKE ENERGY PROGRESS, INC., ARDEN Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 345369.