Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 355039

GRIGGS COUNTY CARE CENTER

COOPERSTOWN, North Dakota · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 40

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 19, 2026.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1447946, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2024, ended June 30, 2024

Cost report for July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 18, 2025.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1420627, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended June 30, 2023

Cost report for July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 18, 2024.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1375150, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended June 30, 2022

Cost report for July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 28, 2023.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1343502, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended June 30, 2021

Cost report for July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 30, 2022.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1313248, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended June 30, 2020

Cost report for July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 23, 2021.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1282845, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended June 30, 2019

Cost report for July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 20, 2020.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1252924, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended June 30, 2018

Cost report for July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 4, 2019.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1218942, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended June 30, 2017

Cost report for July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on November 3, 2017.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1177910, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended June 30, 2016

Cost report for July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on November 16, 2016.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1146451, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended June 30, 2015

Cost report for July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on October 30, 2015.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1112058, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Fiscal year 2014, ended June 30, 2014

Cost report for July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 3, 2015.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1085363, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2013.zip.

Fiscal year 2013, ended June 30, 2013

Cost report for July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 3, 2014.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1056234, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2012.zip.

Fiscal year 2012, ended June 30, 2012

Cost report for July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 25, 2013.

None of these figures is carried on this report.

CMS report record 1025184, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2011.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
HALVORSON, BENJAMINCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/19/2022
JOHNSON, JANICECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/06/2021
LARSON, DANIELCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/19/2022
LARSON, JOANNCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/16/2023
JOHNSON, NICOLECORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/19/2014
MONSON, JUDYCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/01/2023
JOHNSON, NICOLEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/15/2013
JOHNSON, NICOLEW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/01/2014
MONSON, JUDYW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/01/2023

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of GRIGGS COUNTY NURSING HOME (enrollment ID O20110819000150).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
BENJAMIN HALVORSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing4/19/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DANIEL LARSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing4/19/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JANICE JOHNSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing2/6/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOANN LARSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR08/16/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JUDY MONSONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER06/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NICOLE JOHNSONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER01/19/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NICOLE JOHNSONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL08/15/2013
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JUDY MONSONIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE06/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NICOLE JOHNSONIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE02/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1August 6, 2025August 6, 202521
2July 31, 2024July 31, 202414
3September 13, 2023September 13, 202320

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

5 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
August 6, 2025HealthF 0641Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 9, 2025
August 6, 2025HealthF 0644Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 9, 2025
July 31, 2024HealthF 0801Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEmploy sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 4, 2024
November 29, 2023HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.GYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionDecember 28, 2023
September 13, 2023HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 5, 2023

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameGRIGGS COUNTY NURSING HOME
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1978-04-01
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishGriggs
Telephone Number7017972221
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilBoth
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds40
Average Number of Residents per Day37.5
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating2
Long-Stay QM Rating2
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on GRIGGS COUNTY CARE CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On February 19, 2026: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2025, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for GRIGGS COUNTY CARE CENTER

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in North Dakota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in North Dakota

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 355039.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.