Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 355068

TOWNER COUNTY LIVING CTR

CANDO, North Dakota · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 28

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
BELZER, THOMASCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/26/2005
BJORNSTAD, RANDINACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2014
FARBO, MICHAELCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2010
GIBBENS, MICHELLECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/26/2020
PETERS, JOHNCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2012
WESTLIND, GREGORYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 10/26/2005
WOLSKY, DAVIDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/21/2008
BELZER, THOMASCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/22/2023
BUCHER, BENCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/31/2024
LARSON, TAMMYCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/31/2024
WESTLIND, GREGORYCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/22/2023
WOLSKY, DAVIDCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/22/2023
BUCHER, BENOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/01/2015
GEHRTZ, JENNAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/14/2024
LARSON, TAMMYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/01/2008
PETERSON, MARKOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2015

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of TOWNER COUNTY MEDICAL CENTER INC (enrollment ID O20080314000278).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
DAVID WOLSKYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/21/2008
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREGORY WESTLINDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing10/26/2005
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOHN PETERSIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing11/1/2012
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL FARBOIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing11/1/2010
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHELLE GIBBENSIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing8/26/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RANDINA BJORNSTADIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing11/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
THOMAS BELZERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing10/26/2005
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BEN J BUCHERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing5/31/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID WOLSKYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing11/22/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREGORY WESTLINDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing11/22/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TAMMY LARSONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing5/31/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
THOMAS BELZERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing11/22/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BEN J BUCHERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing4/1/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JENNA GEHRTZIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing4/14/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARK G PETERSONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing11/1/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TAMMY LARSONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing4/1/2008
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1January 14, 2026January 14, 202653
2September 25, 2024September 25, 202420
3September 7, 2023September 7, 202362

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

13 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
January 14, 2026HealthF 0689Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 12, 2026
January 14, 2026HealthF 0802Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProvide sufficient support personnel to safely and effectively carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 12, 2026
January 14, 2026HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 12, 2026
January 14, 2026HealthF 0867Administration DeficienciesSet up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 12, 2026
January 14, 2026HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionFebruary 12, 2026
September 25, 2024HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 10, 2024
September 25, 2024HealthF 0804Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 10, 2024
September 7, 2023HealthF 0644Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 12, 2023
September 7, 2023HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 12, 2023
September 7, 2023HealthF 0756Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.EYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 12, 2023
September 7, 2023HealthF 0805Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesEnsure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 12, 2023
September 7, 2023HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 12, 2023
September 7, 2023HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionOctober 12, 2023

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameTOWNER COUNTY MEDICAL CENTER INC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1980-04-13
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishTowner
Telephone Number7019682600
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds28
Average Number of Residents per Day27.4
Overall Rating4
Health Inspection Rating3
QM Rating4
Long-Stay QM Rating4
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on TOWNER COUNTY LIVING CTR: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On July 1, 2026: JENNA GEHRTZ no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for TOWNER COUNTY LIVING CTR

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in North Dakota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in North Dakota

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 355068.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.