Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 396135

ALLIED SERVICES TRANSITIONAL REHAB UNIT

SCRANTON, Pennsylvania · Medicare

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 51

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
ALLIED HEALTH CARE SERVICES5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganizationNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 06/01/2014
ALLIED SERVICES INSTITUTE OF REHABILITATION MEDICINE5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganizationNO PERCENTAGE PROVIDEDsince 06/01/2014
CONABOY, WILLIAMADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/19/2002
FAZZINI, CHRISTOPHERADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/01/2021
GENTILEZZA, KENNETHADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/19/2002
KEARNEY, KARENADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/01/2002
BRISLIN, JAYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2020
KEARNEY, KARENCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/01/2002
KROKOS, SANDRACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2020
SCRANTON, WILLIAMCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2014
WEINBERGER, RICHARDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2014
AVVISATO, MICHAELCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2014
CONABOY, WILLIAMCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2014
MELONE, THOMASCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2023
ALLIED SERVICES FOUNDATIONDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/19/2002
FAZZINI, CHRISTOPHERDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/01/2021
KEARNEY, KARENINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/01/2002
FAZZINI, CHRISTOPHEROPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/01/2021
CONABOY, WILLIAMTRUSTEE OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 06/19/2002

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of ALLIED SERVICES INSTITUTE OF REHABILITATION MEDICINE (enrollment ID O20140528001318).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
ALLIED HEALTH CARE SERVICESOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST106/1/2014
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ALLIED SERVICES FOUNDATIONOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST101/1/1989
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ALLIED SERVICES INSTITUTE OF REHABILITATION MEDICINEOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1006/1/2014
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CHRISTOPHER FAZZINIIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing4/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KAREN S KEARNEYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/1/2002
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KENNETH W GENTILEZZAIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/19/2002
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM P CONABOYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/19/2002
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAY BRISLINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR101/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KAREN S KEARNEYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing6/1/2002
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RICHARD L WEINBERGERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR103/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SANDRA M KROKOSIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR101/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM W SCRANTONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR103/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL E AVVISATOIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER103/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
THOMAS J MELONEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM P CONABOYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER103/1/2014
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ALLIED SERVICES FOUNDATIONOrganizationDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1006/19/2002
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
CHRISTOPHER FAZZINIIndividualDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST04/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KAREN S KEARNEYIndividualINDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTNot stated in the filing6/1/2002
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHRISTOPHER FAZZINIIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing4/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM P CONABOYIndividualTRUSTEE OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing6/19/2002
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1December 11, 2025December 11, 202530
2February 21, 2025February 21, 202520
3May 3, 2024May 3, 202410

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

6 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
December 11, 2025HealthF 0641Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.BNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 5, 2026
December 11, 2025HealthF 0655Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesCreate and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admittedDNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 5, 2026
December 11, 2025HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJanuary 5, 2026
February 21, 2025HealthF 0686Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 26, 2025
February 21, 2025HealthF 0755Pharmacy Service DeficienciesProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 26, 2025
May 3, 2024HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 3, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameALLIED SERVICES INSTITUTE OF REHABILITATION MEDICINE
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2014-07-09
Provider Resides in HospitalY
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishLackawanna
Telephone Number5703481300
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilNone
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds51
Average Number of Residents per Day29.9
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating5
QM Rating4
Short-Stay QM Rating4
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on ALLIED SERVICES TRANSITIONAL REHAB UNIT: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On April 1, 2025: CHRISTOPHER FAZZINI no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for ALLIED SERVICES TRANSITIONAL REHAB UNIT

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Pennsylvania at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Pennsylvania

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 396135.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.