Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 39A433
GINO J MERLI VETERANS CENTER
SCRANTON, Pennsylvania · Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 196
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| No owner named in the filing | Ownership Data Not Available | Not stated in the filing | Not stated in the filing | Not stated in the filing |
Medicare enrollment
No owner listed for this facility in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership data.
Changes in ownership
No change in ownership appears in the CMS files on record since September 20, 2022.
Recent changes on this record
No change has appeared in the CMS files since this record began.
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | April 10, 2026 | April 10, 2026 | 3 | 1 |
| 2 | June 6, 2025 | June 6, 2025 | 2 | 2 |
| 3 | August 16, 2024 | August 16, 2024 | 1 | 2 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
6 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0607 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 9, 2026 |
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 9, 2026 |
| April 10, 2026 | Health | F 0692 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | June 9, 2026 |
| June 6, 2025 | Health | F 0757 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 7, 2025 |
| May 13, 2025 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | G | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 7, 2025 |
| August 16, 2024 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 15, 2024 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Government - State |
| Legal Business Name | Legal Business Name Not Available |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 2009-01-01 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Lackawanna |
| Telephone Number | 5709614300 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Both |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 196 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 182.4 |
| Overall Rating | 5 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 4 |
| QM Rating | 5 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 5 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on GINO J MERLI VETERANS CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
No changes recorded yet. The first daily report after you subscribe names anything that moves.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for GINO J MERLI VETERANS CENTER
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Pennsylvania at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in Pennsylvania
- PROGRESS FOR INDUSTRY INC, SAEGERTOWN Water discharge permit
- WARD MANUFACTURING, BLOSSBURG Water discharge permit
- TRAIL KING INDUSTRIES, BROOKVILLE Water discharge permit
- BONNEY FORGE CORP, MT UNION Water discharge permit
- LEPKO FINISHING INC, QUAKERTOWN Water discharge permit
- JOHNSON & JOHNSON, LITITZ Water discharge permit
- NORTH PENN POLISHING & PLATING INC., SELLERSVILLE Water discharge permit
- JLG INDUSTRIES (MCCONNELLSBURG), MCCONNELLSBURG Water discharge permit
- NORTHEAST PAVING COMPANY / BRIDGEVILLE ASPHALT PLANT, BRIDGEVILLE Air emission source
- UNIVERSAL STAINLESS & ALLOY PROD/BRIDGEV, BRIDGEVILLE Air emission source
- THE DAILY NEWS PUBLISHING CO., MCKEESPORT, CITY OF Air emission source
- UNIV OF PGH/PGH CAMPUS, PITTSBURGH Air emission source
- BASIC CARBIDE CORP/BUENA VISTA, BUENA VISTA Air emission source
- NEVILLE CHEM CO/PGH, PITTSBURGH Air emission source
- VERIZON PA/DOWNTOWN 1C BLDG, PITTSBURGH Air emission source
- TRIUMPH INTERIORS, INC., OAKDALE Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 39A433.