Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 425061

MUSC Health Chester Nursing Center

Chester, South Carolina · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 80

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 03/01/2019
HAUBNER, BRANDONADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/30/2025
LEWIS, DANIELADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 07/31/2025
BARNES, TERRICORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
BATTLE, JAMESCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
BROWN, WILLIAMCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
BUTEHORN, HENRYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
CASTLES, CHARLESCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
CHRISTIAN, RICHARDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
DAVIS, PAULCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
JOHNSON WILLIAMS, BARBARACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
LEMON, JAMESCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
LISCHKE, DOUGLASCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/01/2024
SCHULZE, CHARLESCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
SMITH, GEORGECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
STAVRINAKIS, MICHAELCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
STEPHENSON, THOMASCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
WITHERSPOON, BARLETTCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
CAWLEY, PATRICKCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2019
HAUBNER, BRANDONCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2024
JOHNSON, DONALDCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2026
RAE, KARYNCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2019
CAWLEY, PATRICKOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2019
GOSNEY, DEBRAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
HAUBNER, BRANDONOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/01/2023
LEWIS, DANIELOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of MEDICAL UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL AUTHORITY (enrollment ID O20190305000040).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINAOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1003/1/2019
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
BRANDON ANTHONY HAUBNERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing4/30/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DANIEL LEWISIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/31/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BARBARA JOHNSON WILLIAMSIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BARTLETT J WITHERSPOONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHARLES CASTLESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
CHARLES SCHULZEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DOUGLAS E LISCHKEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing8/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GEORGE M SMITHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HENRY FREDERICK BUTEHORNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES BATTLEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JAMES LEMONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL STAVRINAKISIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PAUL DAVISIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RICHARD M CHRISTIANIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
TERRI BARNESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
THOMAS STEPHENSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
WILLIAM M BROWNIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRANDON ANTHONY HAUBNERIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER1001/1/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DONALD ROGER JOHNSONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER1001/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
KARYN RAEIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER1003/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PATRICK J CAWLEYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing3/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRANDON ANTHONY HAUBNERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing8/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DANIEL LEWISIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DEBRA GOSNEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PATRICK J CAWLEYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/1/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1June 5, 2025June 5, 202510
2April 11, 2024April 11, 202452
3August 10, 2022August 10, 202211

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

7 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
June 5, 2025HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionJune 23, 2025
April 11, 2024HealthF 0582Resident Rights DeficienciesGive residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 1, 2024
April 11, 2024HealthF 0657Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 12, 2024
April 11, 2024HealthF 0677Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 2, 2024
April 11, 2024HealthF 0690Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 2, 2024
April 11, 2024HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 2, 2024
August 10, 2022HealthF 0814Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesDispose of garbage and refuse properly.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 10, 2022

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameMEDICAL UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL AUTHORITY
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1968-12-10
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishChester
Telephone Number8035819400
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds80
Average Number of Residents per Day53.9
Overall Rating4
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating2
Long-Stay QM Rating2
Short-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on MUSC Health Chester Nursing Center: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On September 1, 2026: WITHERSPOON, BARTLETT no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Care Compare ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for MUSC Health Chester Nursing Center

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in South Carolina at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in South Carolina

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 425061.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.