Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 425411

Bishop Gadsden Episcopal Health Care Center

Charleston, South Carolina · Medicare

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 41

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 28, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$60,537,746CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,832,869CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$57,704,877CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$71,758,580CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$14,053,703CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$15,361,201CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$1,307,498CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $1,307,498 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components100CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components36,600CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days7,007CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Other-payer patient days26,059CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components33,066CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges314CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Other-payer discharges157CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components471CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days22.32CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days70.2CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1435540, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended December 31, 2023

Cost report for January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on July 19, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$54,722,788CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$2,924,391CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$51,798,397CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$67,044,222CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$15,245,825CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$16,374,115CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$1,128,290CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $1,128,290 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components100CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components29,081CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components377CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days21.14CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days77.14CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1389730, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended December 31, 2022

Cost report for January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 10, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$40,430,167CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$1,000,799CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$39,429,368CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$55,109,577CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$15,680,209CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$13,051,120CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$2,629,089CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$2,629,089 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components50CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components9,113CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components46CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days30.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days198.11CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1347048, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended December 31, 2021

Cost report for January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 3, 2022.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$37,030,885CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$611,040CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$36,419,845CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$43,273,962CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$6,854,117CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$15,767,334CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$8,913,217CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $8,913,217 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components50CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components13,069CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components49CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days46CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days266.71CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1328772, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended December 31, 2020

Cost report for January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on June 16, 2021.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$34,935,223CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$197,120CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$34,738,103CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$40,845,838CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$6,107,735CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$5,043,671CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$1,064,064CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$1,064,064 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components50CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,604CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components54CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days38.92CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days233.41CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1286257, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended December 31, 2019

Cost report for January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 28, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$33,787,169CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$534,344CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$33,252,825CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$38,619,030CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$5,366,205CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$11,758,541CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$6,392,336CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $6,392,336 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components50CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components12,470CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components58CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days67.06CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days215CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1265548, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended December 31, 2018

Cost report for February 19, 2018 to December 31, 2018 — a reporting period of 315 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on August 20, 2019.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$32,748,377CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$392,020CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$32,356,357CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$36,060,324CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$3,703,967CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$2,792,345CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$911,622CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$911,622 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components50CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components14,863CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components75CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days41.04CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, all patients, in days198.17CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1241428, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
ADAMS, DAVIDADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
BALDWIN, ROBERTADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
CARTER, HEYWARDADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
COOK, JONNAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
HILL, JOANNEADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
HUSSAIN, BRIANADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
JONES, GREGADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
KELLEY, MELINDAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
KELLY, PATRICKADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
KERRISON, LYNNE LADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MACK, ANGELAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MAYBANK, DAVIDADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
SMITH, GREGORYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
TIPTON, SARAHADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
WOODLIFF-STANLEY, RUTHADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
ADAMS, DAVIDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2022
BALDWIN, ROBERTCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2022
CARTER, HEYWARDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2017
COOK, JONNACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
HILL, JOANNECORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2021
JONES, GREGCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
KELLEY, MELINDACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
KELLY, PATRICKCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2021
MACK, ANGELACORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
MAYBANK, DAVIDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
SMITH, GREGORYCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2020
WOODLIFF-STANLEY, RUTHCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2022
HUSSAIN, BRIANCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2015
KERRISON, LYNNE LOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
ROBERTS, EVANOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
ROOP, AARONOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025
TIPTON, SARAHOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 01/01/2025

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of BISHOP GADSDEN EPISCOPAL RETIREMENT COMMUNITY (enrollment ID O20170310002076).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
ANGELA MACKIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRIAN HUSSAINIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID B ADAMSIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID MAYBANKIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREG JONESIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREGORY L SMITHIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HEYWARD CARTERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOANNE HILLIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JONNA COOKIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LYNNE L KERRISONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MELINDA LUCKA KELLEYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PATRICK JOSEPH KELLYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ROBERT BALDWINIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RUTH WOODLIFF-STANLEYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SARAH TIPTONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
No owner named in the filingOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/20/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
No owner named in the filingOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/15/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
No owner named in the filingOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing7/15/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ANGELA MACKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID B ADAMSIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID MAYBANKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREG JONESIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
GREGORY L SMITHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2020
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HEYWARD CARTERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOANNE HILLIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JONNA COOKIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR01/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MELINDA LUCKA KELLEYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
PATRICK JOSEPH KELLYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2021
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ROBERT BALDWINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RUTH WOODLIFF-STANLEYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing1/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRIAN HUSSAINIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing1/1/2015
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
AARON ROOPIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
EVAN ROBERTSIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LYNNE L KERRISONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SARAH TIPTONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing1/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1April 25, 2025April 25, 202531
2March 20, 2024March 20, 202430
3February 17, 2022February 17, 202240

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

10 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
April 25, 2025HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 23, 2025
April 25, 2025HealthF 0658Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesEnsure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 23, 2025
April 25, 2025HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 23, 2025
March 20, 2024HealthF 0759Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 1, 2024
March 20, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 22, 2024
March 20, 2024HealthF 0841Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesDesignate a physician to serve as medical director responsible for implementation of resident care policies and coordination of medical care in the facility.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 1, 2024
February 17, 2022HealthF 0758Pharmacy Service DeficienciesImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 21, 2022
February 17, 2022HealthF 0761Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 21, 2022
February 17, 2022HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 21, 2022
February 17, 2022HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.KNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 21, 2022

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare
Ownership TypeNon profit - Corporation
Legal Business NameBISHOP GADSDEN EPISCOPAL RETIREMENT COMMUNITY
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2018-02-19
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityY
UrbanY
County/ParishCharleston
Telephone Number8437623300
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds41
Average Number of Residents per Day26.0
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating4
Short-Stay QM Rating4
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on Bishop Gadsden Episcopal Health Care Center: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On August 28, 2025: A cost report was filed for fiscal year 2024, on form CMS-2540-10. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for Bishop Gadsden Episcopal Health Care Center

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in South Carolina at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in South Carolina

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 425411.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.