Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 435083
THE NEIGHBORHOODS AT BROOKVIEW
BROOKINGS, South Dakota · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 79
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CITY OF BROOKINGS | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 100% | since 03/21/1970 |
| CECIL, DANIEL | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/01/2025 |
| CITY OF BROOKINGS | ADP OF THE SNF | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/21/1970 |
| KLINKHAMMER, JEREMY | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/03/2021 |
| MERKLEY, JASON | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2011 |
| WAGNER, MELISSA | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/18/2018 |
| MERKLEY, JASON | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2011 |
| WAGNER, MELISSA | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/15/2018 |
| CECIL, DANIEL | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/01/2013 |
| KLINKHAMMER, JEREMY | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 05/03/2021 |
| MERKLEY, JASON | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2011 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of CITY OF BROOKINGS (enrollment ID O20100518000290).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CITY OF BROOKINGS | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 3/21/1970 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| CITY OF BROOKINGS | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 3/21/1970 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| DANIEL CECIL | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/1/2025 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JASON R MERKLEY | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2011 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JEREMY KLINKHAMMER | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 5/3/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MELISSA WAGNER | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 9/18/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JASON R MERKLEY | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2011 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MELISSA WAGNER | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 9/15/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| DANIEL CECIL | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 6/1/2013 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JASON R MERKLEY | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2011 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JEREMY KLINKHAMMER | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 5/3/2021 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- July 1, 2026: MELISSA WAGNER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JASON R MERKLEY no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: MELISSA WAGNER (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 18, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JASON R MERKLEY (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2011. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JASON R MERKLEY (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2011. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: DANIEL CECIL (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 1, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: DANIEL CECIL (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since June 1, 2013. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JEREMY KLINKHAMMER (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 3, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JEREMY KLINKHAMMER (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 3, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: CITY OF BROOKINGS (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 21, 1970. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
Recent changes on this record
- July 1, 2026: MELISSA WAGNER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JASON R MERKLEY no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: MELISSA WAGNER (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 18, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JASON R MERKLEY (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2011. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JASON R MERKLEY (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2011. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: DANIEL CECIL (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 1, 2025. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: DANIEL CECIL (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since June 1, 2013. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JEREMY KLINKHAMMER (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 3, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JEREMY KLINKHAMMER (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since May 3, 2021. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: CITY OF BROOKINGS (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since March 21, 1970. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | November 21, 2025 | November 21, 2025 | 2 | 0 |
| 2 | May 31, 2024 | May 31, 2024 | 3 | 1 |
| 3 | August 31, 2023 | August 31, 2023 | 3 | 1 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
8 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| November 21, 2025 | Health | F 0921 | Environmental Deficiencies | Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 5, 2025 |
| November 13, 2025 | Health | F 0689 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents. | E | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 31, 2025 |
| May 31, 2024 | Health | F 0725 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 15, 2024 |
| May 31, 2024 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 15, 2024 |
| May 31, 2024 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | July 15, 2024 |
| August 31, 2023 | Health | F 0658 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 19, 2023 |
| August 31, 2023 | Health | F 0692 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 19, 2023 |
| August 31, 2023 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 19, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Government - City/county |
| Legal Business Name | CITY OF BROOKINGS |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 1995-04-01 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | N |
| County/Parish | Brookings |
| Telephone Number | 6056968700 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 79 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 69.8 |
| Overall Rating | 5 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 5 |
| QM Rating | 3 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 2 |
| Short-Stay QM Rating | 5 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on THE NEIGHBORHOODS AT BROOKVIEW: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On July 1, 2026: MELISSA WAGNER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for THE NEIGHBORHOODS AT BROOKVIEW
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in South Dakota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in South Dakota
- LOWER BRULE RURAL WATER SYST., LOWER BRULE Water discharge permit
- ISABEL WASTEWATER FACILITY, ISABEL Water discharge permit
- RIDGEVIEW WASTEWATER FACILITY, NORTH EAGLE BUTTE Water discharge permit
- HABITAT WASTEWATER FACILITY, EAGLE BUTTE Water discharge permit
- GREEN GRASS WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, GREEN GRASS Water discharge permit
- BEAR CREEK WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, BEAR CREEK Water discharge permit
- BLACKFOOT WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, BLACKFOOT COMMUNITY Water discharge permit
- BRIDGER WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, BRIDGER Water discharge permit
- LAKE VIEW HUTTERITE BRETHREN, LAKE ANDES Air emission source
- CITY/SCHOOL COMMON ENERGY PLANT - DO NOT USE, RAPID CITY Air emission source
- BRANDON MATERIALS COMPANY, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- MYRL & ROYS PAVING INC, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
- DIESEL MACHINERY INC, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 435083.