Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 435107

BOWDLE NURSING HOME

BOWDLE, South Dakota · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 27

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
CITY OF BOWDLE5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 02/01/1987
KESSLER, LACEYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/10/2024
KLEFFMAN, DARWYNADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/10/2024
BARNHARDT, DARRYNCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2022
BOBBY, MARGARETCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/01/2022
BOSCHEE, RICKCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/01/2000
GAB, REXCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2022
GUNDERSON, MICHAELCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/01/2017
MAIER, RUSSELLCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/01/2023
SHAYKETT, AMBERCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 09/01/2022
KLEFFMAN, DARWYNCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/20/2019
KESSLER, LACEYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/19/2024
KLEFFMAN, DARWYNOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/19/2024
KESSLER, LACEYW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/21/2017
KLEFFMAN, DARWYNW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/20/2019

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of BOWDLE HOSPITAL (enrollment ID O20040430001021).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
CITY OF BOWDLEOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1002/1/1987
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
DARWYN KLEFFMANIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/10/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LACEY L KESSLERIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/10/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
AMBER SHAYKETTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing9/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DARRYN BARNHARDTIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing9/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MARGARET BOBBYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing5/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
MICHAEL GUNDERSONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR05/1/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
REX GABIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing9/1/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RICK BOSCHEEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR1005/1/2000
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
RUSSELL MAIERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing5/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DARWYN KLEFFMANIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER05/20/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DARWYN KLEFFMANIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing11/19/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LACEY L KESSLERIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing11/19/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DARWYN KLEFFMANIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE05/20/2019
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LACEY L KESSLERIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEENot stated in the filing8/21/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1July 25, 2025February 8, 202420
2February 8, 2024April 26, 202331
3April 26, 2023November 3, 202102

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

5 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
July 25, 2025HealthF 0727Nursing and Physician Services DeficienciesHave a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.FNoPast Non-ComplianceMarch 7, 2025
July 25, 2025HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionSeptember 8, 2025
February 8, 2024HealthF 0755Pharmacy Service DeficienciesProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2024
February 8, 2024HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMarch 20, 2024

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeGovernment - City
Legal Business NameBOWDLE HOSPITAL
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services1997-09-01
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanN
County/ParishEdmunds
Telephone Number6052856146
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds27
Average Number of Residents per Day23.3
Overall Rating4
Health Inspection Rating4
QM Rating3
Long-Stay QM Rating3
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on BOWDLE NURSING HOME: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On January 1, 2025: TIM THOMAS no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for BOWDLE NURSING HOME

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in South Dakota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in South Dakota

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 435107.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.