Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 435120
Pioneer Memorial Nursing Home
VIBORG, South Dakota · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 46
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $32,536.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: October 31, 2023, Fine, $32,536. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 100% | since 04/01/2004 |
| CHRISTIANSEN, ANNE | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/17/2024 |
| GERDES, ISSAC | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/17/2024 |
| JOHNSON, GABRIEL | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/17/2024 |
| PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES | ADP OF THE SNF | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/17/2024 |
| RUDD, TONYA | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/17/2024 |
| GERDES, ISSAC | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/30/2024 |
| RUDD, TONYA | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/30/2018 |
| CHRISTIANSEN, ANNE | CORPORATE OFFICER | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 08/10/1992 |
| CHRISTENSEN, PAUL | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/10/2004 |
| LARSEN, KIMBERLY | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/26/2018 |
| LEE, TROY | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/28/2016 |
| NYHAUG, CONNIE | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/01/2024 |
| PARSONS, MELANIE | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/01/2002 |
| PENNING, RYAN | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/01/2019 |
| PONCELET, CHRIS | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/01/2018 |
| STANAGE, LISA | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/01/2023 |
| SURPRENANT, LUKE | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 03/01/2024 |
| CHRISTENSEN, PAUL | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| CHRISTIANSEN, ANNE | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| GERDES, ISSAC | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| JOHNSON, GABRIEL | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/17/2024 |
| LARSEN, KIMBERLY | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| LEE, TROY | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| NYHAUG, CONNIE | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| PARSONS, MELANIE | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| PENNING, RYAN | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/10/2024 |
| PONCELET, CHRIS | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| RUDD, TONYA | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| STANAGE, LISA | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| SURPRENANT, LUKE | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/05/2024 |
| CHRISTIANSEN, ANNE | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 08/10/1992 |
| GERDES, ISSAC | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 06/30/2024 |
| RUDD, TONYA | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 04/30/2018 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES (enrollment ID O20040220000727).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 4/1/2004 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/17/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| GABRIEL DAVID JOHNSON | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/17/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ISSAC GERDES | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/17/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/17/2024 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| TONYA RUDD | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/17/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ISSAC GERDES | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 6/30/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TONYA RUDD | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR | Not stated in the filing | 4/30/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER | Not stated in the filing | 8/10/1992 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CHRIS PONCELET | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 3/1/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CONNIE NYHAUG | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 3/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| KIMBERLY LARSEN | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 3/26/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| LISA STANAGE | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 3/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| LUKE SURPRENANT | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 3/1/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MELANIE L PARSONS | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 3/1/2002 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PAUL D CHRISTENSEN | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 3/10/2004 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| RYAN PENNING | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 3/1/2019 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TROY LEE | Individual | MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY | Not stated in the filing | 3/28/2016 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CHRIS PONCELET | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| CONNIE NYHAUG | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| GABRIEL DAVID JOHNSON | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/17/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ISSAC GERDES | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| KIMBERLY LARSEN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| LISA STANAGE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| LUKE SURPRENANT | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MELANIE L PARSONS | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PAUL D CHRISTENSEN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/10/2024 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| RYAN PENNING | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TONYA RUDD | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TROY LEE | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/5/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| GABRIEL DAVID JOHNSON | Individual | OTHER | Not stated in the filing | 7/31/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 8/10/1992 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| ISSAC GERDES | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 6/30/2024 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| TONYA RUDD | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | Not stated in the filing | 4/30/2018 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- February 1, 2025: TROY LEE no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: KRISTA SCHAEFFER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: MELANIE L PARSONS no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: KIMBERLY LARSEN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: PAUL D CHRISTENSEN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: LUKE SURPRENANT (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: LUKE SURPRENANT (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 10, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ISSAC GERDES (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ISSAC GERDES (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TONYA RUDD (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TONYA RUDD (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: CHRIS PONCELET (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: CHRIS PONCELET (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: RYAN PENNING (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: RYAN PENNING (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: MELANIE L PARSONS (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2002. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: MELANIE L PARSONS (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: KIMBERLY LARSEN (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 26, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: KIMBERLY LARSEN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: PAUL D CHRISTENSEN (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 10, 2004. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: PAUL D CHRISTENSEN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TROY LEE (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 28, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TROY LEE (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: GABRIEL DAVID JOHNSON (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: GABRIEL DAVID JOHNSON (OTHER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since July 31, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: GABRIEL DAVID JOHNSON (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: CONNIE NYHAUG (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: CONNIE NYHAUG (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: LISA STANAGE (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: LISA STANAGE (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- October 1, 2024: LINDSEY HAUGER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-10-01.csv
- October 1, 2024: ISSAC GERDES (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since June 30, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-10-01.csv
- October 1, 2024: ISSAC GERDES (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since June 30, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-10-01.csv
- October 2, 2023: LINDSEY HAUGER (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since September 3, 2017. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since April 1, 2004. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: TONYA RUDD (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since April 30, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: TONYA RUDD (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since April 30, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: KRISTA SCHAEFFER (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since April 30, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: MELANIE L PARSONS (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since March 10, 2004. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: KIMBERLY LARSEN (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since March 26, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: PAUL D CHRISTENSEN (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since March 10, 2004. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since August 10, 1992. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: TROY LEE (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since March 28, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN (OFFICER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since August 10, 1992. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- September 15, 2023: LINDSEY HAUGER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES no longer appears as 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: TONYA RUDD no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: TONYA RUDD no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: GRACE L TIDBALL no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: LINDA A ANDAL no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: KRISTA SCHAEFFER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: MAUREEN GARRY no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: MELANIE L PARSONS no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: KIMBERLY LARSEN no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: PAUL D CHRISTENSEN no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: JOHN S CHICOINE no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: KELLY R OBERBROEKLING no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: TROY LEE no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: HELEN J JACOBSON no longer appears as DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
- September 15, 2023: THOMAS V RICHTER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-09-15.csv
Recent changes on this record
- February 1, 2025: TROY LEE no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: KRISTA SCHAEFFER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: MELANIE L PARSONS no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: KIMBERLY LARSEN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: PAUL D CHRISTENSEN no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: LUKE SURPRENANT (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: LUKE SURPRENANT (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 10, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ISSAC GERDES (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ISSAC GERDES (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TONYA RUDD (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TONYA RUDD (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: CHRIS PONCELET (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: CHRIS PONCELET (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: RYAN PENNING (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2019. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: RYAN PENNING (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: MELANIE L PARSONS (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2002. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: MELANIE L PARSONS (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: KIMBERLY LARSEN (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 26, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: KIMBERLY LARSEN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: PAUL D CHRISTENSEN (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 10, 2004. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: PAUL D CHRISTENSEN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: ANNE MARIE CHRISTIANSEN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TROY LEE (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 28, 2016. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: TROY LEE (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: GABRIEL DAVID JOHNSON (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: GABRIEL DAVID JOHNSON (OTHER) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since July 31, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: GABRIEL DAVID JOHNSON (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 17, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: CONNIE NYHAUG (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: CONNIE NYHAUG (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: LISA STANAGE (MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since March 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- February 1, 2025: LISA STANAGE (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on February 1, 2025; associated with this enrollment since December 5, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2025-02-01.csv
- October 1, 2024: LINDSEY HAUGER no longer appears as W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-10-01.csv
- October 1, 2024: ISSAC GERDES (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since June 30, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-10-01.csv
- October 1, 2024: ISSAC GERDES (DIRECTOR) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 1, 2024; associated with this enrollment since June 30, 2024. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2024-10-01.csv
- October 2, 2023: LINDSEY HAUGER (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since September 3, 2017. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since April 1, 2004. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
- October 2, 2023: TONYA RUDD (W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on October 2, 2023; associated with this enrollment since April 30, 2018. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2023-10-02.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | June 11, 2026 | June 11, 2026 | 0 | 1 |
| 2 | February 21, 2025 | February 21, 2025 | 1 | 0 |
| 3 | October 31, 2023 | October 31, 2023 | 2 | 0 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
3 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 21, 2025 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | March 14, 2025 |
| October 31, 2023 | Health | F 0600 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody. | J | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 22, 2023 |
| October 31, 2023 | Health | F 0609 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities. | J | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 22, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
| Penalty date | Type | Fine amount | Payment denial began | Payment denial, days | Fine ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| October 31, 2023 | Fine | $32,536 | 100116 |
From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Non profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | PIONEER MEMORIAL HOSPITAL & HEALTH SERVICES |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 2004-04-01 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | Y |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Turner |
| Telephone Number | 6053265161 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 46 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 41.7 |
| Overall Rating | 5 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 5 |
| QM Rating | 4 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 4 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on Pioneer Memorial Nursing Home: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On February 1, 2025: TROY LEE no longer appears as CORPORATE DIRECTOR in the Medicare enrollment ownership file. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for Pioneer Memorial Nursing Home
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in South Dakota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in South Dakota
- LOWER BRULE RURAL WATER SYST., LOWER BRULE Water discharge permit
- ISABEL WASTEWATER FACILITY, ISABEL Water discharge permit
- RIDGEVIEW WASTEWATER FACILITY, NORTH EAGLE BUTTE Water discharge permit
- HABITAT WASTEWATER FACILITY, EAGLE BUTTE Water discharge permit
- GREEN GRASS WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, GREEN GRASS Water discharge permit
- BEAR CREEK WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, BEAR CREEK Water discharge permit
- BLACKFOOT WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, BLACKFOOT COMMUNITY Water discharge permit
- BRIDGER WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, BRIDGER Water discharge permit
- LAKE VIEW HUTTERITE BRETHREN, LAKE ANDES Air emission source
- CITY/SCHOOL COMMON ENERGY PLANT - DO NOT USE, RAPID CITY Air emission source
- BRANDON MATERIALS COMPANY, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- MYRL & ROYS PAVING INC, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
- DIESEL MACHINERY INC, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 435120.