Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 435136
CUSTER CARE AND REHAB CENTER
CUSTER, South Dakota · Medicare and Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 43
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CUSTER CARES | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | Organization | 100% | since 12/01/2023 |
| BARTA, MADISON | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/01/2023 |
| CUSTER CARES | ADP OF THE SNF | Organization | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/01/2023 |
| VAN VOORST, SAMUEL | ADP OF THE SNF | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/01/2023 |
| BARTA, MADISON | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 12/01/2023 |
| BOYER, JANET | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/01/2023 |
| MCGOWAN, MONICA | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/01/2023 |
| TENNYSON, MIKE | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/01/2023 |
| VAN VOORST, SAMUEL | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/01/2023 |
| WHEELER, RICKY | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Individual | NOT APPLICABLE | since 09/01/2023 |
Medicare enrollment
As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of CUSTER CARES (enrollment ID O20240814000442).
CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.
| Owner | Individual or organization | Role | Ownership percentage | Association date | Described in the filing as |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CUSTER CARES | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 100 | 12/1/2023 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| CUSTER CARES | Organization | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/1/2023 | Private equity company: No Real estate investment trust: No Holding company: No |
| MADISON BARTA | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 12/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| SAMUEL M VAN VOORST | Individual | ADP OF THE SNF | Not stated in the filing | 9/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| JANET BOYER | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 9/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MADISON BARTA | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 12/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MIKE TENNYSON | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 9/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| MONICA MCGOWAN | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 9/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| RICKY WHEELER | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 9/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
| SAMUEL M VAN VOORST | Individual | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | Not stated in the filing | 9/1/2023 | Private equity company: Paused by CMS Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS Holding company: Paused by CMS |
Changes in ownership
- July 1, 2026: MONICA MCGOWAN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: MADISON BARTA (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: MADISON BARTA (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JANET BOYER (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: RICKY WHEELER (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: SAMUEL M VAN VOORST (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: SAMUEL M VAN VOORST (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: MIKE TENNYSON (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: CUSTER CARES (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: CUSTER CARES (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
Recent changes on this record
- August 6, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0880, scope and severity D. NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv
- August 6, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0578, scope and severity D. NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv
- August 6, 2026: An inspection was recorded in inspection cycle 1. NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv
- July 1, 2026: MONICA MCGOWAN (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: MADISON BARTA (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: MADISON BARTA (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: JANET BOYER (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: RICKY WHEELER (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: SAMUEL M VAN VOORST (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: SAMUEL M VAN VOORST (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: MIKE TENNYSON (OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since September 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: CUSTER CARES (ADP OF THE SNF) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- July 1, 2026: CUSTER CARES (5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST) first listed in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership file on July 1, 2026; associated with this enrollment since December 1, 2023. Skilled_Nursing_Facility_All_Owners_:_2026-07-01.csv
- August 26, 2025: An inspection was recorded in inspection cycle 2. NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | August 6, 2026 | August 26, 2025 | 2 | 2 |
| 2 | August 26, 2025 | 17 | ||
| 1 | August 26, 2025 | August 26, 2025 | 17 | 2 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
19 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 6, 2026 | Health | F 0578 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has plan of correction | August 23, 2026 |
| August 6, 2026 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has plan of correction | August 23, 2026 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0628 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0637 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 15, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0641 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0644 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 15, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0655 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0656 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0700 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 15, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0727 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 15, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0732 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Post nurse staffing information every day. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0757 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 16, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0841 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Designate a physician to serve as medical director responsible for implementation of resident care policies and coordination of medical care in the facility. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0851 | Administration Deficiencies | Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0865 | Administration Deficiencies | Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0868 | Administration Deficiencies | Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
| August 26, 2025 | Health | F 0909 | Environmental Deficiencies | Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | October 10, 2025 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicare and Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Non profit - Corporation |
| Legal Business Name | CUSTER CARES |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 2025-12-01 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | Y |
| County/Parish | Custer |
| Telephone Number | 6056732115 |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 43 |
| Overall Rating | 1 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 2 |
| QM Rating | 1 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 1 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on CUSTER CARE AND REHAB CENTER: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
On August 6, 2026: A deficiency was cited under tag F 0880, scope and severity D. That is one line of the alert.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for CUSTER CARE AND REHAB CENTER
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in South Dakota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in South Dakota
- LOWER BRULE RURAL WATER SYST., LOWER BRULE Water discharge permit
- ISABEL WASTEWATER FACILITY, ISABEL Water discharge permit
- RIDGEVIEW WASTEWATER FACILITY, NORTH EAGLE BUTTE Water discharge permit
- HABITAT WASTEWATER FACILITY, EAGLE BUTTE Water discharge permit
- GREEN GRASS WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, GREEN GRASS Water discharge permit
- BEAR CREEK WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, BEAR CREEK Water discharge permit
- BLACKFOOT WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, BLACKFOOT COMMUNITY Water discharge permit
- BRIDGER WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITY, BRIDGER Water discharge permit
- LAKE VIEW HUTTERITE BRETHREN, LAKE ANDES Air emission source
- CITY/SCHOOL COMMON ENERGY PLANT - DO NOT USE, RAPID CITY Air emission source
- BRANDON MATERIALS COMPANY, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- MYRL & ROYS PAVING INC, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
- DIESEL MACHINERY INC, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 435136.