Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 43A138
Medicine Wheel Village
EAGLE BUTTE, South Dakota · Medicaid
Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 50
Download this facility’s record (CSV)
A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.
CMS lists this facility as a Special Focus Facility candidate (Care Compare Special Focus Status: SFF Candidate)
In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 1 · Fines: 1 · Fines, total amount: $22,636.00 · Payment denials: 0. The most recent penalty on file: November 20, 2025, Fine, $22,636. Every penalty on file ↓
For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month
Finances, as filed
No Medicare cost report on file for this facility.
Nurse staffing
Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.
Ownership, as filed with CMS
Care Compare
As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).
| Owner or manager | Role | Type | Ownership percentage | Association |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| No owner named in the filing | Ownership Data Not Available | Not stated in the filing | Not stated in the filing | Not stated in the filing |
Medicare enrollment
No owner listed for this facility in CMS’s Medicare enrollment ownership data.
Changes in ownership
No change in ownership appears in the CMS files on record since September 20, 2022.
Recent changes on this record
No change has appeared in the CMS files since this record began.
Inspections
| Inspection cycle | Health inspection | Fire safety inspection | Health deficiencies | Fire safety deficiencies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | November 20, 2025 | November 20, 2025 | 16 | 2 |
| 2 | October 3, 2024 | October 3, 2024 | 8 | 5 |
| 3 | August 3, 2023 | August 3, 2023 | 3 | 6 |
From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Deficiencies cited
27 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
| Inspection date | Inspection type | Tag | Category | What was cited | Scope and severity | Complaint | Corrected | Correction date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0600 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody. | D | Yes | Past Non-Compliance | |
| March 25, 2026 | Health | F 0658 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality. | D | Yes | Past Non-Compliance | |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0565 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Honor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0609 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities. | D | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0644 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0657 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0658 | Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies | Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0700 | Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies | Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 31, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0732 | Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies | Post nurse staffing information every day. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0761 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0801 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 31, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0808 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Ensure therapeutic diets are prescribed by the attending physician and may be delegated to a registered or licensed dietitian, to the extent allowed by State law. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | L | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0868 | Administration Deficiencies | Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| November 20, 2025 | Health | F 0881 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | December 26, 2025 |
| October 3, 2024 | Health | F 0609 | Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies | Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities. | E | Yes | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 2, 2024 |
| October 3, 2024 | Health | F 0623 | Resident Rights Deficiencies | Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 2, 2024 |
| October 3, 2024 | Health | F 0758 | Pharmacy Service Deficiencies | Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 2, 2024 |
| October 3, 2024 | Health | F 0800 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Provide each resident with a nourishing, palatable, well-balanced diet that meets his or her daily nutritional and special dietary needs. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 2, 2024 |
| October 3, 2024 | Health | F 0808 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Ensure therapeutic diets are prescribed by the attending physician and may be delegated to a registered or licensed dietitian, to the extent allowed by State law. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 2, 2024 |
| October 3, 2024 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 2, 2024 |
| October 3, 2024 | Health | F 0851 | Administration Deficiencies | Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 2, 2024 |
| October 3, 2024 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | November 2, 2024 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0804 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature. | D | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 20, 2023 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0812 | Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies | Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards. | E | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 20, 2023 |
| August 3, 2023 | Health | F 0880 | Infection Control Deficiencies | Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program. | F | No | Deficient, Provider has date of correction | September 20, 2023 |
From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Penalties
| Penalty date | Type | Fine amount | Payment denial began | Payment denial, days | Fine ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| November 20, 2025 | Fine | $22,636 | 136929 |
From the Care Compare penalties file NH_Penalties_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Care Compare provider information
| Field | As filed |
|---|---|
| Provider Type | Medicaid |
| Ownership Type | Non profit - Other |
| Legal Business Name | Legal Business Name Not Available |
| Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services | 2019-02-05 |
| Provider Resides in Hospital | N |
| Continuing Care Retirement Community | N |
| Urban | N |
| County/Parish | Dewey |
| Telephone Number | 6059648155 |
| Special Focus Status | SFF Candidate |
| Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 Months | N |
| With a Resident and Family Council | Resident |
| Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required Areas | Yes |
| Number of Certified Beds | 50 |
| Average Number of Residents per Day | 27.3 |
| Overall Rating | 2 |
| Health Inspection Rating | 1 |
| QM Rating | 5 |
| Long-Stay QM Rating | 5 |
| Processing Date | 2026-09-01 |
From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.
Get an email when this record changes
One email a day naming what moved on Medicine Wheel Village: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.
The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.
No changes recorded yet. The first daily report after you subscribe names anything that moves.
Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.
The citable document for Medicine Wheel Village
This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in South Dakota at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.
Other public records in South Dakota
- TWO STRIKES, COMMUNITY OF, TWO STRIKES Water discharge permit
- SPRINGS CREEK, COMMUNITY OF, SPRINGS CREEK Water discharge permit
- PARMELEE, TOWN OF, PARMELEE Water discharge permit
- NORRIS, COMMUNITY OF(BLACK PIP, NORRIS Water discharge permit
- SWIFT BEAR, COMMUNITY OF, SWIFT BEAR Water discharge permit
- HORSE CREEK, COMMUNITY OF, HORSE CREEK Water discharge permit
- WHITE HORSE, COMMUNITY OF, WHITE HORSE Water discharge permit
- SOLDIER CREEK, COMMUNITY OF, SOLDIER CREEK Water discharge permit
- LAKE VIEW HUTTERITE BRETHREN, LAKE ANDES Air emission source
- CITY/SCHOOL COMMON ENERGY PLANT - DO NOT USE, RAPID CITY Air emission source
- BRANDON MATERIALS COMPANY, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- MYRL & ROYS PAVING INC, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
- DIESEL MACHINERY INC, SIOUX FALLS Air emission source
- SPENCER QUARRIES INC, SPENCER Air emission source
Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 43A138.