Velarion Records

Skilled nursing facility · CMS certification number 465181

Mervyn Sharp Bennion Central Utah Veterans Home

Payson, Utah · Medicare and Medicaid

Certified beds, as filed in Care Compare: 108

Download this facility’s record (CSV)

A CSV file of this facility’s record: its name and location, its Medicare cost-report finances year by year, its ownership, its inspections, deficiencies and penalties, and the Care Compare provider information — each figure with the worksheet, line and column or file it came from.

In Care Compare’s provider information: Penalties: 0 · Fines: 0 · Fines, total amount: $0.00 · Payment denials: 0. Every penalty on file ↓

For this facility: the citable document with full history — $295 · an email when this record changes — $99/month

Finances, as filed

From this facility’s Medicare cost reports on form CMS-2540, each figure with the worksheet, line and column it was read from.

Cost report for July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 5, 2026.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2025
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$21,803,490CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,470,542CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$18,332,948CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$17,048,074CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$1,284,874CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$290,369CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$1,575,243CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $1,575,243 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2025
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Bed days available, all components39,420CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 200
Medicare (Title XVIII) patient days1,557CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 400
Medicaid (Title XIX) patient days995CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 500
Other-payer patient days34,899CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 600
Total patient days, all components37,451CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Medicare discharges23CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 900
Medicaid discharges5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1000
Other-payer discharges255CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1100
Total discharges, all components283CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days67.7CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days199CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days132.34CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1447502, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2024.zip.

Fiscal year 2024, ended June 30, 2024

Cost report for July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 11, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$20,297,612CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,305,356CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$16,992,256CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,815,659CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$1,176,597CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$14,794CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$1,191,391CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $1,191,391 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2024
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components37,737CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components249CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days91.06CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days454.33CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days151.55CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1405026, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2023.zip.

Fiscal year 2023, ended June 30, 2023

Cost report for July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 4, 2025.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$19,061,150CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,667,146CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$15,394,004CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$15,513,059CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$119,055CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$78,095CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$40,960CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$40,960 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2023
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components38,680CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components214CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days129.4CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days826CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days180.75CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1403158, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2022.zip.

Fiscal year 2022, ended June 30, 2022

Cost report for July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 15, 2024.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$18,239,316CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$4,021,612CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$14,217,704CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$14,799,303CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$581,599CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$848,660CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$267,061CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $267,061 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2022
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components36,704CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components181CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days105.43CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,029CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days202.78CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1376375, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2021.zip.

Fiscal year 2021, ended June 30, 2021

Cost report for July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on May 22, 2023.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$17,441,096CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,931,026CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$13,510,070CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$14,082,478CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$572,408CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$848,766CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$276,358CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $276,358 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2021
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components37,122CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components158CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days103.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,276CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days234.95CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1347967, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2020.zip.

Fiscal year 2020, ended June 30, 2020

Cost report for July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 23, 2021.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$18,168,043CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$4,427,598CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$13,740,445CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$13,212,095CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$528,350CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$330,961CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$859,311CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $859,311 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2020
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components38,593CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components150CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days67.27CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days692CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days257.29CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1281581, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2019.zip.

Fiscal year 2019, ended June 30, 2019

Cost report for July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on March 10, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$16,869,349CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,653,427CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$13,215,922CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$12,513,612CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$702,310CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$19,310CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$721,620CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $721,620 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2019
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components38,723CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components298CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days59.6CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days335.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days129.94CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1252218, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2018.zip.

Fiscal year 2018, ended June 30, 2018

Cost report for July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on April 15, 2020.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$16,468,157CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,692,893CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$12,775,264CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$12,607,024CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$168,240CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$74,339CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$242,579CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $242,579 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2018
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components38,587CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components254CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days75.55CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days303.6CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days151.92CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1254023, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2017.zip.

Fiscal year 2017, ended June 30, 2017

Cost report for July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on June 11, 2019.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$15,688,335CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$3,426,179CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$12,262,156CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$11,555,918CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$706,238CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$13,982CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$720,220CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $720,220 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2017
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components38,422CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components197CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days69.53CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,571.5CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days195.04CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1227927, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2016.zip.

Fiscal year 2016, ended June 30, 2016

Cost report for July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016 — a reporting period of 365 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 28, 2017.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$13,340,706CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$1,656,185CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$11,684,521CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$11,161,388CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$523,133CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$41,324CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$564,457CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $564,457 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2016
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components38,523CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components148CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days49.73CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days814CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days260.29CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1153632, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2015.zip.

Fiscal year 2015, ended June 30, 2015

Cost report for July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015 — a reporting period of 364 days, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on September 30, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$11,570,701CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$747,450CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$10,823,251CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$9,997,209CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients$826,042CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$12,843CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income$838,885CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: $838,885 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2015
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components36,735CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components128CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days73.96CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days1,299CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days286.99CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1144402, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Fiscal year 2014, ended June 30, 2014

Cost report for October 21, 2013 to June 30, 2014 — a reporting period of 252 days, not a full year, on form CMS-2540-10, settled, processed by CMS on February 12, 2016.

Revenue and expenses, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total patient revenue$4,179,639CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 100 column 100
Contractual allowances and discounts$142,537CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 200 column 100
Net patient revenue$4,037,102CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 300 column 100
Total operating expenses$4,687,941CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 400 column 100
Net income from service to patients−$650,839CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 500 column 100
Total other income$250,240CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2500 column 100
Net income after other income−$400,599CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 2600 column 100

Net income: −$400,599 (CMS-2540-10 worksheet G300000 line 3100 column 100). As filed, net income for the period equals net income from service to patients plus total other income, less total other expenses (Worksheet G-3 lines 26 less 27 through 30) on 204,018 of the 204,018 reports filed on Form CMS-2540-10 in publication years 2011-2025 that file every line it is computed from (100%).

Beds, days and discharges, fiscal year 2014
FigureAs filedWhere it comes from
Total facility beds, all components108CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 100
Total patient days, all components14,910CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 700
Total discharges, all components58CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1200
Average length of stay, Medicare, in days80.45CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1400
Average length of stay, Medicaid, in days255CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1500
Average length of stay, all patients, in days257.07CMS-2540-10 worksheet S300001 line 800 column 1600

CMS report record 1118966, read from the public cost report file SNF10FY2014.zip.

Nurse staffing

Nurse staffing hours from the Payroll-Based Journal, quarter by quarter, are on this facility’s staffing page, each quarter with the file it came from.

The staffing record →

Ownership, as filed with CMS

Care Compare

As filed in the CMS file dated September 1, 2026 (Care Compare ownership).

Owner or managerRoleTypeOwnership percentageAssociation
AVALON VA MANAGEMENT LLC5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 02/17/2015
AVALON VETERANS SERVICES, L.L.C.5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTERESTOrganization100%since 12/18/2018
AVALON HEALTH CARE INCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/21/2026
AVALON HEALTH CARE MANAGEMENT INCADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/02/2025
BOTT, WESLEYADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2016
BRANNIN, LORIADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/01/2026
HARRIS, BRADFORDADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/16/2026
HASH, ALANADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/15/2017
KIRTON, HYRUMADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/29/2022
NEWBY, JOSHUAADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/21/2022
SMITH, NICOLEADP OF THE SNFIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2023
STATE OF UTAHADP OF THE SNFOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/20/2012
DANGERFIELD, DAVIDCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/05/2007
KIRTON, BYRONCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/27/2024
KIRTON, HYRUMCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/27/2024
KIRTON, SPENCERCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/27/2024
WOLTIL, ROBERTCORPORATE DIRECTORIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/23/2012
HARRIS, BRADFORDCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/16/2026
HASH, ALANCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/15/2017
KIRTON, HYRUMCORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/29/2022
SMITH, NICOLECORPORATE OFFICERIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2023
DANGERFIELD, DAVIDMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/05/2007
DERRICK, MICHAELMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/13/2026
KIRTON, BYRONMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/27/2024
KIRTON, HYRUMMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/27/2024
KIRTON, SPENCERMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/27/2024
WOLTIL, ROBERTMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 05/23/2012
AVALON HEALTH CARE INCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/20/2012
AVALON HEALTH CARE MANAGEMENT INCOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 02/03/2010
BOTT, WESLEYOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 11/01/2016
BRANNIN, LORIOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 04/01/2026
HARRIS, BRADFORDOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/16/2026
HASH, ALANOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/15/2017
KIRTON, HYRUMOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/29/2022
NEWBY, JOSHUAOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 12/21/2022
SMITH, NICOLEOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLIndividualNOT APPLICABLEsince 03/01/2023
STATE OF UTAHOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLOrganizationNOT APPLICABLEsince 08/20/2012

Medicare enrollment

As filed in the CMS file dated August 1, 2026 (Medicare enrollment ownership), under the enrollment of AVALON CARE CENTER - VA PAYSON LLC (enrollment ID O20130612000323).

CMS paused the expanded ownership disclosure on Form CMS-855A in guidance dated December 11, 2025; where the private equity, real estate investment trust or holding company field below has not been filed under the current cycle, it reads “Paused by CMS”.

OwnerIndividual or organizationRoleOwnership percentageAssociation dateDescribed in the filing as
AVALON VA MANAGEMENT LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1002/17/2015
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
AVALON HEALTH CARE INCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1008/20/2012
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
AVALON HOLDCO EQUITIES, L.L.C.Organization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1004/15/2026
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: Yes
AVALON HOLDING INCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST1008/20/2012
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: Yes
AVALON VETERANS SERVICES, L.L.C.Organization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST10012/18/2018
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
BYRON A KIRTONIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST33.3310/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HYRUM A KIRTON INDIVIDUAL TROrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST33.3310/1/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
HYRUM KIRTONIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST33.3310/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
K-TEAM LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST6.6710/1/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
SPENCER K KIRTON INDIVIDUAL TROrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST33.3310/1/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
SPENCER KIRTONIndividual5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST33.3310/1/2025
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
THE BYRON A KIRTON INDIVIDUAL TROrganization5% OR GREATER INDIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST26.6710/1/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
ALAN B HASHIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/15/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
AVALON HEALTH CARE INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing5/21/2026
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
AVALON HEALTH CARE MANAGEMENT INCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing4/2/2025
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
BRADFORD HARRISIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/16/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HYRUM KIRTONIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/29/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOSHUA NEWBYIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing12/21/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LORI ANN BRANNINIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing4/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NICOLE SMITHIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing3/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
STATE OF UTAHOrganizationADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing8/20/2012
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
WESLEY S BOTTIndividualADP OF THE SNFNot stated in the filing11/1/2016
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BYRON A KIRTONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing8/27/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID E DANGERFIELDIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing4/5/2007
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HYRUM KIRTONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing8/27/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ROBERT D WOLTILIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing5/23/2012
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SPENCER KIRTONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORNot stated in the filing8/27/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ALAN B HASHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing8/15/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BRADFORD HARRISIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing3/16/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HYRUM KIRTONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing3/29/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NICOLE SMITHIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERNot stated in the filing3/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
BYRON A KIRTONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing8/27/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
DAVID E DANGERFIELDIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing4/5/2007
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HYRUM KIRTONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing8/27/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ROBERT D WOLTILIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing5/23/2012
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
SPENCER KIRTONIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODYNot stated in the filing8/27/2024
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
ALAN B HASHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing8/15/2017
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
AVALON HEALTH CARE INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing8/20/2012
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
AVALON HEALTH CARE MANAGEMENT INCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing2/3/2010
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
BRADFORD HARRISIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/16/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
HYRUM KIRTONIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/29/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
JOSHUA NEWBYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing12/21/2022
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
LORI ANN BRANNINIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing4/1/2026
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
NICOLE SMITHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing3/1/2023
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS
STATE OF UTAHOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing8/20/2012
Private equity company: No
Real estate investment trust: No
Holding company: No
WESLEY S BOTTIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLNot stated in the filing11/1/2016
Private equity company: Paused by CMS
Real estate investment trust: Paused by CMS
Holding company: Paused by CMS

Changes in ownership

Recent changes on this record

Inspections

Inspection cycleHealth inspectionFire safety inspectionHealth deficienciesFire safety deficiencies
1April 13, 2026April 13, 202610
2March 28, 2024March 28, 202453
3April 7, 2022April 7, 202271

From the Care Compare inspection summary file NH_SurveySummary_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Deficiencies cited

13 deficiencies on file, newest inspection first
Inspection dateInspection typeTagCategoryWhat was citedScope and severityComplaintCorrectedCorrection date
April 13, 2026HealthF 0770Administration DeficienciesProvide timely, quality laboratory services/tests to meet the needs of residents.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 28, 2026
March 28, 2024HealthF 0609Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation DeficienciesTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.DYesDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 19, 2024
March 28, 2024HealthF 0695Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 19, 2024
March 28, 2024HealthF 0757Pharmacy Service DeficienciesEnsure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 19, 2024
March 28, 2024HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.FNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 19, 2024
March 28, 2024HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionApril 19, 2024
April 7, 2022HealthF 0578Resident Rights DeficienciesHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 2, 2022
April 7, 2022HealthF 0656Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 2, 2022
April 7, 2022HealthF 0684Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 2, 2022
April 7, 2022HealthF 0690Quality of Life and Care DeficienciesProvide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.GNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 2, 2022
April 7, 2022HealthF 0812Nutrition and Dietary DeficienciesProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 2, 2022
April 7, 2022HealthF 0842Resident Assessment and Care Planning DeficienciesSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.DNoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 2, 2022
April 7, 2022HealthF 0880Infection Control DeficienciesProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.ENoDeficient, Provider has date of correctionMay 2, 2022

From the Care Compare health citations file NH_HealthCitations_Sep2026_2.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Penalties

No penalty on file for this facility in CMS’s Care Compare penalties data.

Care Compare provider information

FieldAs filed
Provider TypeMedicare and Medicaid
Ownership TypeGovernment - State
Legal Business NameAVALON CARE CENTER - VA PAYSON LLC
Date First Approved to Provide Medicare and Medicaid Services2013-10-21
Provider Resides in HospitalN
Continuing Care Retirement CommunityN
UrbanY
County/ParishUtah
Telephone Number8014655400
Chain NameAVALON HEALTH CARE
Chain ID57
Provider Changed Ownership in Last 12 MonthsN
With a Resident and Family CouncilResident
Automatic Sprinkler Systems in All Required AreasYes
Number of Certified Beds108
Average Number of Residents per Day103.8
Overall Rating5
Health Inspection Rating5
QM Rating5
Long-Stay QM Rating5
Short-Stay QM Rating5
Processing Date2026-09-01

From the Care Compare Provider Information file NH_ProviderInfo_Sep2026_3.csv, processed on September 1, 2026.

Get an email when this record changes

One email a day naming what moved on Mervyn Sharp Bennion Central Utah Veterans Home: the field, the value before, the value after, and the date of the file that first showed it.

The facility alert follows this one record: a cost report filed or a figure on one changed, an inspection, a deficiency or a penalty recorded, an owner added or removed. The certification number arrives filled in.

On September 1, 2026: DERRICK, MICHAEL appears as MANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY in the Care Compare ownership file. That is one line of the alert.

Follow this record for $99/month

See a sample

Following a list of facilities? The portfolio watch follows up to 100 certification numbers you name, on one subscription — on the alerts page.

The citable document for Mervyn Sharp Bennion Central Utah Veterans Home

This page shows the record as it stands today. The report is the citable document: the same figures with the cell each came from, and beyond this page — five facilities of a similar size in Utah at the same fiscal year, listed by name; every change on the record rather than the recent ones below; the inspection and staffing history in blocks of their own; and a citation block naming every CMS file it was read from.

The citable document with full history — $295

Other public records in Utah

Every figure on this page is printed as it appears in the CMS file named beside it. A figure that does not match its file? Tell us on the corrections page, quoting certification number 465181.

The Pay Desk is the free weekly executive pay briefing — one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You’ll confirm on The Pay Desk’s sign-up page.